We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HOUSEKEEPING & OTHER PROBLEMS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Suites Yellowknife
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Sahuarita, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“HOUSEKEEPING & OTHER PROBLEMS”
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Housekeeper walked in without knocking, saw me turned around and never came back to clean room. Another day, emptied trash, made bed, left room -- no new towels novacuum. Front desk staff never smiles

Room Tip: Get one of the bigger rooms, standards are way too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    37
    25
    8
    8
See reviews for
9
20
10
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Monterey Park, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

I was in Room 308 for one week to see the auroras and the room was quite clean. I usually judge a room by the clean white sheets and the bathroom. Both lived to my expectations. The lobby and registration area had a clean simple look. My room had a Keurig coffee maker. If you go downstairs, you have more of a selection like lemon tea and Starbucks. I supplied my room with those selections. I couldn't figure why my back started hurting and it was because of the chair in the room. It felt like I was sitting on wires. The chair needs to be reupholstered with a more cushiony bottom. There were 2 days where the room was only partially serviced. The trash was taken out, however the bed was not made on Wednesday and Friday. As far as convenience goes, the hotel is about five blocks from the center of town. Most of the restaurants and the one supermarket are downtown, so you do have to walk to get to any of them. Even though it was a non smoking room, I can still smell smoke from the 1st floor. They might consider leaving the non smoking floors on the bottom, and the smoking floors on top as "hot air rises". There is a free shuttle to and from the airport in Yellowknife.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alkeni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitchener, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Was in Yellowknife in October and June/July for work and they booked me into this hotel. Nice place that felt like a home away from home while there for an extended stay. I had one of the apartment suites and it was nice to have a separate living area. The bed was AMAZING! One of my coworkers is planning to buy that exact bed as he enjoyed his sleep that much. The internet was sometimes slow, but I'm not sure if that was the hotel's problem or the service in YK. Front desk staff are super friendly and willing to help out where they can. Rooms were extremely clean!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kattiia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Simpson, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Room108 was clean, and bed was comfortable. Small fridge and microwave were added advantages, BUT the room was UNBEARABLY HOT even with a portable air cooling system going full blast all night. This is a problem that Management was well aware of, and a 10% discount off the full fare cost on a future stay was offered, but in my opinion is minimal compensation for such an unpleasant experience.

Room Tip: Pick a room that has a thermostat in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Roader2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My stay in Capital Suites was really comfortable, and homely. I am staying in a suite and it is really nice and big. We have a great stay. Trish is very helpful and accommodating. Despite some administrative hiccups on my side, she readily helps us to resolve the issue. Really appreciate her effort to go the extra mile. It will definitely be my stay for my next trip to Yellowknife.

Can't comment on the swimming pool as I have no way to check it out at -42 deg outside.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vogaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank You Vogaris for such a positive review for the Capital Suites Yellowknife. Yes we agree with you our 1 & 2 Bedroom suites are very comfortable & spacious which have full kitchens with 5 appliances, seperate bedrooms with a nice size washroom & a fair size livingroom space . We encourage all our staff to be accomodating & resourceful in any assistance they may offer to any of our guests at the Hotel, thank you for acknowledging one of our newest members to the staff Trish & how she was able to assist you during your stay at the Capital Suites Yellowknife. We have passed on your comments & thanked Trish for her assistance in helping you to resolve your issues. By the way we have no pool but do offer a small fitness centre available to all guests during thier stay At the Capital Suites Yellowknife. Again we Thank you for your review & we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

Capital Suites Yellowknife was great!
The staff were helpful and friendly, like arriving at someone's home, the rooms were top notch. The room and its amenities were as nice or nicer (and all in proper working order)..
The lobby also had a guest computer and a nice coffee maker, the convenience of this was also greatly appreciated.

Location wise:
For someone like me travelling in business trip, Capital Suites is a big plus, as I used to come back to my room between my meetings breaks,
The manager Ali Mirza & the front office staff were very courteous.

So, don't miss all of this :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hani I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Thank You for your enthusiastic review Hani l. The Management & Staff at the Capital Suites have been working hard on the cleanliness & guest service response that the guest receives at the Hotel. We believe our location works well for our guest's, just a 5 minute walk to downtown Yellowknife but away from all the downtown traffic & noise. It helps that all our rooms have some form of cooking appliance, our 1 & 2 bedroom suites have full kitchens & our standard/studio suites have a micowave.Some of our rooms have the small Kuerig coffee makers however we do offer a much larger capacity Kuerig coffee maker in the Lobby area which is available to all guests.For guests that prefer to not carry their laptops with them yes we do indeed offer a computer with internet access in our lobby & a small bar fridge, hope to offer more than one at some point. Again we thank you for your stay & review & look forward to your return Hani l.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Capital Suites in Yellowknife offers a nice alternative to hotels in a slightly better location. If you don't mind walking a few minutes (at -20C or so) you should consider them.

First off, the front-desk staff is one the friendliest and most helpful I have ever encountered in my travels. They took a genuine interest to help us out finding winter gear to protect us from the cold. If it wasn't for them we would have become icicles frozen for a thousands years just to be uncovered by aliens in 5012 AD.

I stayed in the one-bed room suite at about US$180 a night (including all fees and taxes). Given the location I think it's a fair price. It had a nice kitchenette and living room. The room was a bit dated, but then again it's Yellowknife and not Las Vegas. My only complaint was the cleaning lady did a lousy job cleaning up the room, but maybe she/he just a bad day or two, or three. Oh and I was able to see the Aurora Borealis right out of my living room window, but I will need to thank Mother Nature for this.

As for the location, it's not the best if you want to go out. You will need to walk 10-15 minutes to get to restaurants and bars. This may sound easy, but when it's really really really cold outside it feels a long time.

Lastly, there is a free shuttle to airport - take it and save on an expensive cab ride.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen D, Manager at Capital Suites Yellowknife, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Thank you for your great review & sharing your comments on your stay with us Marcel B. I'm glad that you enjoyed the Spacious Rooms & our quiet location on the outskirts of Downtown Yellowknife .We believe we are an excellent alternative for those who do not wish to eat out every night, as we offer our Suites with Fully equipped Kitchens so they may cook in the comfort of thier room. I apologize about any issue's you may have had with the cleanliness of your room and have brought your comments/concerns to the attention of our Housekeeping Supervisor & all of our Housekeeper's. We have been working hard towards insuring a clean room but if it is not provided we need the assistance of the guest in letting us know on the day it happens so we may address the issue as soon as possible. Thank you again for your feedback & look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yellowknife hotels
0.6 mi away
Explorer Hotel
Explorer Hotel
#1 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
1.0 mi away
Super 8 Yellowknife
Super 8 Yellowknife
#3 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Fraser Tower
Coast Fraser Tower
#2 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
Chateau Nova Yellowknife
#4 of 10 in Yellowknife
4.0 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Days Inn & Suites Yellowknife
#8 of 10 in Yellowknife
3.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Yellowknife
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Suites Yellowknife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Suites Yellowknife

Property: Capital Suites Yellowknife
Address: 100 5603 | 50th Avenue, Yellowknife, Northwest Territories X1A 1E8, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Northwest Territories > Yellowknife
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Yellowknife
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Capital Suites Yellowknife 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotel.de so you can book your Capital Suites Yellowknife reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hotel Yellowknife

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing