We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, right in the heart of St. John's”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, right in the heart of St. John's”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

I came to St johns on a business trip overnight. I loved the suite feel to the rooms. Lots of space and a great view of the harbor. The service was great, as usual for Marriott. I don't know that I will be back to St. John's in the future, but I'll definitely stay here if I get the chance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MNRPhmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Your kind words are very much appreciated. We are thrilled to hear that our central downtown location and excellent service met your needs. If you do make it back to our beautiful city, we hope you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    169
    57
    10
    6
See reviews for
78
165
24
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thornhill, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
244 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Two nights here on business. I like the simplicity of the place - everthing in the hotel is within easy walking distance. Pleasant staff, nice view of the harbour, ample rooms and comfy beds. What more could I ask for?!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Zippy22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts on our property, it was our pleasure to have you with us and we are happy to hear that our property was just what you needed! Come back and visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gander
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We recently stayed at the Courtyard Marriott for an anniversary and shopping getaway. Right from the moment we walked in, we were kindly greeted, and the hotel looked very cleaned. Our room was harbourview, and we stayed in one of the junior suites...it was fantastic!!! We had 2 tv(s), a mini fridge, microwave and sink, etc.... The gym downstairs was nicely equipped and allowed me to do my morning workout with ease...not to mention it again was very clean. We also had breakfast 2x in the local resturant...and there were no complaints about that either. The staff were great from the waiters/waitresses to the front staff and cleaning ladies! All and all I would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to staying here in the near future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review and 5 star rating! It sounds as though the Junior Suite was perfect for your stay and that view is certainly stunning! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the services and the ammenties during your stay. We will relay this comment to our fabulous team and come visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trois-Rivieres, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Perhaps not the best view but very well located and close to some of the high-end restaurants and a few minutes away from the famed bar scene. The room with a big spacious desk is a welcomed bonus for the business traveller.

The hotel restaurant would benefit from an upgrade though.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marco514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we appreciate your feedback and lovely review! We hope that you can come back to visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lloydminster, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

After a miserable night at the Sheraton just up the hill, we decided to move to the Marriott. Amazing view of the harbour , service was prompt, sincere, fun and appreciative. The food was absolutely delicious I still crave the fish that we ate! Awesome stay and the best value we have had in St Johns this year! Stay here if you have the chance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnH69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
It sounds as though your stay with us was an unforgettable experience! It was our pleasure to make your stay enjoyable and we hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

My wife and I spent 3 days there last week. Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Great beds and bedding. Service was also very good. In my opinion, the Smitty's Restaurent on site falls far short of the dining facility we would have expected. Menu items are of the fast food quality, although the service was okay.

Room Tip: Try for a waterfront room on the 7th (top) floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allan099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Thank you for your review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Our beds certainly do offer a great nights sleep! We hope that you will stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2013

The Courtyard is facing the harbor. You are as close as ever looking out your window at the ships as they enter and exit. Yesterday the Caribbean Princess sailed into the harbor, what a sight watching her pull up to the pier. The Courtyard has it's own restaurant and is within walking distance of many, many more in St. John's. It is up the street from all of the tourist sites. I'll be back.

Room Tip: Make sure your room faces the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pyrojojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanineSarah, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. Watching the Princess come in was certainly a sight to see and you definitely had a front row seat! We are very happy to hear that the location and property met your expectations and we look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Sheraton Hotel Newfoundland
#6 of 22 in St. John's
769 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#1 of 22 in St. John's
300 reviews
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Delta by Marriott St. John's Conference Centre
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#16 of 22 in St. John's
398 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland

Property: Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland
Address: 131 Duckworth Street, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1C 1E9, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. John's
#5 Romantic Hotel in St. John's
#5 Family Hotel in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland is an award winning hotel in Newfoundland and Labrador Canada. We're ideally located in the downtown business, entertainment and historic district, just a short walk from Signal Hill and the famous George Street. Beautiful selection of modern Harbour view room and luxurious suite options. On site is one of St. John's newest culinary delights Harbour Room Restaurant and Lounge. Complimentary wireless internet and parking. We invite you to experience true Newfoundland hospitality combined with the highest of standards you have grown to trust in a Courtyard by Marriott hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. John's Newfoundland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. John`s Newfoundland Hotel St. John`s
Courtyard St Johns
Marriott St. John's
Courtyard St. John's
St Johns Courtyard
St. John's Marriott
St. John's Courtyard
Courtyard By Marriott St. John's Newfoundland Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing