We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“August in Nova Scotia”
Review of Cooper's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cooper's Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Shelburne B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I recently spent two wonderful nights at the 1785 Cooper's Inn with a lovely room overlooking the enclosed garden and Shelburne Harbor. Warm, comfortable, and welcoming with every comfort well thought out and, a beautifully presented breakfast NOT to be missed! Even at the height of summer, Shelburne is uncrowded and a wonderful, historic area to visit!

Room Tip: 2nd Level Thomas Crowell room had a wonderful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kprone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is an inn that serves breakfast. There isn't a common area except for the outdoor garden. It rained and/or was unseasonably cold both days we were there. As others have commented, some of the rooms, including ours, do not have an indoor access to the breakfast room. We thought it lacked the warmth and charm of many places we have stayed in.

The location on the water was five stars. The breakfast was five stars -- nicely served, a choice of entrees, seconds offered, AND delicious muffins and pancakes.

As others have commented, the Smith room is hard to maneuver in. The reason it seems small is that there are two very comfortable arm chairs, which are needed since there is no other place in the inn to relax. The bed was very comfortable and the decor was pleasant. Two things that would really help: 1. Put some shelves in the bathroom on which to put a cosmetic bag, medicine bag, shaving bag etc. 2. Move the bed closer to the window and put two racks on the bathroom
wall. As it is now, there is no place to put anything.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bcnett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Cooper`s Inn two weeks ago, while in Nova Scotia for a family reunion. We had spent the afternoon hiking the Kejimkujik Seaside Adjunct trail - you MUST go here, too! We arrived in time for the complementary glass of wine at 5:00 p.m. in the garden area. We sat at an umbrella table with two nice couples from New York state.
Our room was very comfortable and even had a massage chair - great for after our hiking!
Breakfast the next morning was nothing short of amazing - you get a menu with all of these incredible dishes and it says to choose from any of the selections! I am going back to Nova Scotia next week to take Daughters No. 1 and 2 to Dalhousie - I made a reservation when we were checking out so that they, too, could discover just how wonderful Cooper`s Inn and Shelburne are! The Queen bed was extremely comfortable and it was great having the sea breeze waft in through the window beside the bed. The space on that side (to get out of bed) was a little narrow but the room was great. Make sure you make reservations at Charlotte Lane Cafe for dinner. We also had drinks at the Sea Dog right on the water - a wonderful place to watch the sun go down.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TorontoHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the coopers inn. Our room was cute and cozy, though the bed was a little uncomfortable. Hosts were lovely and breakfast was delicious. The town is beautiful and quaint with several good restaurants to choose from. We will be back for another visit.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank ytic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our hosts were very welcoming and we settled down for a chat and glass of wine and received great local knowledge tips. Room was lovely and breakfast cookedby Melanie was really great. Plenty of choice and all freshly prepared and cooked . We felt at home and would gladly return. These two ladies know what they are doing

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank RAHkim5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

we had the pleasure to stay at the Coopers Inn as we passed through Shelburne on a recent vacation. our room was small but well appointed. The room is spotless and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was one of the best that we have ever had at a B&B. the only complaint I would have is that the air conditioner was extremely noisy so we turned it off and slept with the windows open. The bathroom fan is also very noisy and comes on automatically when you turn on the light. Very minor points that did not mar our stay.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Canada010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in June. The inn is situated on the waterfront in the beautiful village of Shelburne which has many historic buildings. We were greeted by a very friendly person, shown to our room, and invited to the nightly "Happy Hour" where guests are able to have a drink with the host - a very nice touch, and very useful when breaking the ice and engaging other guests in conversation. The bedroom was a little fussy for our taste but was very good in all other respects. The rooms all seem to be on the first floor (i.e. one up from ground level) and luggage will have to be carried up the rear stairs from the parking area. Breakfast was very good. There are several options for evening meals in the village, some of which are best reserved in advance. We opted for the nearby Sea Dog Saloon which offers meals and drinks up to 8pm.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.7 mi away
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
0.2 mi away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Shelburne
4 reviews
0.6 mi away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Shelburne
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
52 reviews
23.4 mi away
Yesteryears  Bed & Breakfast
24.9 mi away
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cooper's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cooper's Inn

Address: 36 Dock Street at Mason Lane, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Shelburne
Price Range: £88 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cooper's Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cooper's Inn B&B is a 7 room and 1 suite ensuite Inn on Historic Dock Street on Nova Scotia, Canada's Shelburne Harbour. Most facilities are within easy walking distance of the Inn. Museums, restaurants, landmark properties, hiking, biking, trails, parks, Harbour Tours, Kayaking and more. All rooms have private entries, Flat Screen TVs, Free WIfi, Free off street paring, coffee makers, robes, hair dryers, harbour views and easy access to a delightful Garden. Breakfast is included in the rates and offers a diverse selection from an ample menu. Many dietary needs and personal eating requirements are addressed. The Museums on Dock Street draw much attention. The Loyalist History is a popular area of interest. The nearby Black Loyalist Heritage Museum is a world class facility. Eascape the ordinary, where history meets hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Cooper's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cooper's Inn Shelburne, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing