We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but only if you're desperate!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wakkerstroom Country Inn
Ranked #7 of 10 Wakkerstroom B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The image of the inn portrayed on the website is deceiving as what looked to be stylish and clean turned out to be anything but. Our room smelt of damp and unclean drains, wasn't particularly clean,the doors didn't fit properly and by South African standards the food was distinctly average. On the first morning of a two night stay I was awoken at 8.00 a.m. by drilling and banging in a neighbouring room and on the second morning, while taking a bath at 8.30 a.m, someone (who turned out to be a handyman) was hammering incessantly to be in the room to fix the doors. When I complained at breakfast the handyman had the good grace to apologise advising that he'd been acting on instructions from the owner. I therefore explained my concerns to the owner who was extremely arrogant saying that there was work to do and how was he to know what time I would be up! There is a tourism association trying hard to promote tourism in Wakkerstroom and to all intents and purposes it is a lovely little place to visit for the birds, walking, biking etc. Sadly with this inn being the only real option of somewhere to stay (other than a few B&B's) and eat in the evening I feel, based on our experience, their efforts may be in vain.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JillyWig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (21)
There are newer reviews for Wakkerstroom Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 21 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2013

I feel we were a bit doomed on this trip. A cold front had blown through, so the night time temperature was Polar. The decorators had taken the radiators off the walls when decorating - - and dropped them. When we arrive for 2 nights our room had no heating, and this was truly the coldest I've been since living in student accommodation in the 70s. So lots of potential negatives...but...
- the bed was comfortable (and half of it had an electric blanket)
- the staff provided us with the thickest duvet I've ever seen to keep us warm
- the food was great, great 'full English' breakfasts, lovely pea and ham soup at lunch, tongue was great too - and the wine and beer were fine after a day's birding too
- the staff were all lovely and the guy in charge (who looked SO YOUNG to me) was extremely helpful
- and thankfully a shop next door selling woolly hats for 30 Rand.
Wakkerstroom is pretty much in the back of beyond, and we were there in the depths of winter. Get up at dawn - the mountains all around are phenomenal. Wonderful place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I stayed here on a birding trip. The room was basic but clean, and that is what I need when birding. There was just a line of hangers, but that did not matter. The food was excellent, although the wine was fairly poor. If you are looking for luxury don't stay in Wakkerstroom, but if you want to see some very good birds you must!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We expected charming and stylish, as per the website. We got tired, frayed, really bad quality shampoo, overgrown garden, sparse room, no carpets, no cupboards....no, no, no. Not good.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yvonne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

This hotel was our Wakkerstroom base, during a birding trip in South Africa. It lies in the center of the village, across from the NG Church. A typical original village hotel with nice simple rooms, a well organised local staff and delicious food. The last an unexpected bonus. By the way, the birding around Wakkerstroom was excellent.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hochis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vogelaere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank anicot59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wakkerstroom hotels
0.4 mi away
Wetlands Country House and Sheds
Wetlands Country House and Sheds
#2 of 10 in Wakkerstroom
78 reviews
0.1 mi away
DeKotzenhof
DeKotzenhof
#5 of 10 in Wakkerstroom
9 reviews
2.0 mi away
Forellenhof Guest Farm
Forellenhof Guest Farm
#1 of 10 in Wakkerstroom
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Toad Hall Guest House
Toad Hall Guest House
#6 of 10 in Wakkerstroom
3 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Wakkerstroom Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wakkerstroom Country Inn

Address: 124 Badenhorst Street, Wakkerstroom 2480, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Mpumalanga > Wakkerstroom
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wakkerstroom
Price Range: £72 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wakkerstroom Country Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the village square in the heart of Wakkerstroom, we offer a safe and comfortable environment with stylishly decorated rooms, a family restaurant which is well renowned both locally and with visitors for delicious food and friendly and professional service. A perfect base from which to explore the village. We can also arrange birdwatching tours, picnics and other activities. Also the perfect venue to host a conference, wedding or party. A real gem of Wakkerstroom! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Wakkerstroom Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing