We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“all you expect from a very nice hotel”
Review of Explorer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Explorer Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Reviewed 29 March 2014

The hotel room is clean and with all the usual amenities you expect from a good hotel. Service is all good. We left very early at 4am and they have coffee and muffins in the lobby so that we do not have to starve going to the airport.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tcicccec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Until next time,

Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (428)
There are newer reviews for Explorer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 428 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Overnighted here in both directions for 1 night each way. Free shuttle to the hotel from the airport and a short 5 min trip was a nice start. The hotel and restaurant are in very good shape and the night club is excellent. The staff where extremely polite and very helpful. It is a short 2 blks walk to downtown, so very easy to go and check out the sights. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It sounds like you enjoyed your time at the Explorer Hotel. We're happy you enjoyed our location, on-site amenities and spacious guestrooms. We hope to welcome you back again soon, whether traveling for business or leisure. Kind regards, Karl H. Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stayed at the Explorer which was booked for us by North Star Adventures. The beds were very comfortable for a good night sleep. We had great breakfasts every morning at Traders Grill in the hotel. The have a great variety of breakfast selections. We also had a delightful dinner one evening. The staff was very helpful and also allowed us a late checkout as our flight did not leave until later in the day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until next time, Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We stayed here one night while in transit to Vancouver Island. I can't comment on the restaurant as it was valentines and no seating was available, the hotel did advise that room service was definitely still available.

Rooms were comfortable and perfect for our family of five. Courtesy shuttle available both to and from the airport.

Will stay here again in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you for your visit and review. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us . All the best and we look forward to being your hotel of choice when in Yellowknife. Regards Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed there overnight for a business function in Yellowknife. It was clean, the staff were very helpful, and sociable. We had breakfast in the morning at the Traders - it was a good solid breakfast, nothing special, but good solid fare. The rooms were quiet, and look like they have been recently redone.
We would definitely return and stay here when back in Yellowknife.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank StobKent1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until next time, Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

great location,close to many places(shoppers,supermarket,restaurant and visitor center), great view also.But the bathroom water temperature is unstable, it goes super hot and super cold constantly during my shower. and the room is full of smell if smoke(someone smoked at other room), which is very annoying. besides water issue and smoke issue, it is pretty good

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimchen0109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We're happy to hear you enjoyed our location in downtown Yellowknife, I am very sorry about the smoke issue , we are 100 % smoke free Hotel.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Karl H. Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

This hotel, atop a small hill, is about a block from town centre where you can find many restaurants and shops. The clean rooms are spacious and updated but the bathrooms are tiny and not so updated. There is good wifi connection. The tv in my room was old and the picture quality was lacking (orangy and couldn't be fixed by adjusting the contrast, etc). There is a small bar off the main lobby that offers some munchies along with a variety of drink options. There is also a good restaurant. If you are in a rush, you should allow time as the service, while friendly, is a a bit slow at breakfast (I've eaten here for breakfast several times and the service is generally slower at this time). The front desk staff is friendly and efficient. There is a shuttle to/from the airport and timed for flight arrivals/departures. It's a good choice for a few nights.

Room Tip: Rooms at back face lake (in the distance) and quieter as away from the front entrance/parking lot. F...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 45-nomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karl S, General Manager at Explorer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Thank you! We were absolutely delighted to read your review of your stay at the Explorer Hotel. We take pride in our hotel and we're happy you enjoyed every aspect of your visit with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Until next time, Karl H Schaefers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.6 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
287 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
238 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
1.3 mi away
Stanton Suites Hotel
Stanton Suites Hotel
#5 of 10 in Yellowknife
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Explorer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Explorer Hotel

Address: 4825 49th Avenue | Box 7000, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2R3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range: £121 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Explorer Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Explorer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Explorer Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing