We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than we had hoped”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wildwood Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wildwood Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Pictou, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Better than we had hoped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

This motel is also owned by the people who have McKenzies Cottages & Motel. Due to a shortage of rooms (wedding reservations) at McKenzies, they sent us up to the Wildwood. It is a great little motel, off the main road about 2 blocks. Their sign is visible from Main Street however.
Our room had just been renovated, and we were the first guests in it. An incredible room for the price and super friendly staff.
Although McKenzies had always been our first choice when visiting this area, we would now consider the Wildwood as well. The short distance off the main street made all the difference in the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heath1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    36
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
24
6
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Pleasant motel, breakfast included was fresh and varied, rooms nice and clean and smoke free. A lot of truckers using the motel so some noise in the early morning as they were leaving, but not a problem for us. Price seems a bit high but I always think the prices are too high in general for motels in N.S!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

The motel was nice, clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast (very good) and WIFI were included. There was a fridge in the room. The whole experience can be summaized by the words of the owner "I love to serve my customers". We will definitely come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grazyna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Newly arrived in Nova Scotia we were not too sure of where the best places to visit might be. Wildwood's owner was a brilliant tourist guide, gave us so much information and historical background, very useful, extremely friendly. We felt our holiday was well organised after a lengthy breakfast chat. (Motels do not provide people with a meal in UK so much appreciated)
Armed with all the info we set off for a circuit of NS and PEI and all we had learned really did prove to be invaluable.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JENNIFER N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

This was a great place to bring a large group of people. Jim and Sandra Goodick went out of their way to make our group feel at home. They were very helpful with sending us in the right direction and the continental breakfast was delicious! Thanks!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

My favorite place to stay in Shelburne, Quiet location off the main road, super friendly and helpful staff. Looks like the bathrooms have been remodeled recently, big flat screen TV, free wireless internet, in room fridge., reasonable rates and free breakfast .. what more do you need!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dartmouth, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

I stayed at the Wildwood for an extended period on a business trip. I had a very good experience and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome and comfortable. The rooms are very clean. We had an exceptional service. We even could cook since there is BBQ available for clients. I will stay again at this motel next time I am in Shelburne. Thank to all and especially to Norm and special hi to Jake.

Room Tip: BBQ available at the end of each building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CuzVinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.2 mi away
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
0.6 mi away
Cooper's Inn
Cooper's Inn
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#3 of 5 in Shelburne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
11.7 mi away
Lockeport Landing B&B and Cafe
14.4 mi away
Whispering Waves Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wildwood Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wildwood Motel

Property: Wildwood Motel
Address: 242 Minto Street, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wildwood Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wildwood Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wildwood Motel Shelburne, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing