We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (115)
Filter reviews
115 results
Traveller rating
89
20
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
89
20
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews common room third floor top floor great hosts deck overlooking within walking distance french toast newfoundland hospitality three nights great conversation home away from home other guests front of the house exploring st comfortable bed breakfast each morning first morning
Filter
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 115 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Mary and Louis made our first stop in Newfoundland very memorable. Great welcome,large room, comfortable bed, super breakfast, wonderful view from third floor deck. Location could not have been better for walking the downtown ,waterfront , the Rooms and Basilica.
We were there during a hot spell so our windows were wide open and we did find it a bit noisy late into the night (weekend).
Would recommend this B & B to our friends

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed four days and wished it could have been longer. The weather was cold and foggy but the warmth of our hosts made our visit to St Johns memorable. Every morning was a treat with a wonderful breakfast accompanied by tales of Newfoundland. We were with friends and we were lucky enough to have the two rooms on the top floor. The view from the balcony ( when the fog cleared ) was spectacular and the use of the sitting room and computer was great. I would go back in a heartbeat and would recommend this place to anyone. The location was quiet but within easy walking distance of most amenities.

Room tip: The top floor has easy access to the balcony and has a small sitting room too, with use of a computer. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annwoodrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Wonderful location, hosts, rooms and view! The breakfasts were also huge and delicious! Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone :)

Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Our stay at Cantwell House was fantastic. Mary and Louie are terrific ambassadors for St. John's and Newfoundland in general. They both spent time chatting with us and offering suggestions for places to visit/eat and Louie even drove us a short distance to Quidi Vidi so we wouldn't struggle finding a place to park. The B & B was perfect for our two night stay; both rooms were spotless and well appointed and the beds were comfy. The house is lovely and full of character and located within very easy walking distance to everything. The top floor lounge and deck is great. Breakfasts were delicious and all we would want to start our day (loved the bowl of fresh fruit salad). I would go back to Cantwell House in an instant!

Room tip: Room #2 has a lovely view of the harbour.
Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Mary and Louie are great hosts and run a wonderfully comfortable B&B. I'd stay there again without hesitation. I was satisfied with location, breakfast, and the bedrooms. I don't think you'll regret staying here.

Date of stay: April 2012
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Iryna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews