We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”
Review of Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Explorer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Victoria, British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I recently visited Yellowknife for a conference and we were booked into this hotel. Everything was great. Very quick check in and staff were quite friendly. I had a beautiful view from my room. Beds were incredibly comfortable and the room was spacious. Nice touch with the chocolate on my pillow the first night too. We had a very nice breakfast buffet each day and had dinner in the restaurant one evening that was very good. Staff easily managed our group of 50. Internet access was reliable and included with the room. Easy walking into town and lots of trails nearby to explore.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Until then,

Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    203
    85
    14
    7
See reviews for
54
82
38
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My first trip to Yellowknife, and this hotel is well located, has a good restaurant, and is very pleasant. The room was good, spacious, and had a good internet service included. Everything a business hotel should be. It isn't modern, and the windows are a bit small, but has been nicely maintained and can be recommended for any stays in the city

Room Tip: They offer smoking and non-smoking. Mine was the latter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Explorer Hotel during your visit to Yellowknife. We take pride in our hospitality and we're delighted you enjoyed all the services offered on property.
We look forward to seeing you again.
Until then

Karl H. Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

In Yellowknife for work, meeting hotel was the Explorer. Fairly standard hotel (apart from the 10' stuffed polar bear in the lobby), wireless worked well, great view over the town from my room on the 8th floor. Staff helpful and friendly. Insisted on re-stocking the coffee in room with decaf which was unfortunate..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSMunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 6 September 2013
Thank you for writing a review and for sharing your comments with us. We're happy to hear you enjoyed your visit at the Explorer Hotel. We look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes,

Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
177 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Location no. 2 during the Canada trip was Yellowknife and the Explorer Hotel is the place to go.
A pleasant experience by Canadian North and the classic 737-200 Combi plane was the way to reach Yellowknife. A free shuttle is offered, called the hotel by the public phone from the airport and waited, waited, waited till a second call and it seems something goes wrong, the shuttle arrived, but the driver doesn´t know something about our request. Well, it was in the late morning and the airport is an interesting place with all that special planes coming and going, ok so far.
A nice welcome from the young woman at the desk, the room, top floor as requested is ready and that´s finally good for us. Well maintained, spacious, clean and a nice view for the lakes.
KFC is down the street and also a recently opened supermarket.
WLAN is free and works with a good connection.
The tourist office is around the next corner where they offer crusier bikes for free, now that´s something for us and well recommended to have a ride around town and the lakes.
A well nights sleep, no noise and ready for breakfast. Not on the rate, 15.00 Dollars is ok in the end with the offers. Late checkout is also granted with the shuttle running as scheduled this time.
The usual question for the downsides?. Not the hotels fault, but to see all these alcohol addicted local people enjoying the warm weather outdoor also around the hotel is for sure something special and not in a positive way.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLIEGER67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for writing a review on your recent stay at the Explorer Hotel. We hope you enjoyed your travels to the area and thank you for including us in your travel plans.

We appreciate your feedback and will be sure to review your comments with the bus shuttle company. We value all of our guests.



Mit freundlichen Gruessen aus Yellowknife

Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We got one of the last rooms available when we arrived but we lucked out, up to the top floor (8) facing out away from downtown--WHAT A VIEW! The checkin was seemless and friendly. Our room was more than adequate and nicely appointed although the wooden tv stand with doors plus the old tube TV have seen better days and probably should be upgraded. We ate that evening in the lounge with most of the main menu from their fancy restaurant available to us. They had a nice selection of import beers and our meals were very good. All in all, a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: We liked being high up on the back strictly because of the view we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabonds60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences during your recent stay at our hotel. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay and appreciate your comments on accommodation, services, amenities ( new TVs / furniture are on the way) and location specific values. We take pride in all what we do to keep our important guests happy and content at all times.

We look forward to welcome you again to our property for a yet another pleasant experience. Best regards.
Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I find the Explorer Hotel to be good hotel, but prices are a bit high. If you look closely, you will notice that the hotel requires repair and upgrade. Anyhow, my room was of good size, well furnished and reasonably clean. The only problem was that the house keeping storage room was right next door, so there's quite a bit of noise every morning. It would be bad when you spend the whole night watching Aurora and trying to catch some sleep during the day. You can hear the elevators from my room too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vincent N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 23 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed the location and that the Explorer Hotel suited your needs so well. I apologize about the issue with your room and will bring this to the attention of our Housekeeper. Thank you for the great review of our Restaurant Traders Grill

We look forward to your next visit.

Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We recollcated here in the depths of winter, having been put in the Days Inn by our travel agent. We should have known immediately this was the best place in town as the aircrews all got off the airport bus here.

Good rooms, quiet, good location. We didn't eat at the hotel as we were up early or out late looking at the lights or dog-sledding.

If you want a hotel, i think this is the best choice, otherwise a B&B will almost certainly be better than a number of the other options.

Room Tip: You may be able to see the Northern Lights from a room overlooking the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonChrispy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear Traveler - Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on-line. It was a pleasure reading your review on your February stay with us, and I'm happy that you had an enjoyable time
We look forward to seeing you again.
Best wishes,
Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.6 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
46 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
177 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
1.3 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel

Property: Explorer Hotel
Address: 4825 49th Avenue | Box 7000, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing