We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Explorer Hotel(Yellowknife)
US$167
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$174
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coast Fraser Tower(Yellowknife)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
20
41
26
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
41
26
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstaff was friendly and accommodatingwalked everywhereliving roomfull kitchenmicrowave and fridgethe free airport shuttlewalking distancecoffee machinedowntown coreold townbed was comfortablewifialarmreceptionistfurnishingscanadastove
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Smoke & Mirrors
Yellowknife Capital Suites
Booked reservations with a credit card 6 weeks prior to arriving and reconfirmed 1 week prior to arrival for the 3rd or 4th renovated floor. Upon arrival, was informed that the requested reservation was not available but would be accommodated in one of the older, un-renovated rooms on the 1st floor as the 3rd and 4th floor was reserved for government VIP and it was out of their hands...
Housekeeping consisted of making the bed and replacing the towels. Spent two weeks with only two hotel size mini-bars of soap; no vacuuming; no dusting or whipping down of furniture; and insects found on kitchen floor in the morning.
Only one working washing machine available of the two in place in the provided laundry room. The other has been broken long enough for the out of order sign to become yellowed with age. The front desk had no idea when it would be fixed or replaced to support the 80 plus suite hotel.
Fitness room only available upon request when front desk was manned between 7 am – 10 pm and consisted of run-downed tread mill and an aerobics machine.
Front desk staff unable to answer the simplest of questions regarding local restaurant locations, grocery stores, or availability of fitness room.

Wireless Internet not reliable and front desk unable/unwilling to assist in resetting resident modem.

Looking for another place to stay.... don`t stay here, they are incompentent!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scourch11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2011

I moved from Yellowknife Inn Hotel to Capital Suites Hotel because of the noise and dirty rooms over there. I was given an upgraded suite on the executive floor with fully equiped kitchen suties. Very clean suite and great customer service. Hotel Manager was a great help and very caring. Definitely are coming back with our research university team. Strongly Recommended.

Room Tip: When you get in here ask for executive floors.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MichiganTraveler1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Well furnished mini apartments with kitchen but with very poor noise isolation. I heard everything from adjacent room, very thin walls...Room cleaning was not done every day & cleaning was very basic. Random knocks at our door...to have cigarettes...even my room was a non smoking one. Bring some ear plugs to sleep!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ticlou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

I was attracted to this hotel because of the kitchen suites. It was NOT worth it, however.
I would NOTs stay here again. The housekeeping/cleaning was sloppy and inconsistent. The TV's volume didn't work and some channels had no sound at all. The building makes a lot of noises like cracking, and shifting noises. VERY THIN WALLS!
You can hear someone in the next room using the washroom !! And you can hear other people's conversations in the next room: clearly.
Comfortable bed, but bad night sleep due to noises - loud banging when the heater turned on etc.... loud footsteps from people above you, slamming doors, neighbouring TV's.
The hotel is kind of creepy... and the kind of hotel that you makes you think; if it caught on fire, there'd be no way you'd make it out alive.

I will not be returning.
(A.O - Inuvik).

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AO99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2007

Please do not stay here. It was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. EVER. Luckily we were here just one night, because between noise in the halls, thumping from adjoining rooms, random knocks at our door at all hours of the night, we managed maybe 3-4 hours sleep. Neither me nor my husband are fussy travelers (both in our mid-twenties and well traveled), and I have nicknamed this place "the Trailer". Pay the extra bit for The Explorer hotel or even the Super 8.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Anonymous23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews