We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best choice in Yellowknife”
Review of Coast Fraser Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coast Fraser Tower
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Toronto
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“The best choice in Yellowknife”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were in a one bedroom suite on the 13th floor with a good view of Yellowknife Bay. The suite was large and well-furnished with a fully equipped kitchen. It was spotlessly clean and well-maintained. It's about a 7 minute walk or 1 minute drive to the heart of downtown. This was our first time in Yellowknife and our first ttime in a Coast hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packyourbagsyyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctravis50, Director of Sales at Coast Fraser Tower, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Thank you so much Packyourbagsyyz for your amazing TripAdvisor review. We very much appreciate all feedback on Coast Fraser Tower.

Your pictures from and of our property are beautiful, thank you for posting them.

Please let me know if you would like any assistance booking reservations in the future, I would be more than pleased to help you.

Thank you again,

Tammy Travis
867-873-8700
t.travis@coasthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    107
    108
    27
    15
    10
See reviews for
73
49
27
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Burns Lake
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2013

Not really a hotel! Apartment on the far side of town, harder to find, dark parking lot, musty elevator, aged rooms. Helpful staff. Nice continental breakfast, coffee and space. Beautiful views. Large apartment room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canucker2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctravis50, Director of Sales at Coast Fraser Tower, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hello Canucker2010,

Thank you for taking the time to fill out the TripAdvisor review, we truly appreciate you taking the time to do this.

Coast Fraser Tower was once a full apartment building however has been transformed into both an apartment and hotel. All rooms on floors 10 and below were updated in 2010, all mattresses were completely replaced in 2012 and everything on floors 11 - 13 was completely renovated and replaced in 2012 and we are currently working on other projects to further update our rooms and décor.

I am sorry you found our hotel difficult to find with dark parking lots.

Please let me know if you have any questions or would like any assistance in the future.

Thank you

Tammy Travis
867-873-8700
t.travis@coasthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westmount, Canada
Level Contributor
348 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

This is a small-to-mid size hotel, with spacious suites (separate bedroom, living room + kitchenette, and balcony). The rooms are clean, in good repair, with nice bathrooms (nothing special but perfectly fine). Breakfast is a self-serve choice of advanced continental (but not full American style). There is a small fitness centre which works well enough. Situated in a quiet part of town, but nothing is too far in this small town (about 15 min walk to Old Town). Overall, a good, safe choice, for a reasonable price. I liked the spacious rooms and balcony. The best thing I can say is that I would return there the next time in Yellowknife without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the old town, on one of the higher floors (10 to 13) to get the best views. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctravis50, Director of Sales at Coast Fraser Tower, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hello JohnH,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review, everyone at Coast Fraser Tower truly appreciates your feedback.

We are happy to hear you had a lovely stay and would choose to stay with us the next time you visit Yellowknife.

Please do not hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or would like assistance booking any future stays.

Thank you

Tammy Travis
867-873-8700
t.travis@coasthotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Since Coast Hotels are my preference in the smaller cities, decided to book here. We were in town for a wedding and the other guests were all staying at the other "main" hotel in town. Check in was very efficient. We had a one bedroom suite on the 13th floor. Very recently renovated, in fact they were still working on the moldings in the hallway. Extremely large unit - definitely was designed as an apartment. We were only there for 2 nights, but this would be perfect for an extended stay.

Room was very clean and the furniture was all new. Didn't use the kitchen facilities, but it was fully stocked. Continental breakfast was okay. The second morning we went elsewhere for a full breakfast.

If having a full service restaurant on site is important then that would be a negative for this Coast Hotel, but if you have a rental vehicle, you can get elsewhere for food in a very short amount of time.

Room Tip: Higher up gives you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jclassvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctravis50, Director of Sales at Coast Fraser Tower, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Hello JclassVan,

Thank you so much for your wonderful TripAdvisor review, we truly appreciate all of your comments and are so glad you chose to stay with us during your trip to Yellowknife.

Coast Fraser Tower was, at one time, an apartment building, we now have both full time tenants and guests and pride ourself on our quiet, cozy, "home away from home" atmosphere.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or future accommodations you would like to book.

Thank you again
Tammy Travis
Reservations, Sales & Catering.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
140 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This is a great choice for Yellowknife. The suites are spacious, clean and comfortable and feels newly renovated. The king size bed was very comfortable. Desk staff are friendly and helpful.Continental breakfast covers the basics. We stayed at the Yellowknife Inn as well this summer and there is no comparison. The Coast Fraser Tower is worth the extra money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank exgeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctravis50, Director of Sales at Coast Fraser Tower, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Thank you exgeo for your lovely TripAdvisor comment. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Yellowknife.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if you have any questions or would like to book further accommodations.

Your kind words mean so much to us.

Tammy Travis
Reservations, Sales & Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Comfortable, roomy hotel. Desk staff was very welcoming and helpful. When our flight further north to the High Arctic was canceeled due to bad weather they leaned backwards to find us accomodation for another night. Very comfortable beds. We are looking forward to spending another three nights here after our Arctic journey.

Room Tip: View of the Bay - in so many ours of light - is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hlevy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctravis50, Director of Sales at Coast Fraser Tower, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Hello Hlevy15,

Thank you so much for your amazing TripAdvisor review, your words mean so much to us.

It is our pleasure to assist all our guests in any way possible, and assisting you in finding a place to stay is nothing short of what we love to do.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Coast Fraser Tower when you return from your Arctic Journey and can not wait to hear the stories you bring back with you.

Thank you again and please do not hesitate to contact me with any questions or future accommodation requests.

Tammy Travis
Reservations, Sales & Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morrisburg, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2013

I have stayed in this hotel and others in Yellowknife several times. This hotel is my favourite when the weather is not too warm for several reasons: the staff are friendly and always helpful, the gym is nicely appointed (for a small hotel) and not terribly busy, the continental breakfast is always fresh, well-stocked and healthy, and the hotel suites are large and clean. The hotel is in a quite location set apart from the downtown core slightly with a pleasant 5 minute walk to the main strip. Wifi works well here, unlike a more popular location near the grocery store. The only minor downfall I see for this place was that there was no available a/c however the staff were quick to ensure that there was a fan in the room for me. There aren't that many days where a/c is necessary in Yellowknife so this isn't a deal breaker.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake side also have a view of the former gold mine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dihnontourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctravis50, Director of Sales at Coast Fraser Tower, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
Hello dihnontourist,

Your kind words about our staff, building and rooms are very much appreciated and we are so happy you enjoy staying with us at Coast Fraser Tower.

I apologize about our lack of air conditioning however as you mentioned there are not that many hot days in Yellowknife where we believe air conditioning is a necessity. I am so happy to hear our staff were prompt and attentive in bringing you a fan to ensure you were kept cool.

Please do note hesitate to contact me if you have any questions or would like to book any future accommodations.

Thank you

Tammy Travis
Reservations, Sales & Catering
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.6 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
410 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
36 reviews
1.5 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Capital Suites Yellowknife
#6 of 10 in Yellowknife
96 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coast Fraser Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coast Fraser Tower

Property: Coast Fraser Tower
Address: Fraser Towers 5303 52 St, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 1V1, Canada (Formerly Fraser Tower Suite Hotel)
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Coast Fraser Tower 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the heart of downtown Yellowknife, Coast Fraser Tower prides itself on spacious apartment style suites with spectacular views of the Yellowknife skyline and exceptional service. We offer a complimentary continental breakfast for all of our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Coast Fraser Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coast Fraser Tower Hotel Yellowknife
Coast Fraser Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing