We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place to view Aurora in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 23 Yellowknife B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The best place to view Aurora in town”
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Our group with six persons stayed at Bayside B&B for four nights, the location of Bayside is the better place to view Aurora in town, and we can saw Aurora just walk out to the gardens.
And, the breakfast is excellent.
Bayside B&B is our sweet home, without your help and kindness; we can’t have such a wonderful Aurora
Thank you so much John & Debbie.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TANLEYTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    30
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
36
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Myself and a friend stayed in this charming place while visiting Yellowknife for a couple of days.
John and the rest of the staff made us feel very welcome from the getgo.

There is a very friendly laidback atmosphere created in both the B&B and the cafe - if they could bottle how to create this ,they would make a fortune!


The room was clean, warm, and suitable for all our needs. There was also a guest area for watching TV, making Tea/coffee and basically mixing with fellow guests. This area also has an outdoor balcony which is ideal for watching the Northern Lights at night.
We happen to share the experience with three very nice Signapore students, even more excited than ourselves to be witnessing the Aurora.

The food served in the cafe was plentiful, you wont leave hungry. It surprised us even more so when told breakfast didnt finish until 2PM for its B&B guests.
Very thoughtful when they know the guests are not getting to bed until late into the hours.

John was able to guide us on what Yellowknife had to offer its tourists, and also give an insight as to how the locals live which was most interesting. I am grateful to John and Co for the experience they were able to provide us with, its a place I think very fondly of.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

We liked the food of the restaurant and the very friendly atmosphere on the B&B. Rooms are quite comfortable. We stayed on a cabin outside - the amenities are ... rustic and limited. However, it was really quiet and the beds were comfortable. We really liked the common living room with a very nice view on the lake : a perfect spot to watch the Northern Lights!!
It was a very friendly place where it was not hard to feel like home. I would absolutely go back to the Bayside B&B next time I visit Yellowknife!

Room Tip: I would think that our room (the cosy room - cabin outside the building) was probably not the best o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurencePatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

I stayed at Bayside before and after a trip to a far Northern community. Great service from the owners and staff, amazing breakfast (and dinner at Dancing Moose Cafe) and a great room with a spectacular view! If you can, try and book the Northern Skies room on the main floor...amazing view of the water and very spacious! Thanks for the great visit!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

I traveled with a group of 3 and we stayed at Willows suite with Bayside B&B. The room is a little small but we have ensuite bathroom which gives us the privacy we need. The owner, John is a very very nice guy. When we told him that the room is quite dark (with only two lamps), he acklowedged our conern and immediately went to get a floor lamp without hesitation. His friendly service made our first rough night very positive (one of our memeber missed her connection flight due to bad weather in Vancouver that day).

Their complementary breakfast at Dancing Moose Cafe is excellent! We noticed that there are a lot of diners just come to the cafe for meal. The B&B location is also excellent. Although we did not get to see much aurora for the 2 nights there due to bad weather, you can walk on the forzen lake behind B&B as part of your daytime activity.

I would definitely recommend you stay with Bayside B&B on your next trip to Yellowknife.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yuka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We recently stayed at the Bayside B&B, in the Northern Skies room. The room itself was lovely, and plenty spacious - plus the access to a balcony and the backyard from our room was nice too. The bed was devine - so comfortable!

Not having seen the upstairs rooms I can't comment on their standard, although the small common area immediately outside the upstairs rooms looked like a nice place to relax, and perhaps I would stay upstairs next time, for that reason.

The owners were nice and very eager to see that we had everything for a comfortable stay. They do a terrific breakfast at the cafe attached to the B&B.

It was a bit of a walk to town, but we chose it for that reason - staying on the lake was lovely, picturesque and quiet.

Overall I was delighted with this B&B, and much preferred staying there to one of the hotels in town - some of which are pretty boxy and unappealing.

Room Tip: Accessing the Northern Skies room through the cafe and past the cafe fridge detracted from the exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KayC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angus, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

My husband and I took this once in a lifetime trip that has now turn into a to be done again trip with many thanks to the warmth and hospitality of the owners and staff at Bayside B&B. We stayed in the Northern Skies private suite and loved the room. We loved the ground floor with the private entrance, private bathroom and private porch over looking the bay. It was wonderful waking up to the sun rising over the beautiful bay. We had a great view of the northern lights right from our porch on the nights we didn't venture out of town so we didn't feel like we missed anything. Our suite felt like we were on vacation at a really nice cottage but with all the amenities of home but had mom and dad doing all the cooking and cleaning. :-) The food at the cafe was fantastic with very large portions **Make sure you try the cinnamon buns - they are the best.** We did get to see some of the other rooms upstairs and they were wonderful as well, really nice and clean. The view from the lounge deck was excellent as well. The B&B is in a great location with lots of great things to see just around the corner and not far from downtown. This was the first B&B we have ever stayed at and this really topped some of the hotel rooms we have stayed at. This experience has opened our eyes to the possibility of staying at a B&B more often over a hotel room. Thank you very much for all the great memories.

Room Tip: Spend the extra little bit and book the Northern Skies suite. It was well worth the extra cost. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catrvt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.1 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
420 reviews
1.1 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
48 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
229 reviews
1.6 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
97 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Bed & Breakfast

Property: Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Address: 3505 McDonald Dr, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Great Slave Lake, great location for winter Aurora viewing, summer canoeing and kayaking - and as s year-round base for sporty and adventurous activities. Recently renovated. Fully functional cafe located on ground floor. In the heart of Yellowknife's historic and eclectic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bayside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Bed And Breakfast And Dancing Moose Cafe
Bayside b&b And Dancing Moose Cafe Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing