We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only "descent" hotel in Yelloknife! Terrible Room Service”
Review of Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Explorer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I've been to this hotel on several trips, about 12 stays ranging from 1-14 nights.

The consistency of the bad service from room service is astonishing. Burned food, charged 4 lattes when wanted 4 shots of espresso etc...(I seem to get that often). I have tried several dishes, all over priced and it's better and fastert to order from the local KFC!

Location is OK if you NEED to be downtown, otherwise not very pleasant, poor shopping and back alleys not always safe.

Rooms are ok and clean but can SOMEBODY clean the main front glass doors!!!?? They have been filthy for months, it's summer now, no excuses!

If you enjoy B&B you might be lucky, otherwise for being the Diamond Capital of North America, the Explorer could smarten up!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bvaudry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 7 July 2012

Good morning Bvaudry,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. We would like to thank you for your business and continued loyalty. I apologize for your `sub-par` room service experience, as this is certainly not representative of the dining experience we wish to provide. I have discussed your comments with our Chef and restaurant manager and I can assure you that your feed back has not been ignored and will be used to make our in-room dining experience better. I also apologize that you feel our menu does not represent good value; however, your comparison of our menu to a fast food outlet is unfair and unjust.

With regard to the cleaning of our front entry doors, I can ensure you that these doors and windows are cleaned multiple times daily and as you can appreciate see lots of traffic. I am also pleased to report that all exterior windows in the hotel from top to bottom were just cleaned last week. Understanding that we need to provide that positive `first impression` we have recognized that our front entry doors need to be replaced and I can confirm with you that this is a project in our plan to complete in the near future.

We have many great things happening here at The Explorer Hotel and we look forward to you experiencing it on your future visits in town. All the best and have a great summer!

Best regards,

Jamie Bolduc
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

room was very hot and you cannot control room temperature. Food was "okay" but overpriced for what you get. Staff was friendly and very curteous, though I did not enjoy one individual I assume was management.. very unprofessional to treat staff so terribly in front of guests (like myself) especially right at the font desk.. all in all probably the best yellowknife has to offer!! We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrKmanson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Good morning MrKmanson,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit and review. I apologize that your room was uncomfortable and that you felt our menu was overpriced. It is my hope that someone from our guest services team was able to assist you with the room temperature controls. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the staff; however, your concern of 'unprofessional' dealings by possibly a management person with staff, is deeply concerning to me and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Our staff are our greatest asset, therefore such treatment is completely unacceptable. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience, via by e-mail or telephone.

Yours in Hospitality,

Jamie Bolduc
General Manager
gm@explorerhotel.ca
800.661.0892

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Absolutely fine for Yellowknife with a helpful staff, but mediocre food. Rooms have spectacular views but are a little tired.
Very dry air, but that's likely inevitable given winter climate

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KjartanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas P, Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. We thank you for staying with us when you were in Yellowknife, and we look forward to you staying with us again in the future. We are undergoing renovations now, so hopefully your next stay will be that much more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you decide to stay with us again. We can guarentee that your stay will be most enjoyable.


Naresh,
operations@explorerhotel.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Initially we got checked into a room that already had people in it - not a huge deal - then the rooms have heat you can't adjust so it was uncomfortably hot at night - when the people return from the lights tours at all hours of the morning they were very noisey - the vending machines were empty - the tv remote did not work and and finally I could not use the gym because the door to get into it was broken and was not fixed again before I left. Combined I would probably not recommend this hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jnet400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas P, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

I would like to thank you for your response.

We are very sorry for the inconviences that occured during your stay with us.

We have looked into these issues and they have been rectified.

We would like you to contact us directly if you are planning to visit Yellowknife in the future. We would ensure that your stay with us would be most comfortable.

Once again we apologize greatly.

Douglas. A .Pears CHA
gm@explorerhotel.ca

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

High- end luxury for Yellowknife! Clean, friendly staff, great restaurant. We moved here after suffering one night at Chateau Nova. We were given an 8th floor room facing the Great Slave Lake, with beautiful views. The ravens outside the windows were an added treat as they glided the winds close to the building. I recommend this place with highest honors!

Room Tip: Stay off the second floor unless you are a smoker. And, king-size beds are truly KING-sized!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizardHntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

The Explorer Hotel is one of the top hotels in the City. It is often busy and can be quite expensive ($165/night for a conference rate). It is a short walk from downtown. The hotel is well-maintained and comfortable -- and is as standard as they come. Do not expect any northern frills or exceptional elements. The restaurant is okay, but less than compelling The rooms are comfortable, clean and spacious. The Internet worked poorly, however, and was a huge inconvenience. There was a decent business centre, however, where the Internet was more reliable.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

Great hospitality! Room was great and well cleaned. Two little irritants,
It was very warm and you can't turn down the thermostat or open the window. Also, the plumbing needs a bit of work. Very noisy when water being used in the next room. Service and food was very good. Enjoyed the lounge a couple of times. Will book again if I go back to Yellowknife.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cdorais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
59 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
291 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
243 reviews
1.3 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel

Address: 4825 49th Avenue | Box 7000, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range: £126 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing