We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quick Service and affordable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sushi North

Sushi North
Ranked #13 of 73 Restaurants in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$18
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Sushi North serves a best selection of delicious, traditional, high-quality fresh food. Specially Arctic Char!! Featuring tasty seaweed salads and many appetizers, noodles, rice, Uramaki (inside out roll with rice and fillings) Triyaki chicken and an assorted selection of the finest seafood, there is certainly something for everyone. Here at Sushi North, we are praised for our great food, relaxed atmosphere, friendly experienced staff and extremely affordable prices. Sushi North is full service restaurant; open Monday - Saturday 1130am-1900pm with the option for collection as well as a delivery service available with Jerries service Happy Hour Special Draft beer $3
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Quick Service and affordable price”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

I love dining here as they always have a fast service. Try their Takoyaki-it's phenomenal! The only thing I am hoping for them to have is coffee. yes, they don't serve coffee, only tea- which is acceptable since japanese love tea. but they don't only cater to japanese people, but also canadians, filipinos, first nations.... so they must've at least serve coffee. otherwise, their food is great. Dynamite roll is also delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lou0817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    48
    24
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Sushi top is good, bottom is hmm...”
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Arctic Char and Salmon are my favorites. So Chirashi type is good.
Hope they roll sushi by hand. Now they have Okonomyaki, I gotta try one.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank foodTVlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nm
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Casual place”
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Inexpensive, casual, popular sushi place. Has arctic char on the menu. Very nice people running the place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank spaceyliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
437 reviews
238 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Sushi in a cafeteria atmosphere”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

This was the first sushi place I tried in Yellowknife and one of the few places to try arctic char sashimi for awhile. There is now another sushi place in town.
Sushi North has very friendly service and wonderful Japanese green tea with barley. The sushi rolls and arctic char sashimi were good. The atmosphere is cafeteria style. There are fluorescent lights and aluminum framed furniture. You order and pay at the counter and they will give you your food on disposable containers.
The price is high for sushi but normal for Yellowknife. I always try to get some arctic char sashimi when I visit but they do have fairly limited hours and do not deliver so make sure you call and confirm before heading out.
Overall a nice little place when you have a sushi craving in Yellowknife. Not for date nights or when you are trying to impress!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tropicalnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Budget friendly”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Like others have mentioned, it was reasonably priced compared to other places that we ate during our stay in Yellowknife. Udon was great, rolls were okay. Kudos to the cashier lady who brightened up the whole place with her amazing smile. Don't expect full table service: when they call you, go pick up your food. Bring it back to them when you are done.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AirPressure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sushi North also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Sushi North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing