We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Explorer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
Baltimore, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is a definitely dated, but they are in the process of renovating. They offer excellent service given the outdated nature of the rooms and bathrooms. The beds were extremely comfortable. They also offer free wi-fi.
Room service was GREAT!
The hotel location is perfect for downtown Yellowknife.
The fine-dining restaurant in the hotel is pricey, but very nice for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. The views are beautiful (especially if it snows).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACarolM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you enjoyed your time at the Explorer Hotel. We're happy you enjoyed our location, on-site amenities and spacious guestrooms. We hope to welcome you back again soon, whether traveling for business or leisure. Kind regards, Karl H. Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    197
    83
    14
    6
See reviews for
53
78
37
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hong kong
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

the time i booked the hotel, i found that it's unusually expensive as a hotel in a small city like yellowknife. when i reached there, i realized that everything was expensive in northwest territories due to the location n the small population.

friendly n efficient service, good size room with a view, nice beddings and pillows, a real 5-star hotel in a small city.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carly_wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Thank you for writing a review and staying with us at the Explorer Hotel in Yellowknife. We're happy you enjoyed all the amenities on property and our proximity to everything in our small town. We hope your travels bring you back to the Yellowknife area again. Until then, Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

I think we chose the one week of really bad weather YK got all summer. We arrived on our motorcycles soaking wet, cold and miserable and all we wanted was a hot shower. We did not realize just how expensive this place was. Even the hamburger, while good, thinned my wallet.
The room was top notch with many nice touches but my friend and I moved to another hotel just because of the cost. Front desk service was very good while registering and when asking for general info. Bear in mind that most items in YK cost more than south of 60. I'm sure you have got the message. This is not a place to get a bargain but for quality I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Explorer Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your review . We look forward to welcoming you back to the Explorer Hotel in the near future. Regards The Explorer Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Québec, Qc, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel as a good look. You have a good view of the region from probably all the rooms. I was there for 2 nights. The bathroom could have been cleaner. The room was big enough with desk to work (not in my previous hotel in this city), flat screen, etc... it's a good confortable hotel room. The restaurant in the hotel is probably one of the best in the city: good food, good ambiance, good people. There is a free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank salutzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Explorer Hotel. It is with comments like yours that help us drive to exceed your expectations in comfort, cleanliness and service.

Thank you again for your comments.

Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

Without doubt if you are staying at Yellowknife, this is going to be your best option. Lots of mining related people were checking in and out while we were there, and I'm sure with their regular visits here they would have worked out if there was someone else better! The rooms themselves were nice, though I do recommend making sure you are away from the lifts. Our first room had the constant whirring sound of lifts being hoisted up and down, but as soon as we raised this with reception, they gave us a new room which was perfectly quiet.

The town itself is pretty basic so the nice hotel was quite a contrast. The food in the restaurant had its moments, with the beef ravioli being a highlight, but overall this is in a place you would come to for a culinary experience. The rooms were clean, service was good and friendly, and there was ample parking. Recommended.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank glinkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
I would like to thank you for your recent visit and review. We certainly appreciate your comments and praise. We look forward to seeing you again sometime!
Regards

Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whati
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

When I'm traveling. I prefer to stay at the explorer hotel, nice accommodation and the rooms are great and clean, overall I didn't like the old tube television which was a bummer because we couldn't see much of anything, but I do like to come back and to look forward to seeing the upgraded on television.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mirandazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you had a great stay and we look forward to your next visit, new 42 " TV's will be here. Until next time,

Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
147 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

After spending two nights at the Days Inn, this was a welcome change. The beds are pillow top and VERY comfortable. The pillows are fat and soft. My only complaints are, I had the smallest room on the floor - stay away from the rooms ending in 10 - they are TINY. I felt ripped off by this.

I found garbage between the chair and the wall (not behind the chair, to the side where it was angled into a corner). Not impressed with that and it drops my cleanliness rating by one because otherwise the room was clean. The bathroom has a great shower - lots of water and a nice shower head that gives a great spray. Towels are fat and rough - just how I love them.

Rooms are quiet. Can't hear a thing from other rooms, however the self closing doors are LOUD and you can hear everyone on the floor close their doors.

Room service was horrible. I ordered the chicken skeweres. They were NOTHING like described - no pineapple, no red onion. The chicken was underdone and I felt ill after.

Friendly staff and a nice lounge.

I can't comment on value as I wasn't paying so have no idea what the room cost.

Room Tip: Stay away from the rooms ending in 10. They are TINY! Look at the map on the back of the room door...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SandratheScripty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this review, 20 September 2013
Thank you very much for your comments. It is always nice to hear nice reviews from our guests regarding our staff! We are very sorry however, to hear that we did not meet your expectations concerning the Chicken Skewers . The pineapple and red onions are together in a homemade Pickle Relish.

We hope your travels bring you back to Yellowknife again. Until then, Karl H Schaefers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.6 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel

Property: Explorer Hotel
Address: 4825 49th Avenue | Box 7000, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing