We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad food, bad service”
Review of Dancing Moose Cafe

Dancing Moose Cafe
Ranked #5 of 73 Restaurants in Yellowknife
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Canadian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, View, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy the ambiance of Old Yellowknife. In summer, dine outside on Yellowknife Bay under the midnight sun. In winter, inside, while checking out the Northern Lights. We are licensed, offer premium coffees & desserts, breakfast, lunch and supper. Open Tuesday to Sunday, 9 AM TO 9 PM.
New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bad food, bad service”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I recently went to this restaurant and was not impressed. The food that I had was average at best and not worth the price I paid. I ordered the whitefish with the sauce on the side and I am very glad I did. The sauce was horrible. It was basically liquid warm mayonnaise with capers. I did not eat it. I also had the bruschetta and the toast was burnt black. I could not eat it.

The server came over once to see if everything was good but that was it. No refills on tea or coffee or water.

I would not recommend going here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elecis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    68
    22
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service and excellent food”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Nice people working/running this restaurant :) Excellent food and a smashing view out the front windows of this place. We loved the atmosphere...an old house. It was like sitting in a friends house having a good meal! Yummy cinnamon buns to.
Our only complaint is that it's so popular you can wait awhile to get a seat sometimes :) :)

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank The-Dog-Taxi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guelph, ontario
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A great place for lunch and dinner with lots of interesting choices and excellent service. Servers were lots of fun and very helpful.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank su-etravel48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
116 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

Intimate dinner atmosphere with candles. We ordered arctic char, $30, it was very tasty, served with a great herb sauce, wild rice and veggies. We also had the buffalo rib eye, $37, served with mushroom sauce and mashed potatoes. A few grisly bits but overall very good. Service is good but the food took almost an hour to come out.

Helpful?
Thank travelengnancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Super breakfasts and fancy dinners”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Breakfasts are enormous (so are lunches in fact!) and we were regularly taking away half the meal for another time. Staff were lovely, although it was comic how frequently they seemed to mis-hear our orders! Different specials every day.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Galaxygirl627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dancing Moose Cafe also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to Dancing Moose Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing