We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yellowknife - Explorer Hotel”
Review of Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Explorer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Nice, comfortable, clean hotel but very expensive. The hotel staff was friendly and knowledgeable (for the most part). Food in the restaurant is really good but overpriced for what it is.
A plus is the hotel is eco friendly and does recycle.
Walking distance to restaurants, drug store, grocery store and even tourist places such as old town. The hotel is very, very dry (was here in November) and the hotel does not have any humidifiers if you need one.
Only sad (and disturbing) thing was there is a beautiful (but dead) polar bear in the front lobby. If you are a person who loves/respects animals – don’t stay at this hotel. Not nice to see life taken away from a beautiful (and threatened) animal just to sit in an expensive hotel lobby. I heard a few comments in reference to this from some patrons. Very, very sad to see.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doni064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our location in downtown Yellowknife, spacious guestrooms and friendly staff. We hope to welcome you back. regards Karl H. Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (443)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

262 - 268 of 443 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

The hotel is a definitely dated, but they are in the process of renovating. They offer excellent service given the outdated nature of the rooms and bathrooms. The beds were extremely comfortable. They also offer free wi-fi.
Room service was GREAT!
The hotel location is perfect for downtown Yellowknife.
The fine-dining restaurant in the hotel is pricey, but very nice for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor. The views are beautiful (especially if it snows).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACarolM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you enjoyed your time at the Explorer Hotel. We're happy you enjoyed our location, on-site amenities and spacious guestrooms. We hope to welcome you back again soon, whether traveling for business or leisure. Kind regards, Karl H. Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

the time i booked the hotel, i found that it's unusually expensive as a hotel in a small city like yellowknife. when i reached there, i realized that everything was expensive in northwest territories due to the location n the small population.

friendly n efficient service, good size room with a view, nice beddings and pillows, a real 5-star hotel in a small city.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carly_wong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Thank you for writing a review and staying with us at the Explorer Hotel in Yellowknife. We're happy you enjoyed all the amenities on property and our proximity to everything in our small town. We hope your travels bring you back to the Yellowknife area again. Until then, Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

I think we chose the one week of really bad weather YK got all summer. We arrived on our motorcycles soaking wet, cold and miserable and all we wanted was a hot shower. We did not realize just how expensive this place was. Even the hamburger, while good, thinned my wallet.
The room was top notch with many nice touches but my friend and I moved to another hotel just because of the cost. Front desk service was very good while registering and when asking for general info. Bear in mind that most items in YK cost more than south of 60. I'm sure you have got the message. This is not a place to get a bargain but for quality I do recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Explorer Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your review . We look forward to welcoming you back to the Explorer Hotel in the near future. Regards The Explorer Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

The hotel as a good look. You have a good view of the region from probably all the rooms. I was there for 2 nights. The bathroom could have been cleaner. The room was big enough with desk to work (not in my previous hotel in this city), flat screen, etc... it's a good confortable hotel room. The restaurant in the hotel is probably one of the best in the city: good food, good ambiance, good people. There is a free shuttle to the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank salutzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Explorer Hotel. It is with comments like yours that help us drive to exceed your expectations in comfort, cleanliness and service.

Thank you again for your comments.

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Without doubt if you are staying at Yellowknife, this is going to be your best option. Lots of mining related people were checking in and out while we were there, and I'm sure with their regular visits here they would have worked out if there was someone else better! The rooms themselves were nice, though I do recommend making sure you are away from the lifts. Our first room had the constant whirring sound of lifts being hoisted up and down, but as soon as we raised this with reception, they gave us a new room which was perfectly quiet.

The town itself is pretty basic so the nice hotel was quite a contrast. The food in the restaurant had its moments, with the beef ravioli being a highlight, but overall this is in a place you would come to for a culinary experience. The rooms were clean, service was good and friendly, and there was ample parking. Recommended.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank glinkot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

I would like to thank you for your recent visit and review. We certainly appreciate your comments and praise. We look forward to seeing you again sometime!
Regards

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

When I'm traveling. I prefer to stay at the explorer hotel, nice accommodation and the rooms are great and clean, overall I didn't like the old tube television which was a bummer because we couldn't see much of anything, but I do like to come back and to look forward to seeing the upgraded on television.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mirandazoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you had a great stay and we look forward to your next visit, new 42 " TV's will be here. Until next time,

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.1 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
67 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
296 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
1.3 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
30 reviews
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel

Address: 4825 49 Avenue, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range: £125 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bringing together all the best of Canada’s diamond capital and world’s best Aurora viewing destination The Explorer Hotel in Yellowknife is your natural starting point for your business or leisure travel adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing