We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm & Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yellowknife Polar Suite Guest Room
Ranked #2 of 23 Yellowknife B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Warm & Comfortable”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We went as a couple for a weekend in Yellowknife. The place was very warm and cosy. We loved having our own kitchen, since there is not much choice for eating out in the town (plus it's cold to go out). The location was very good as well, close to the tour bus pick up points and the supermarket. Owner was nice as well.

The only thing is that it's a bit tricky to get the key first. You need to bring a cellphone to be able to reach the owner to get instructions on how to get it. But once this is sorted, it's all fine.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lev100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
30
18
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

6 of us stayed in the 2 bedroom suite for 3 nights - 2 bedrooms with 2 single beds, and a sofa bed in the living room. The clean bathroom comes with towels/shampoo/conditioner/shower jel/hair dryer. We cooked 3 meals with its full sets of cooking utensils (they even have chopsticks/soy sauce/cooking oil). The super friendly owner explained patiently to us about how to start the car in the morning after a cold night, or emergency contact phone numbers that might be needed. Because of its central location in downtown, restaurants, city hall, shopping mall, grocery stores were all within reach, super easy access to old town, ice road, the highway, and airport. With it's reasona

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ANGIE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banff, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 January 2013

The Polar Suite was very excellent choose for me, very sweet room, kitchen and living room. Specially it was clean place. easy cook by yourself. Have high speed internet! I can update my Aurora Photo immediately!!!! In the room, they support traveling book and local information! you can easy found tour information and call to them used the free phone (offer local phone dialing) And near by the downtown, it is convenient, easy to find and in great location. If you just travel alone, best selection for U!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 866_866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2013

Very spacious and clean, easy to find and in great location. It is a subterrain apartment, but that was not a problem at all. Even had plenty of cookng basics in the cupboards, including coffee and tea (and not just the 2 sachets you get at hotels). Supermarket almost across the street and kitchen is fully equipped. Internet worked very well (despite the owner saying there might be problems). Car parking at the rear of the building, including power for motor cable in winter. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michanzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

The place is very clean and quiet. Location is great. We can walk to restaurants, supermarkets within 5 min. Reasonable price for a suite. The landlord is a very nice person. He is professional and respects privacy of the guests. However, English is not his first language, so there was some misunderstanding in the beginning. It took us a while to find the keys, for he was not on site at that time and the email was a little misleading. Anyway, it was a minor problem compared to the comfort of the place. I would recommend this place to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank baaanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

Excellent accomodations>

I have stayed at every hotel and motel in Yellowknife over the past few years.

This is a one bedroom apartment, fully furnished and fully outfitted for housekeeping.

Quiet, clean and convenient to the downtown area.

Best of all $100 per night tax included. This is Yellowknife's best kept secret>

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ethelbert1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

A friend of mine was visiting from Calgary for the Folk on the Rocks and had booked a room at Polar Suites. However when he arrived, the room was not available and there was no other option for him. I had thought they would have helped him to find alternate accommodations but they didn't, he was on his own to find a place and ended up sleeping on someones couch.

I cannot speak into the value, or quality of this location, but there may be an issue with their reservation process

Room Tip: Be careful when booking on busy dates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gordupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PolarSuite, 広報担当マネージャー at Yellowknife Polar Suite Guest Room, responded to this review, 8 August 2012
Thank you for your contribution and I am sorry about his hard days.
I understand about the phone call from unknown number on last month.

Well, I can explain you why it was happen now.
Actually, it was not a overbooking because:
He did not complete booking process.
and, We had an available room that days.

For complete the booking, guests will be need pre-payment.
When some guest send us email for room availability,
We will send back a mail "Yes, these days is available. Do you book a room?" if it is available.
If they sent us back a mail "Yes please", we will send a what they need and how to make a payment transaction.

In this case, we sent back the mail "Yes, these days is available. Do you book a room?", but no response from him almost two month.
So, we thought he do not want it.

He just sent a mail one time to us.
We did not know his name, his contact phone number and he really come to Yellowknife or not.

When he call us, that phone call had noise. I only heard about booking these days. So, I asked him no confirmed booking in these days. I did not know he was already in Yellowknife.

I am sorry about his hard days in Yellowknife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.2 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yellowknife Polar Suite Guest Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yellowknife Polar Suite Guest Room

Property: Yellowknife Polar Suite Guest Room
Address: 5009 48 St, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 1N4, Canada
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Yellowknife
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yellowknife Polar Suite Guest Room 2.5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Polar Suite -Comfort New Suite Room in Downtown Yellowknife-1 or 2 Bedroom Suite, Full Kitchen, Living Room, Full Bath, Coin Laundry, Own Powered Parking . Quiet area but Easy access to downtown center, just 2 min to Banks, Supermarket, Drug Store, Restaurants, Liquor Store, Fast Food, Coffee Shops. Weekly and Monthly Rate available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Yellowknife Polar Suite Guest Room reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing