We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Improve over my last visit.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Check in this time was very easy, the front desk staff were very knowledgeable. Room was very clean and comfortable.

The Smittys restaruant also improved in service from my last visit, happy to see there was a change here.

Room Tip: The suites are very nice on the third floor, but if you are a light sleeper the noise from the shipy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (450)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 450 reviews

Reviewed 27 February 2012

Everything you come to expect from both Newfoundland and Courtyard. Clean and new. Great service in the bar. Expensive for rooms but typical for St. John's. I will be back for sure.

Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

2Queen beds were comfortable, fridge in room, free coffee and tea available in lobby, warm cookies a nice idea. Very Friendly and helpful staff. Having Smitty's Restaurant just off the lobby was wonderful on a stormy day.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReenyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I was in town for business for a week and stayed at the waterfront Marriot. It was very comfortable and met or exceeded my expectations. I was given a waterview room which provided an excellent view of the busy harbour. The room was just fine, the beds were comfortable, the workspace was suitable, the bathroom had everything you need, and the free wifi was dependable and strong.
The restaurant in the lobby is a Smittys with their usual menu, which is fine. There are lots of cafes and restaurants within a short walk, but the lobby restaurant is fine for a quick bite of breakfast or lunch.
Overall, my stay was excellent, the front desk staff and concierge were attentive and professional, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the hotel to anyone visiting St John's

Room Tip: The Harbourview rooms provide a wonderful view of the harbour and general area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SJ_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We spent 5 days at this Marriott in St. John's, and all our needs were met. As stated in the title, it was a more basic hotel than we normally stay at, but they make up for that in other areas.

The staff are incredible. Very friendly service that speaks volumes about the people of St. John's. We really enjoyed the feeling of being treated like family as we came and went throughout the week.

From our harbour view room there was always something to see. Ships come and go, the weather seemed to change hourly, and sea birds were constant entertainment.

Location is also one of the bonus points at this Marriott. You walk just a few minutes to so many fine pubs and restaurants. Small specialty shops seem to be everywhere, like the city has never been touched by WalMart.

The lobby has a Smitty's restaurant with a bar. There is also a small tuck shop beside the front desk for snacks that is open 24/7.

I would definitely stay here again the next time I get a chance to visit this beautiful city.

Room Tip: The harbour side has the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Victor P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Our recent stay at the Courtyard didn't disappoint. We were warmly greeted at reception and within minutes had settled into our Harbour View room. Although small it was clean, comfortable and had a wonderful view of St. John's Harbour. Our only disappointment was the mattress wasn't of the same high quality we had experienced at other Courtyards and the sitting area only had room for one chair. We didn't eat at the hotel restaurant (lots of great cafes close by) so I can"t really comment on the food. However its view of the harbour is probably one of the best in the city. The hotel service was good and our only minor request was filled within minutes. The hotel is well located for downtown activities many of which can be easily reached at a leisurely pace. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HomedicMunes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

Everything here was as expected, wonderful, as we stay here a couple of times a year for the last few years. the rooms were clean, the staff was polite and helpful, even remembered me from previous visits. The bar was quiet and classy and the bartender was awesome. Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbneu1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
352 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland

Address: 131 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £91 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland is an award winning hotel in Newfoundland and Labrador Canada. We're ideally located in the downtown business, entertainment and historic district, just a short walk from Signal Hill and the famous George Street. Beautiful selection of modern Harbour view room and luxurious suite options. On site is one of St. John's newest culinary delights Harbour Room Restaurant and Lounge. Complimentary wireless internet and parking. We invite you to experience true Newfoundland hospitality combined with the highest of standards you have grown to trust in a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. John`s Newfoundland Hotel St. John`s
Courtyard St Johns
Marriott St. John's
Courtyard St. John's
St Johns Courtyard
St. John's Courtyard
St. John's Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing