We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cantwell House
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in St. John's
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Captain's Quarters(St. John's)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue on Water(St. John's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
JAG(St. John's)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
82
17
2
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
17
2
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roomthird floortop floorb bparking passdeck overlookingfrench toastnewfoundland hospitalitythree nightshome away from homecomfortable bedexploring stfirst morningyogurtgeorge stwalking distanceharbour
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Mary and Louis made our first stop in Newfoundland very memorable. Great welcome,large room, comfortable bed, super breakfast, wonderful view from third floor deck. Location could not have been better for walking the downtown ,waterfront , the Rooms and Basilica.
We were there during a hot spell so our windows were wide open and we did find it a bit noisy late into the night (weekend).
Would recommend this B & B to our friends

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kadecd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We stayed four days and wished it could have been longer. The weather was cold and foggy but the warmth of our hosts made our visit to St Johns memorable. Every morning was a treat with a wonderful breakfast accompanied by tales of Newfoundland. We were with friends and we were lucky enough to have the two rooms on the top floor. The view from the balcony ( when the fog cleared ) was spectacular and the use of the sitting room and computer was great. I would go back in a heartbeat and would recommend this place to anyone. The location was quiet but within easy walking distance of most amenities.

Room Tip: The top floor has easy access to the balcony and has a small sitting room too, with use of a computer. The rooms are clean, comfortable and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annwoodrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Wonderful location, hosts, rooms and view! The breakfasts were also huge and delicious! Would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emilie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Our stay at Cantwell House was fantastic. Mary and Louie are terrific ambassadors for St. John's and Newfoundland in general. They both spent time chatting with us and offering suggestions for places to visit/eat and Louie even drove us a short distance to Quidi Vidi so we wouldn't struggle finding a place to park. The B & B was perfect for our two night stay; both rooms were spotless and well appointed and the beds were comfy. The house is lovely and full of character and located within very easy walking distance to everything. The top floor lounge and deck is great. Breakfasts were delicious and all we would want to start our day (loved the bowl of fresh fruit salad). I would go back to Cantwell House in an instant!

Room Tip: Room #2 has a lovely view of the harbour.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KimmyK09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Mary and Louie are great hosts and run a wonderfully comfortable B&B. I'd stay there again without hesitation. I was satisfied with location, breakfast, and the bedrooms. I don't think you'll regret staying here.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
Thank Iryna I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews