We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St. John's Stay”
Review of Super 8 St Johns

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Super 8 St Johns
Ranked #10 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    177
    96
    33
    24
See reviews for
290
110
28
89
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My family and I stayed at the super 8 St. John's, we found the staff to be friendly and any staff member that we meet always greeted us with a smile. We enjoyed the pool, sleeped well and had a decent breakfast in the morning.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Kelly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyMacDonald, General Manager at Super 8 St Johns, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you Kelly for your exceptional review. We are glad we provided a clean room, a good night's sleep and an enjoyable breakfast, all with a friendly smile from each team member!

We look forward to seeing you again when you visit us at Super 8 St. John's.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kippens
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Love the new breakfast and renovations. just to let you know how we appreciate feeling like we are family when we come and stay!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Rosie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyMacDonald, General Manager at Super 8 St Johns, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Rosie,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review, we love hosting your groups, they are always a pleasure to have at our property.

We look forward to seeing you again when you visit St. John's.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

The staff were excellent in all respects and as per custom in St. John's, exceptionally friendly and welcoming. The property was clean and the room was comfortable. The exterior of the property was not well kept and appeared shabby. Overall, the 5 day stay was comfortable. The difficulty is the hotel surroundings; there are no decent places to eat within walking distance and the hotel does not have a restaurant other than a breakfast room. On a 5 day sty without a vehicle, it is necessary to take a lot of taxis to restaurants and then return in another cab. Great for the cab industry but not good for my business expenses. The rate at the hotel was $143 but the daily cab rides added an average of $50.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyMacDonald, General Manager at Super 8 St Johns, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Brian,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, your comments about our friendly service is greatly appreciated. Many of our other guests find our location to be quite convenient, as we are close to the St. John's International Airport, Health Sciences Hospital, Memorial University anf Government Offices, but I can appreciate your concern as you had utilize taxis to get to many destinations during your stay.

Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

I stay at the Super8 in St. John's because of the price, clean rooms and friendly staff (Superisingly, not the waterslide)! They are now serving a hot breakfast as well. However, I was disappointed about the huge increase in rates during my last visit! I realize that because of the hot breakfast and market it will increase, however it has increased a little to much. I stay at the Super8 when I go to town for work, I also stay there during every personal trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Helpful?
Thank Natasha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TracyMacDonald, General Manager at Super 8 St Johns, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Natasha,

Thank you for taking the opportunity to write a review on Trip Advisor. It is always a pleasure to read about our friendly service! We appreciate your comments about our increase in rates, but our rates vary based on business levels and the summer season is our busiest months. If you would like to discss this further please feel free to contact the hotel directly at 709-739-8888.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Comfort Inn Airport
#11 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Ramada St. John's
#9 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#14 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 St Johns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 St Johns

Property: Super 8 St Johns
Address: 175 Higgins Line, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 4N4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in St. John's
#4 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#4 Business Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Super 8 St Johns 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With over 80 guestrooms to choose from, including junior suites, Jacuzzi suites and kid’s suites, check in and check out Super 8 Motel St. John’s. We’re the first choice where most travelers stay for hotels and motels in St. John’s, NL. Why? It could be our great rooms, featuring super comfortable beds, modern furnishings, mini-fridge and microwave. Perhaps it’s our free Super Start breakfast or complimentary high-speed Internet access. Maybe it’s our shimmering indoor heated pool with waterslide, water mushroom and hot tub ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 St Johns reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 St. John's
Super Eight St. John's
St. John's Super Eight
St. John's Super 8
Super 8 St Johns Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing