We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique Cuisine Experience in St. John's.”

India Gate Restaurant
Ranked #41 of 371 Restaurants in St. John's
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Grand Falls Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Unique Cuisine Experience in St. John's.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great Food and a Unique Cuisine experience in St.John's, NL. Best to go with a group and share multiple dishes between you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    80
    25
    14
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pretty good.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Pretty good food, but the quality has gone down-hill lately. Very overpriced for what it is. I feel like many of the sauces and vegetables are canned. The staff can be crass. However, it's the only place in town to get half-decent Indian food. This place would never make it in Toronto or Montreal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Megan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
93 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Never disappointed.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

I was a regular at the lunch buffet at India Gate when living in St John's. On a visit there in Nov 2013 the buffet was open only on Thurs. & Fri. I was delighted on a visit in a few weeks ago to learn that the buffett was again open daily. My wife and I were taken there by family. The food was excellent, the staff friendly and very efficient and attentive. The whole atmosphere is great. I would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone. (I am giving the rating "Poor" on the question "Families with children" as in my experience the food might be too spicy for many children.)

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cantwelltom044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A unique experience not to be missed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

The atmosphere and the way they served the food is really unique and the staff is attentive & willing to accomodate any request. If I had any critical points, it'd be that the pricing is a little high and the soda isn't free refill. But if you want a unique local dining experience by an incredible owner, then look no further. A must-eatery if you're ever in St. Johns!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Owen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
144 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good for lunch (buffet) or dinner (menu)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Good northern Indian food. The lunch buffet is good, quick and easy. Dinner is more expensive as everything is alacarte.
Service gets a "B" but it's not bad.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank criticalchristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed India Gate Restaurant also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to India Gate Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing