We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blachford Lake Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“great visit”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

my wife and i were celebrating our anniversary at the lodge. my friend visited the lodge earlier and highly recommended it to me. our main purpose of visiting the lodge was to see the northern lights. even before the trip i had numerous conversations with antje who helped me with the decision to book the trip. and was i glad that she did. this place is a real gem in the middle of nowhere!! the trip started with a float plane out of yellowknife. it was a real fun flight as i never been on a float plane. i was really surprised how smooth the flight was. the view was amazing. after about 1/2 hour we landed and i saw the lodge the very first time. we were greated by mike the owner(a super nice person), and a crew of student volunteers that showed us around the lodge. the lodge quite rustic, but also has many modern amenities. we were shown our room in the lodge, sunset 2. it was a rather small room, but very cosy. the food at the lodge was cooked by carmen the chef. the meals were very good. wholesome food, with simple ingredients. my wife and i enjoyed the food very much. always, there was a tray of fruit, fresh chocolate chip cookies,and coconut chocolate squares available. coffee, and different types of teas at anytime was also very convenient. we were also surprised by a cake that chantelle baked for us and a bottle of wine to celebrate our anniversary. we stayed 2 nights there. in hind site i wished we could have stayed a few more days since the lodge was so beautiful. the first night the skies were clear but there was no aurora. I thought for sure we would see it that night since the aurora was at a moderate level. the next night was supposed to be cloudy so i thought for sure i was not going to see the aurora. but for us, we came to realize that even if we didn't see it, we were still happy with our decision to come to blachford. it just gave us an excuse to come again another time. But late that evening the aurora came out at 2am. it was amazing to see the aurora for the very first time. Kirsten the late night staff went upstairs to wake everyone up that wanted to see the lights. she was so kind to come out with me to take photos. i was so estatic that i saw the aurora that I couldn't sleep that night. next day, its the best to wake up to freshy baked breads, and crispy bacon!! the lodge is not very fancy, but the showers were amazing. high pressured very hot showers!! another activity that we did was fishing with chris. he is an amazing guide that brings you to the hot fishing spots. we don't fish, but he gave us lessons on how to do it. he has a real passion for fishing. this lodge also hires volunteers from all over the world. we met people from australia, france, sweden, japan etc... my wife and i kept commenting on how mature and responsible these volunteers were. many times we would have interesting talks in the lounge with each other, or by the campfire. overall, we had a great time at this lodge. everyone was so inviting and friendly. the food was delicious, especially after a day of activities. its really a great place to go to when trying to see the lights. highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: all the rooms were very nice, but the sunrise 1 and 2 were the largest rooms that are reserved for g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mingyau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeFreeland, Owner at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for your heartfelt review Sabine and Robi. I am so glad you had such a great time. I am just sorry that I am not able to respond in your own language!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    6
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
25
41
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

It's not easy to get to, but well worth the trip! Everything was great from the responsiveness of Antje during the reservation process to the informative tour upon arrival. The all-volunteer staff were so very helpful. In particular, Kirsten helped us get our camera settings just right so that we could take home pictures of the aurora. Robin taught us basic canoeing skills and Carmen and Norma made outstanding meals. The best blueberry pancakes and cinnamon rolls ever! Chantal's artisan breads were also a treat. She really put a lot of care and effort into her "creations."

The rooms were rustic, with the beds not especially comfortable, but it is a "lodge" after all. The shared restrooms were not a huge inconvenience and were well-stocked with communal amenities. There were so many scenic, comfortable places to just hang out as well as many options for activities. We enjoyed the tipi area and witnessed a stunning sunset that rivaled the aurora.

Many reviews comment on the people and service being a differentiator. This is especially true for Blachford. We don't need or expect staff members to "wait" on us. We much prefer engaged, and genuinely helpful people who enjoy what they do. Thanks to each of the staff for making our experience memorable.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sunrise room based on a Tripadvisor recommendation and we loved our room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Ammenaties are good and there's no doubt the Northern Lights viewing from here is spectacular. However, there's a big issue that will spoil the trip for many people. The management here rates corporate visitors above individulas hard earned cash. The lodge where you eat and some even sleep are prioritised for corporations. Our own experince involved being told not to go to the dining/communal area due to a corporate meeting. Then our breakfast was spoiled by one very ignorant company visitor seeing fit to wander over to our table and close the blind shutting out all sun so they could see their slideshow. Yes, their meeting was right in the middle of the "communal" area that EVERYONE has paid for. This went on for several days. We weren't the only very irritated people by the lack of awareness or willingness of the owner to do anyhting whatsoever about this situation. No compensation, no alternatives, no effort.
This was a topic of conversation amongst several of the guests and we, all fair paying guests, commented on. We suggest that if they want to hold corporate events they should have their own seperate facility with projector, speakers and such so not to disturb fair paying individuals. We left having seen some amazing northern lightsm both from the lake, and interestingly from a 10minute drive from Yellowknife on our last night before heading home.
Stay in Yellowknife, hire a car, drive a few minutes out away from the town lights and park up. you'll see everything and more, without the massive cost of the lodge and without ignorant management and corporate visitors. They even kept an eighty year old lady awake late into the night by using a microphone and speakers so the speaker could be heard.....from a maximum of 20ft away. Seriously? Would I ever go again.....not a chance. I've wised up and the trip can be done for less than half the cost. Incidentaly, the best photographs and video I got was not at the lake. Save your money, have more food choices in Yellowknife and much less disturbance.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the lodge at any cost. You stand a good chance of being kept awake if groups are s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeFreeland, Manager at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 12 October 2013
I am extremely sorry to read of your negative experience at Blachford. Thank you for taking the time to raise the issues mentioned, and giving me the opportunity to address your concerns.

I am particularly sorry that you felt the corporate party was prioritised over individual guests. We pride ourselves on giving all guests a personalised service, without discrimination, and something clearly went wrong if your party felt marginalised by the group. We usually find that group meetings and individual guests co-exist without problem, but in the light of your comments, I am looking at making changes to our practice. This will include disallowing the use of microphones and speakers as I wholly agree that they are unnecessary, given the size of the lodge. We do have the capacity to divide and close off part of the communal area to ensure privacy and peace where guests and groups have differing needs, and I am taking steps to ensure that this does happen when required in the future. We find that when we do separate the communal area into two sections we receive very positive comments from individuals or couples that can enjoy the smaller space - with its own wood fireplace and great views of the lake. It is the case that occasionally we close the lodge to individual guests during larger conferences or events and it may be that this should have been done during your visit. Without knowing exactly when you visited, I regret that can’t comment more specifically on this, or some of the other points you raise.

I am sorry too that you found the condition of the cabin to be unsatisfactory. I do not know if you brought this to attention of the staff and if so, and it was not addressed, then I can only say that was unacceptable service, for which, again, I apologise.

I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your complaints directly, and to see whether a further visit might be arranged, so you have the opportunity to enjoy the great experience reported by the majority of our guests. If you would like to have this discussion, please telephone or email the office to fix a time when I may contact you.

Once again, thank you for bringing this to my attention, apologies for your disappointment and I am pleased to note that you did have some pleasurable time while in Yellowknife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Blachford is one of the finest destinations in the North. Winter or summer, the lodge is spectacular. Rooms are a little noisy, and the food has dropped in quality a bit over the years, (though still enjoyable), but that is all overshadowed by the loveliness of the spot.

Mike, and the team at Blachford maintain a comfortable, welcoming place that is sustainable, and while off the grid, complete with amenities including an outdoor, year round hot tub. Composting toilets can throw some people off, but they were fine for me. No smell of any kind.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Aurora rooms cost more, but with a view like that, they ought to! Cabins are more private but lac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank z2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MikeFreeland, Manager at Blachford Lake Lodge, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Many thanks for this valuable feedback. We appreciate in particular your comments about noise. We are conscious this may occasionally be an issue, especially when aurora-watching guests may want to sleep earlier in the evening, in order to get up to see a late show of northern lights. We are considering introducing a midnight curfew for the hot tub and any comments on this proposal would be welcome. Our food continues to attract rave comments in the guest book, so we are sorry that your last visit was a little disappointing for you. We are very pleased that despite your reservations, you still chose to give us a five star rating overall and look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saturna Island, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I have had the pleasure to visit Blachford several times over the last 25 plus years; by snow machine and float plane. It has grown from one trapper's cabin to several cabins, along with a spectacular log building which serves as the focal point of the property.
It's hard to imagine how much work it must have been to cut and move all the logs to build the main lodge building. Some of the logs are over two feet in diameter.
The Aurora Lights came out on August 3rd which were exciting to see so early in the season.
Hats off to the owner, Mike, for a building a first class resort in the wilderness.

Room Tip: Stay in a cabin instead of the main lodge. You have more privacy while spending time in the lodge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

I had the pleasure of escorting a client to Blachford for a site visit. While my visit was brief, it was amazing and left me wanting more. We stayed in a cabin that was well equipped and very comfy! Mike, the owner, took us on a scenic and very informative 5 km hike and I caught three northern pike in just 30 mins simply casting off the boat dock. The meals were quality and there is plenty of food. the morning boat tour to view eagles and the "royal island" where Kate and William spent their honeymoon was a highlight. I cannot wait to go back and take advantage of the multitude of activities available to guests of the resort!!

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank travelinjack64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Excellent service and staff!! Purpose of the trip was a relaxing girls weekend and that is what we did. They offer many other things like boating, fishing, hiking, etc but did not partake. We suntanned, some of us swam and we all enjoyed the hot tub. The food was great too!!! All in all, it was a great weekend. Plan on coming again in the winter.

Room Tip: I stayed in a cabin, not in the lodge. The cabin was very clean, with double bunk on the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonRStevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
1.0 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.2 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
Bayside Bed & Breakfast
#5 of 23 in Yellowknife
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blachford Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blachford Lake Lodge

Property: Blachford Lake Lodge
Address: Box 1568, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 2P2, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blachford Lake Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blachford Lake Lodge, a family run business for over 30 years, is the only fly-in wilderness resort situated on Blachford Lake (60 miles south-east of Yellowknife). The 25-minute bush plane flight from Yellowknife is often considered as one of the highlights of a trip to Blachford. We pride ourselves on complimenting your northern experience with great food, a friendly and relaxed atmosphere and dedicated customer service. Our winter season (January to April) offers great opportunities to watch the aurora (northern lights), to go snowmobiling, snowshoeing, cross-country skiing, hiking, ice-fishing or simply to relax in the hot tub.Our summer season (June to October) offers great fishing. Canoe or kayak under the midnight sun (June/July) or hike one of the many nature trails. By late summer (mid August) the aurora becomes more visible again and one can watch the northern lights being reflected in the water. Anytime, feel royally when you follow the paths that William and Kate walked during their Royal visit at Blachford Lake Lodge in July 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Blachford Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blachford Lake Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing