We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only thing missing was a bidet....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Ranked #8 of 24 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

But that is just one of my quirks. Don't you think a bidet just makes your stay...? Or is that just me?

But seriously, the service, the people, the room was great. The room we had was quite large with a microwave and a coffee machine, as well as a fridge. This meant we could buy some small items and reheat them if we wanted, which we did when we spotted a Moose Pie for sale in a shop. Novelty for us, so it was great that we could re-heat it and eat it in the room. The only missing was cutlery.

The location was good too, but I guess with such a small town, any hotel in town would be good for exploring in town. Very walkable, albeit a little hilly. But good walking distance to most things, including great cafes and food outlets.

The gym is very small, with a couple of running machines and a couple of free-weights with one machine weight. But if you are just into running, it works. Although running along the harbour would be far prettier.

The thing we liked to the most was the staff. They were very friendly, very helpful and genuinely nice. Five stars for the staff we encountered.

Room Tip: The breakfast buffet appears to only be on the weekend. The week days on has an a la carte menu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgeParam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2013

Thank you for staying with us during your trip and for taking the time to write this glowing review! It sounds as though you had a wonderful experience while visiting us. we will pass along your comments to our "Five Star" staff as they truly are wonderful! Although we can't promise installation of a bidet in the near future, we do hope that you will come visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights recently while attending a conference. Great location - walking distance to cafes, restaurants, shops, 'Jelly Bean Houses' and the port. Still very quiet at night. Fantastic and very helpful staff!!!

Not a luxury hotel but very clean, well run, comfortable with everything in working order.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

It sounds as though you had a fantastic experience at our property and in our great city while on the Rock! We will relay your lovely comments to our staff. Thank you for sharing and we hope that you can visit again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Walking distance to most attractions including Signal Hill, clean, free parking and well priced breakfast at Smitty's restaurant in the lobby. Chatters across the street is a great coffee shop! Though not an inexpensive hotel in peak season it was well worth the cost.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank regan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Your "Best Hotel Downtown" review is very much appreciated! Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your wonderful experience at our property. We hope that you can come visit again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

The hotel is quite new and the rooms are modern and tastefully decorated, with comfortable beds, clean linens and decent sized bathrooms. The in-room wi-fi (free) was fast and easy to connect to but not available. In the common areas of the hotel. The service was friendly and helpful, and while the self parking does tend to fill up quickly the hotel will take your car on valet for free if you can't get a spot. The Smitty's restaurant in the lobby serves a decent and reasonably priced breakfast with a new view of the harbor. The elevators can be a bit slow, but this is really the only very small downside to an otherwise wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Try a harbor view room for a wonderful view of the harbor and Signal Hill.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus_JA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Thank you for your review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed our modern decor, service and ammenities during your stay. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. Thank you for choosing our property!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013 via mobile

I stayed for two weeks. The rooms are very clean, the staff all so helpful and caring. The front desk helped a lot with various logistics and my back and forth to Health Sciences.

The room had a great view of the harbour with lots of activity. The entire downtown core - shopping and restaurants - are all within easy walking distance. The real bonus is the restaurant which serves superb meals.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Your review is very much appreciated, we will pass along all comments to our staff. It sounds as though your stay with us was thoroughly enjoyable and the service and location met your needs very well. It was our pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

From the moment I saw the amazing harbour view from my room (see photo), I was happy. This is a comfortable, quiet and well-located hotel with some of the friendliest staff I've ever encountered. While it's not a luxury hotel, it is very clean with comfortable beds, chairs, and toiletries, as well as freshly baked cookies every afternoon. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a harbour view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLDToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Your lovely comments and 5 out of 5 rating are very much appareciated! It sounds as though you had a wonderful stay at our welcoming and clean hotel. We will pass along your comments to our phenomenal team and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Had a wonderful two nights at the Courtyard Marriott, such a clean, comfortable place. The staff especially are all wonderful. Shout out to Shari, and the awesome Marriott family. Super helpful, had our room all set up after flying in very late. Held our baggage after checking out, the fresh baked cookies were awesome, all the pointers for going out and about... the compliments are endless. Will be back very VERY soon!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on your stay, it is very much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable. We will pass along your comment to Shari and the rest of the staff! Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Downtown
Delta Hotels St. John's Conference Centre
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 24 in St. John's
351 reviews
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#5 of 24 in St. John's
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 24 in St. John's
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland

Address: 131 Duckworth St, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
Price Range: £90 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland is an award winning hotel in Newfoundland and Labrador Canada. We're ideally located in the downtown business, entertainment and historic district, just a short walk from Signal Hill and the famous George Street. Beautiful selection of modern Harbour view room and luxurious suite options. On site is one of St. John's newest culinary delights Harbour Room Restaurant and Lounge. Complimentary wireless internet and parking. We invite you to experience true Newfoundland hospitality combined with the highest of standards you have grown to trust in a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. John`s Newfoundland Hotel St. John`s
Courtyard St Johns
Marriott St. John's
Courtyard St. John's
St Johns Courtyard
St. John's Courtyard
St. John's Marriott
Courtyard By Marriott St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing