We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chinese Food Ever” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Magic Wok Eatery

Magic Wok Eatery
Ranked #61 of 371 Restaurants in St. John's
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Kids, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Downtown
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Chinese Food Ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

My husband and I had a delicious meal there on Friday night past. The servers were excellent and the food is out of this world!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rosie1904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    34
    7
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Welcome Home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We dined at the Magic Wok many years ago, and felt as though we were coming home. The restaurant is much bigger now, and the menu is a lot more exciting. We found it hard to choose among the dishes and finally settled on an assortment of soup, dumplings, meat and an outstanding broccoli dish. All were wonderfully prepared, and the meat dish was done tableside. If you are a fan of Cantonese cooking this is the place for you.

Don't miss the wall of historical pictures of the Magic Wok. Then you will be able to see how it progressed through the years.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brotherdickdca1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great Food and Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I didn't expect to be eating Chinese food while on my trip to Nfld, but glad I did! The food was fresh and delicious. We tried crispy duck and flambe beef, since others had recommended it on this website - we loved them both! We also had chicken fried rice and chicken chow-mien, also yummy! Only downfalls - no beef eggrolls (veggie eggrolls/springrolls taste ok, but are small) and the crispy fried won-tons did not have any filling like we're used to. Décor was nice and place was clean. I would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, NL
Level Contributor
129 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Much improved”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

It's been a couple of years since our last visit. The decor, service and ambiance have greatly improved. Some of the dishes were a little bland, but still very good. We particularly liked 77, the flaming beef. One of the few Chinese restaurants where, the settings,tableware and decor are as good as or better than the food.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank UNTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Terrific!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

Great food and service as always! The Magic Wok has the friendliest staff and the food is just terrific. Take away service is fast!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NewfoundlandPublican
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magic Wok Eatery also viewed

St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 
St. John's, Newfoundland
St. John's, Newfoundland
 

Been to Magic Wok Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing