We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Discrimination”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The Guv'nor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Guv'nor Inn
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Stephenville Crossing, Newfoundland, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Discrimination”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

They REFUSED our reservation because of our Dog Guide. I guess they have no tollerance for people with disabilities! They said out blunt that we could not have the room that we reserved because they were not going to let our Dog Guide stay with them.

Room Tip: Choose a different means of accomadations!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynnHarold C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda L, Owner at The Guv'nor Inn, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Thank you so much for bringing this to our attention. Please accept our apologies for your Guide Dog not being welcomed at The Guv’nor. We fell short in training our employees by not pointing out the difference between pets and working animals. Out of respect to our guests with allergies we have designated two rooms as pet friendly and unfortunately both these rooms were occupied at the time of your arrival which is why our staff did not allow another animal in the building. We as owners take full responsibility and are sorry for any inconvenience this caused you. Please be rest assured that licensed Guide Dogs will be welcomed at The Guv’nor in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    13
    14
    7
    10
See reviews for
21
14
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lourdes, NL
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights.......Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful.....gave us directions to shopping malls and surrounding areas of interest. Beds were very very comfortable.....so nice and cozy.......room was clean.......fridge and microwave in room....... Full service of bar & restaurant in hotel was a bonus. Had to climb stairs, but that only keeps us in shape....correct?? Parking was a bit tight.....hard to find a spot during busy hours......but that's always expected at times. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and I would book the Guv'nor Inn again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We stayed here for five nights in August. The room was very small, crowded and with a small window. The long time employee of the hotel working the front desk was very friendly and helpful. The other employee was friendly but had limited knowledge - did not even know the routes of the buses that stopped in front of the hotel. She also sent me to the MUN for botanical gardens that are not on the campus but some distance away from MUN. My biggest criticism is of the restaurant/pub. The food is mostly deep fried, fatty and unhealthy. For breakfast they serve either fried ham, bacon or baloney; eggs, toast and a huge mound of hash browns. The next morning I asked for yogurt, fruit, cottage cheese. They said they don't have those items on the menu. The following days I ordered only boiled eggs and toast. We went to a grocery store and bought fruit and yogurt to supplement a breakfast that can only be described as a heart attack on a plate. The entire Inn is in desperate need of a makeover.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peonygarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tillsonburg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

In all our years of travel we have never,ever expierienced such front desk staff. We Booked two months in advance and never got into our rooms until 5.30 at night.Had to be ready for an evening engagement and had to use one room we had booked out of three between six people.The more we asked when our room would be ready the longer they made us wait.The rooms are in major need of updating and the restaurant for breakfast wasn't much different.Waited for 10 minutes for staff to come out of the kitchen to wait on us.I have never written about a hotel before but this one deserves it.There are so many wonderful places to stay in St. Johns.Do yourself a favor and steer clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

the Guv'nor is a ten minute ride to downtown St. John's and is close to the Memorial University. The rooms are clean and comfortable and very reasonably priced. In fact the rates are among the lowest in St. John's. The hotel also has a full service bar-restaurant on premises.

Room Tip: Ask for a room located in the main hotel building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank witlessbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We stayed at the Guv'nor the weekend I had an interview for med school and the friendly staff at the inn and attached restaurant made my weekend basically stress free! We were only a few minutes drive from the mall and from George street so the location was perfect! Heard another visitor say their air conditioner was way too loud, ours was a little loud but worked fine and it wasn't a problem at all. There was a note in the room saying they would soon be doing renos on some aspects but everything looked fine and very clean to me. Overall a great stay and lots of good good at the pub!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meglark2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port aux Basques, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

The Guv'nor Inn is perfectly located for shopping. It was easy to find and parking next door to my room was a bonus. Avalon Mall is just minutes away. The rooms were extremely clean, and the beds seem to have brand new mattress with pillow tops. The food in the pub was great.

Room Tip: The rooms in the court yard are perfect if you have done lots of shopping and want to carry your pac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St. John's hotels
Murray Premises Hotel
#3 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
Downtown
JAG
JAG
#2 of 22 in St. John's
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Downtown
Quality Hotel Harbourview
Quality Hotel Harbourview
#15 of 22 in St. John's
3.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Courtyard St. John's Newfoundland
Ramada St. John's
#8 of 22 in St. John's
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Guv'nor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guv'nor Inn

Property: The Guv'nor Inn
Address: 389 Elizabeth Ave, St. John's, Newfoundland and Labrador A1B 1V1, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > St. John's
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 22 Hotels in St. John's
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We’ve been expecting you! The Guv'nor Inn celebrates rich English tradition with our Old-world inspired property in St. John's, NL. Stay with us and experience our distinctive character and our award-winning presentation. We proudly offer 37 guest rooms with a considerate array of abundant amenities - Wi Fi, Refrigerators, Microwaves, Iron/Ironing Boards, Hair Dryers, Personal Coffee, 32" flat screen TVs, Drive-Up accommodations, A/C, duvets, Luxury Suite with fireplace & Jacuzzi and on-site Guv'nor Pub and Eatery. Our Guv’nor Pub & Eatery provides an ideal setting for all occasions and a marvelous feast for every palate. Find your preferred pint on tap, enthusiastic service and a delightful English ambiance. The Guv'nor is known for its local fare such as moose burgers and cod tongues. Looking to put some ‘wow factor’ behind your next business or social gathering? Make your next booking at the Guv’nor Function Rooms. The stately ambiance of The Study and Drawing Room provides the perfect balance of comfort and etiquette. The Guv'nor is centrally situated near Memorial University of Newfoundland, the Health Science Centre, Arts and Culture Center, the Confederation Building and historic downtown St. John’s (a short $10 taxi fare). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Guv'nor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Guv`Nor Inn & Pub Hotel St. John`s
Guv`Nor Inn And Pub
The Guv'Nor Inn Newfoundland, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing