We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, breakfast and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 23 Yellowknife B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great room, breakfast and location”
Reviewed 12 December 2011

This is the first time we visit Yellowknife for aurora viewing. Our flight was delayed due to weather and we arrived in midnight. John checked us in with a warm welcome. The room was great. It has a lot of space, clean and quite, not to mention the great frozen lake view. The facilities in room was complete, including coffee maker, fridge. They even got a hair dryer in it.

The breakfast taste great and we loved it. Debbie will be in kitchen the whole morning until 11 am to make breakfast for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank xbtsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    30
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
36
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

This was my 6th time in Yellowknife for work and all the major hotels were booked solid (thankfully). Spent the first week-end in outside cabin which was nice and comfortable. I moved to an inside room when one became available. The bed and breakfast felt like being at home and the breakfasts were worth it alone. In my past visits I have stayed at the major hotels out of convenience but the Bayside made a 2 week work trip much easier thanks to congenial hosts. In an otherwise expensive town, you will not find better value in town.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank runwhatyabrung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birch Cove, Alberta
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2011

On the edge of Great Slave lake you will find the gem of Yellowknife accommodations. Cozy and clean room with a friendly host. Delicious breakfast welcomes your day in quaint Old Town.

Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank C F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adelaide
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We arrived exhausted after long flights from Montreal and my wife was ready for an early sleep. But wait! Something is happening out there through those big windows overlooking Great Slave Lake. It is only just dark and a green veil is evolving to a bright luminescent series of dancing cosmic streaks! Wake up, wake up! This is truly amazing! We are drawn first to the balcony then to the yard below. I set up my tripod and take a few "practice shots". Later as the lights fade, we retreat to the comfort of the communal room, hoping we will see an even better display when we get out of town the next 2 nights. Unfortunately the weather changes and our best memories of the Aurora will always be those from the Bayside BnB. So, it has a great position on the edge of town. Perhaps a little too close to the float-plane base but this certainly added interest while we were there. The Bayside is comfortable and has a nice, open, friendly feel with accommodating owners and staff. Breakfast was relaxed and fine. Like a lot of Yellowknife and particularly "old town", the yard does have a slightly rough around the edges feel but this is a frontier town in a very harsh environment. A couple of minor things bothered me though I don't want to overstate these: there was quite a lot of dust under our bed and people tended to leave dirty cups and cutlery in the communal area. The latter reflects the way guests are generally left to themselves as if at home, which is nice. Otherwise the rooms were clean and tidy and pleasantly presented with access to useful ammenities such as a fridge and coffee maker. We were able to save money in what is an expensive town where nearly everything is trucked or flown in, by shopping at the supermarket and bringing food back to the BnB. Over all the small quibbles were insignificant and we were very happy to stay at the Bayside and would happily recommend it to you. (BnBs beat hotels hands down imho.) It is as others have said, a great place to view the Aurora!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ozpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

Clean comfortable and simple accommodations. Hosts are kind and leave you to enjoy your stay. I watched the northern light from the guest lounge and even my bed! Excellent breakfast included. Great location, with Old Town making you feel you are part of a community. Nice walk to downtown, or catch a bus out front ($2.50) or taxi (~$8.00).

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskanAdventurer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallaceburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Our unit was complete with a deck that faced right on Great Slave Lake.. We sat out here every morning with coffee.. or evenings to watch all the activity on the lake A Common room upstairs . comforable with T.V ,and ameniies. faced the same beautiful view of the Lake .. Room itself was completely comfortable.. Food was delicious , staff friendly and all other guest ( local or tourists ) visited and on the whole we certainly intend to return..there

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agnes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Great to be back in the NWT and the Bayside B&B. First time we've been there when the lake was frozen - fun to walk out to the island. Thanks again John & Debbie.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FanoftheNorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.1 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Blachford Lake Lodge
Blachford Lake Lodge
#1 of 6 in Yellowknife
5.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
1.1 mi away
Yellowknife Polar Suite Guest Room
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3505 McDonald Dr, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Great Slave Lake, great location for winter Aurora viewing, summer canoeing and kayaking - and as s year-round base for sporty and adventurous activities. Recently renovated. Fully functional cafe located on ground floor. In the heart of Yellowknife's historic and eclectic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bayside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Bed And Breakfast And Dancing Moose Cafe
Bayside b&b And Dancing Moose Cafe Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing