We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable stay”
Review of Cooper's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cooper's Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we had the pleasure to stay at the Coopers Inn as we passed through Shelburne on a recent vacation. our room was small but well appointed. The room is spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best that we have ever had at a B&B. the only complaint I would have is that the air conditioner was extremely noisy so we turned it off and slept with the windows open. The bathroom fan is also very noisy and comes on automatically when you turn on the light. Very minor points that did not mar our stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Canada010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in June. The inn is situated on the waterfront in the beautiful village of Shelburne which has many historic buildings. We were greeted by a very friendly person, shown to our room, and invited to the nightly "Happy Hour" where guests are able to have a drink with the host - a very nice touch, and very useful when breaking the ice and engaging other guests in conversation. The bedroom was a little fussy for our taste but was very good in all other respects. The rooms all seem to be on the first floor (i.e. one up from ground level) and luggage will have to be carried up the rear stairs from the parking area. Breakfast was very good. There are several options for evening meals in the village, some of which are best reserved in advance. We opted for the nearby Sea Dog Saloon which offers meals and drinks up to 8pm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We spent one night in the J. Chandley Smith room, which is a small first floor room with a private entrance off the beautiful gardens. Because we stayed only one night, the small room was perfectly fine. If I had stayed two or three nights, I would have reserved a larger room. The room was spotless! There were wine glasses in our room that we had planned to take to the free glass of wine happy hour, but, because we went to a Canada Day festival in a neighboring town, we missed happy hour. We did, however, enjoy the chocolates left on our pillows and loved the Kurig coffee/tea maker in our room. The hostess, Melanie, offered us an extensive breakfast menu. We both had fresh fruit, juice, coffee, scrambled eggs, toast, and bacon. In addition, I had a bowl of oatmeal. We were invited to order more and/or to have seconds, but, we were plenty full from the delicious food! We enjoyed a drink and snacks at a table in the garden as the sun was setting and spoke with and watched the Cooper making barrels late into the evening in his shop across the street. We had an outstanding night at this beautiful Inn. I highly recommend the Inn if you want to stay in or near Shelburne.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Relaxandtravel200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in the Cooper's Inn several times. It's more than just the "best choice in Shelburne"; it's a very fine b&b by any standard. Yes, some rooms are small but they are accurately illustrated on the website, and of course, vary in price relative to each. To be surprised by the size of the least expensive room would suggest a guest's research was lacking.

The staff and/or owner strike a good balance between hospitality and professionalism, seemingly aware that one does not preclude the other. I've never felt personally encroached upon, nor treated coldly.

Regarding breakfast, the choice is much more appealing than the ubiquitous sideboard display of cold cereals, a toaster with a loaf of bread and a fruit salad that many places pawn off as breakfast. At Cooper's, breakfast is hot, well cooked and sizable. Should you want cold choices, they are also offered. Ask for stronger coffee, stronger coffee appears.

The "dooryard garden" (as these we're once called) nods to what a garden of the era would have looked like: immediate adjacent to the house and fenced in. Historically, these were the only pieces of property that were given over to to household for flowers and herbs, everything beyond being grazed by livestock. I love this touch of history, and it provides a private outdoor space for guests to enjoy.

No baskets of dusty pot-pourri cloying at your nose, no overly loud music to drown out the murmur of chatter over breakfast, no intrusions of personal space and time - just very good, very consistent service and comfort.

Strongly and unreservedly recommended.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank flag45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed here with my teenage son on our father/son bicycle tour. Not really bike friendly. The only place to store our bikes was a flimsy bicycle rack located in their small 'garden'. The garden gets lots of traffic... and our bikes weren't protected from the elements.
Our room was wicked comfy with HUGE windows that let in lots of fresh air. Breakfast was very good... and included more than one course. COOL.
It was by far the most expensive place we stayed on our bicycle trip. Was it worth it? I'm not sure.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsky227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pat d, Owner at Cooper's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you very much for the kind words about your room and breakfast at The Cooper's Inn.
With advance notice we are able to provide covered and locked storage for bicycles. ( the room is multi-purpose, thus the advance notice ) We feel our room rates are fair for what we offer,( your particular room was $120.00).....Multi-course breakfast as you mentioned, likely a $15.00 value per person elsewhere, a happy hour with complimentary wine or organic lemonade and snacks, free wifi, newspaper etc....and a terrific location in the heart of Shelburne's quaint historic district. We do appreciate your comments and hope that for the remainder of your trip you felt the wind at your back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Stunning old architecture with typical Maritime B&B hosts - i.e. exceptionally friendly accommodating and helpful hosts who, among other things, got me a reservation at the nearby (5 min's walk) Charlotte's Lane restaurant which is NOT to be missed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Cooper's Inn served as a destination for a quick weekend get away from Boston via the new ferry; Nova Star; from Portland Maine. The Inn is beautiful, the owner and staff very friendly, and the location is a perfect base for a days exploration on foot of the beautiful town of Shelburne. The took care of making dinner reservations as well, all in all a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newportchappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Shelburne hotels
0.7 mi away
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
0.2 mi away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#3 of 5 in Shelburne
4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Shelburne
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
52 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Cooper's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Inn

Address: 36 Dock Street at Mason Lane, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range: £86 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooper's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper's Inn B&B is a 7 room and 1 suite ensuite Inn on Historic Dock Street on Nova Scotia, Canada's Shelburne Harbour. Most facilities are within easy walking distance of the Inn. Museums, restaurants, landmark properties, hiking, biking, trails, parks, Harbour Tours, Kayaking and more. All rooms have private entries, Flat Screen TVs, Free WIfi, Free off street paring, coffee makers, robes, hair dryers, harbour views and easy access to a delightful Garden. Breakfast is included in the rates and offers a diverse selection from an ample menu. Many dietary needs and personal eating requirements are addressed. The Museums on Dock Street draw much attention. The Loyalist History is a popular area of interest. The nearby Black Loyalist Heritage Museum is a world class facility. Eascape the ordinary, where history meets hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cooper's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper's Inn Shelburne, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing