We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for a week”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #5 of 23 Yellowknife B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 December 2013

Our family of 6 stayed (in three rooms) for the first week of September. Location was great - easy walk to town & local attractions, but most of all the view overlooking Great Slave Lake was outstanding - the back yard was a great location for aurora viewing - which we saw on 6 nights! Rooms are larger than they appear on the website; all were very clean and well appointed. The lounge was a great place for us to gather as a family & it was nice to have access to the fridge, kettle etc. Breakfast was superb every day - don't miss the Arctic Char Eggs Benedict! Air Tindi seaplane activity was good entertainment too.

We took a wonderful day hike & picnic to Cameron Falls; went on a fantastic fishing charter with Greg from Bluefish Services (located nearby); visited the Prince of Wales Museum; toured around town; ate at the iconic Bullocks Bistro & Wildcat Cafe. It was a truly wonderful week!

Thank you Bayside for providing us with your hospitality.

Room Tip: Northern Lights Suite on the main floor has direct outside access to a covered deck - great to nip o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MomsAway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

My two buddies and I took a motorcycle trip to Yellowknife this spring and stayed at Bayside. It was the nicest place we stayed on the whole ride from California. We stayed in the cabin by the water it worked perfectly for us. The gourmet breakfast that we ordered off the restaurant menu was nearly worth the cost of the stay. John and Deb run a great B & B and Restaurant.
John Mills
Nevada City, CA

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2013

My wife and I visited Yellowknife and stayed at the Bayside B&B. We had a very nice experience. Our room was the ensuite including bathroom and shower (Willows). Very clean and nice. The bathroom was new and fresh. We enjoyed meeting John and Deb, the hosts, who were very helpful and friendly. This was a great place to catch the aurora, because it is right on the lake (Great Slave), and we could see if the aurora was up from their common room on the second floor, and then gear up and go out on the lake with our camera equipment in the middle of the night. Then we let ourselves back in when we were finished. Also, very convenient to shops and restaurants in Old Town. The attached Dancing Moose cafe was very good too, and the breakfasts were wonderful. Can't wait to come back!

Andrew Fair

Room Tip: Willows was good with ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrewfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

Great view of the auroras and prime location. The breakfast was great in the morning as well, a lot to choose from. The owner was very accommodating and even let us borrow their tripod to take pictures. The beds were not very comfortable though and there is not much privacy because the walls are paper thin.

Room Tip: Don't go expecting 5 star rooms and comfort, but the hospitality and and location is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janicetran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I had the pleasure of spending a week at the Bayside during the spring equinox this year and I'm sending this note to express my thanks & appreciation to all the staff. I was travelling solo and was made to feel very welcome. Giselle and Carole went out of their way to attend to the needs of all their guests, and the B&B tself, in a very friendly and cordial manner. They are true service providers. I have an orthopedic bed at home and I had some concerns about sleeping in any other bed. I had no problem at all sleeping in the 'Midnight Sun'. i was lucky to be able to view the aurora for several nights right from the balcony. Their location right on the bay is far enough away from the city lights to affrord a great view. The food was delicious and the portions were generous. A very clean and comfortable place to stay with a warm and friendly atmosphere. Keep up the good work!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 48Vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Our group with six persons stayed at Bayside B&B for four nights, the location of Bayside is the better place to view Aurora in town, and we can saw Aurora just walk out to the gardens.
And, the breakfast is excellent.
Bayside B&B is our sweet home, without your help and kindness; we can’t have such a wonderful Aurora
Thank you so much John & Debbie.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TANLEYTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Myself and a friend stayed in this charming place while visiting Yellowknife for a couple of days.
John and the rest of the staff made us feel very welcome from the getgo.

There is a very friendly laidback atmosphere created in both the B&B and the cafe - if they could bottle how to create this ,they would make a fortune!


The room was clean, warm, and suitable for all our needs. There was also a guest area for watching TV, making Tea/coffee and basically mixing with fellow guests. This area also has an outdoor balcony which is ideal for watching the Northern Lights at night.
We happen to share the experience with three very nice Signapore students, even more excited than ourselves to be witnessing the Aurora.

The food served in the cafe was plentiful, you wont leave hungry. It surprised us even more so when told breakfast didnt finish until 2PM for its B&B guests.
Very thoughtful when they know the guests are not getting to bed until late into the hours.

John was able to guide us on what Yellowknife had to offer its tourists, and also give an insight as to how the locals live which was most interesting. I am grateful to John and Co for the experience they were able to provide us with, its a place I think very fondly of.
Thanks again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.1 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
438 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
182 reviews
1.3 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
63 reviews
2.4 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
29 reviews
0.5 mi away
Narwal B&B
Narwal B&B
#6 of 23 in Yellowknife
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayside Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayside Bed & Breakfast

Address: 3505 McDonald Dr, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2H2, Canada
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowknife
Price Range: £73 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the shores of Great Slave Lake, great location for winter Aurora viewing, summer canoeing and kayaking - and as s year-round base for sporty and adventurous activities. Recently renovated. Fully functional cafe located on ground floor. In the heart of Yellowknife's historic and eclectic Old Town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bayside Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayside Bed And Breakfast And Dancing Moose Cafe
Bayside b&b And Dancing Moose Cafe Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing