We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large but noisy rooms”
Review of Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Explorer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Large but noisy rooms”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Pluses: Large rooms, centrally located, restaurant has both good food and good layout

Negatives: (1) No A/C. I realize that a hotel in Yellowknife would only need A/C for a small part of the year but I was theer on canada day weekend and room was too warm to sleep in and theer was no way to cool it doen (windows don't open). If you're theer in the summer, make sure to keep blinds closed during teh day because if heat gets in, there is no way for it to get out.

(2) Noise from adjacent rooms travels.. With no ventilation to mask outside noise, sound from hallways and other rooms travels into room. I was woken up at 3 AM (despite wearing earplugs) by my neighbours continuing their party from the bar into their room.Rooms definitely need better sound insulation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Warren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear WarrenL,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. Your feedback is very important to us and we appreciate your comments. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our central location, large rooms and your restaurant experience. I do apologize however, that you had an issue with your in room air conditioning. I also apologize for the noise your experienced in your room. As a point of clarification for our fellow readers, our hotel is fully airconditioned both in room and common spaces. I am sorry that we were unable to correct this for you while you were here. Your point on keeping the blinds closed is a great tip, as our building this time of year gets about 18 hours of direct sunlight each day. To close, as our lounge is closed by 1am, I assume your neighbours were coming from an outside bar. Regardless, we do have 24 hour security and would have been happy to resolve this for you. Our goal is for all of our guests to be comfortable and have a great night's rest.

Best regards and we look forward to seeing you again.

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    202
    85
    14
    7
See reviews for
53
82
37
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2012

This place would be very good even in the south. It's well appointed, clean, quiet and had good service, accommodating of our unique requests. The views are very nice and is only a three block walk to the middle of downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advisetrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Good morning advisetrip,

Thank you for your recent visit and great review. We appreciate your patronage and feedback.

Cheers,

Jamie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawson Creek, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 July 2012

had to phone daily for bath towels and or hand towels...no grab bars in the shower and bath tubs...very heavy bed throws made it like sleeping in a straight jacket..tv sets are about 30 years old..shower water turns hot and cold with flushing of toilets ..noises from adjacent rooms included flushing toilets..showers running and heavy footsteps. no daily newspaper no bathroom fan...

Room Tip: very little good lodging in the town of yellowknife
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heather b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Good afternoon heatherb,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit with us and appreciate the time you took to complete your review. I do apologize for the short comings you experienced during your visit. I am happy to inform you that we are continually upgrading our hotel and have a plan in place to replace both our televisions and bedding in the near future. If I could ask you to please reach out to me and let me know what room you were in, I will ensure that our maintenance staff looks into the water temperature issue in your room. This is not normal and I would like to ensure this is fixed so it does not inconvenience another guest. I aplogize again and look forward to you visiting us again.

Best regards,

Jamie Bolduc
General Manager
gm@explorerhotel.ca
800.661.0892 ext 7149
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This was one of those trips where when it was originally proposed I wondered why in the world would I go there yet I came home and afterward and was pleasantly surprised. In terms of where you are at this is as good as it gets for there. The staff was friendly and helpful but there was limited amenities and options for dining. Was quite expensive but had the most unbelievable time fishing up there and would highly recommend it. One problem that seemed quite common was the temperature controls in the room. Although my room was very comfortable a number of the group I was with said that their room was not.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelly17332
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Dear Nelly17332,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. We are glad to hear that we exceeded your expections. I will be sure to share your positive comments about our staff with them, as they are certainly our greatest asset. I am sorry to hear that you felt there were limited amenities and dining options; however, beciase we are a full service hotel with multiple dining options, I didn't want to falsely assume you were talking about the hotel directly. I also apologize that some of the delegates of your group may have had issues with the temperature in their room, but I am certainly glad that your room was comfortable. Not offer an excuse, but the rapid change in climate in Yellowknife, does at time offer us it's challenges.

All the best and have a wonderful summer!

Jamie Bolduc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Simpson, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I've been to this hotel on several trips, about 12 stays ranging from 1-14 nights.

The consistency of the bad service from room service is astonishing. Burned food, charged 4 lattes when wanted 4 shots of espresso etc...(I seem to get that often). I have tried several dishes, all over priced and it's better and fastert to order from the local KFC!

Location is OK if you NEED to be downtown, otherwise not very pleasant, poor shopping and back alleys not always safe.

Rooms are ok and clean but can SOMEBODY clean the main front glass doors!!!?? They have been filthy for months, it's summer now, no excuses!

If you enjoy B&B you might be lucky, otherwise for being the Diamond Capital of North America, the Explorer could smarten up!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bvaudry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2012
Good morning Bvaudry,

Thank you for your recent visit and review. We would like to thank you for your business and continued loyalty. I apologize for your `sub-par` room service experience, as this is certainly not representative of the dining experience we wish to provide. I have discussed your comments with our Chef and restaurant manager and I can assure you that your feed back has not been ignored and will be used to make our in-room dining experience better. I also apologize that you feel our menu does not represent good value; however, your comparison of our menu to a fast food outlet is unfair and unjust.

With regard to the cleaning of our front entry doors, I can ensure you that these doors and windows are cleaned multiple times daily and as you can appreciate see lots of traffic. I am also pleased to report that all exterior windows in the hotel from top to bottom were just cleaned last week. Understanding that we need to provide that positive `first impression` we have recognized that our front entry doors need to be replaced and I can confirm with you that this is a project in our plan to complete in the near future.

We have many great things happening here at The Explorer Hotel and we look forward to you experiencing it on your future visits in town. All the best and have a great summer!

Best regards,

Jamie Bolduc
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012 via mobile

room was very hot and you cannot control room temperature. Food was "okay" but overpriced for what you get. Staff was friendly and very curteous, though I did not enjoy one individual I assume was management.. very unprofessional to treat staff so terribly in front of guests (like myself) especially right at the font desk.. all in all probably the best yellowknife has to offer!! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrKmanson4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamie B, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 12 June 2012
Good morning MrKmanson,

I would like to thank you for your recent visit and review. I apologize that your room was uncomfortable and that you felt our menu was overpriced. It is my hope that someone from our guest services team was able to assist you with the room temperature controls. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the staff; however, your concern of 'unprofessional' dealings by possibly a management person with staff, is deeply concerning to me and I would welcome the opportunity to discuss this with you further. Our staff are our greatest asset, therefore such treatment is completely unacceptable. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience, via by e-mail or telephone.

Yours in Hospitality,

Jamie Bolduc
General Manager
gm@explorerhotel.ca
800.661.0892
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Absolutely fine for Yellowknife with a helpful staff, but mediocre food. Rooms have spectacular views but are a little tired.
Very dry air, but that's likely inevitable given winter climate

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KjartanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Douglas P, Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you very much for your comment. We thank you for staying with us when you were in Yellowknife, and we look forward to you staying with us again in the future. We are undergoing renovations now, so hopefully your next stay will be that much more comfortable. Please do not hesitate to contact me if you decide to stay with us again. We can guarentee that your stay will be most enjoyable.


Naresh,
operations@explorerhotel.ca
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
43 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
269 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
1.3 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel

Property: Explorer Hotel
Address: 4825 49th Avenue | Box 7000, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing