We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Standard A&W, a little crowded.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of A&W Restaurant

A&W Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 73 Restaurants in Yellowknife
Cuisines: Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout
Virginia Beach, VA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Standard A&W, a little crowded.”
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Located inside the main shopping center, it was very busy and crowded. Leading to being a little noisy and slightly messy. Nothing terrible just a lot of traffic.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palombaro5341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    24
    29
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“full of homeless people”
Reviewed 12 January 2013

A really sad place, confirming all the cliches about indigenous people in the North. This is sad, because it is a minority, and most indigenous people are just wonderful, but this is a place visited a lot by tourists and it doesn't do their reputation any favour :( Even had police coming in to take a drunk lady away.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank michanzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida, USA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good for a quick snack”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Downtown is dead outside of business hours, so just a few people there. Took awhile to get my food. They advertised WI-FI, but it didnt work. The restaurant is in the Yellowknife Inn building, where I was staying, so I connected to the hotel WI-FI.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank metrolands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Not up to A & W standards”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

It has the same menu and pricing as southern franchises but this one skimps a bit on amenities and cleanliness. It is a bit of a hangout for lower income individuals and teen youth. It reminds me of a late night donut shop in east Vancouver.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Out of Root Beer & Onion Rings”
Reviewed 6 June 2012

Sadly disappointed with my family today - stopped by the A&W, for what we expected to be a standard brand name lunch. However, we could not order what we wanted, they were out of root beer (wait... it's that the reason A&W exists???) and they had no onion rings. The burgers were ok, but we have natives staring at us while we ate, very uncomfortable. Likely will never be back, short of pure desperation or intense craving.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gordupnorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed A&W Restaurant also viewed

Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
Yellowknife, Northwest Territories
 

Been to A&W Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing