We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality, cleanliness, value, comfort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Nova Scotia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hospitality, cleanliness, value, comfort”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

From the moment I talked to the owner on the phone, to the moment we left the motel, we felt welcome and excited about Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages. The overall memory of the weekend in July, 2014 was very positive. Everything was absolutely spotless, including the shining outdoor pool. The breakfast was filling and fresh. The bed was comfortable and we slept 9 hours straight! We thought the price was very fair for such a great location.....several world class beaches and the best seafood very nearby. Can't wait for the next visit to the South Shore. Mackenzies will definitely be our choice.

Room Tip: We loved the motel room. We were there just to shower and sleep. We viewed the chalets which would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank manyirons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    48
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
36
73
11
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prairieville, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Mackenzie's was the cleanest, friendliest place to stay! We thoroughly enjoyed our "visit" at this location. We stayed only one night throughout our travels of Nova Scotia, but when we go back, we will definitely stay there again! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: We were two couples. One was in a cottage and the other in the motel itself. Both rooms were clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gloria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

What a wonderful place! We drove to Shelburne just as a little get away, and found this quaint little place. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are clean, and the breakfast was excellent with homemade biscuits and banana bread. I can't say enough great things about Mackenzie's Place. When we come back to Shelburne, this is where we will park ourselves and enjoy the great hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tazalynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Stayed one night in a two bedroom cottage during a local sporting event. accommodations in the area are somewhat limited, but Mackenzie's have a great spot with everything you need for an enjoyable stay. Clean, comfortable and the area is beautiful.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank dssmarine .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hantsport, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Spent the night in one of their suites and we loved it. The bed was comfortable, room was gorgeous and staff were so pleasant. Location was perfect and we will most definitely be returning soon.Everything was well maintained and they take real pride in their business and making you feel at home. We will most definitely be returning. Thanks for a great getaway!

Room Tip: Cox Suite has a complete kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Stayed a weekend at MacKenzie's. The room was clean and comfortable. Beds are comfortable. The staff friendly and helpful.

However, you do get a little road noise in the motel part during the day as it's off one of the main roads. Not too bad at night of course as Shelburne is a small town and things die down at night.

No problem recommending MacKenzie's as a place to stay in the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed in one of the motel rooms and found it to be quite comfortable and it had everything we needed for a good night's rest. The bed was most comfortable.

The hostess was very friendly and helpful in giving directions and suggestions for dining.

You can easily walk to the downtown and waterfront from the motel. Your walk will take you through a very well treed and pretty town.

The motel was quiet and allowed for a good nights sleep. Breakfast was waiting for us when we got up and was a nice start to the day.

Room Tip: Given its location, any room would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubnatsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shelburne
0.2 mi away
Wildwood Motel
Wildwood Motel
#2 of 2 in Shelburne
89 reviews
0.9 mi away
Inner Harbor Inn
Inner Harbor Inn
#3 of 5 in Shelburne
2 reviews
1.4 mi away
Roseway River Cottages
Roseway River Cottages
#1 of 5 in Shelburne
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Argyle By The Sea Bed and Breakfast
11.9 mi away
Lockeport Landing B&B and Cafe
23.3 mi away
Yesteryears  Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages

Property: Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages
Address: 260 Water Street, Shelburne, Nova Scotia B0T 1W0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Shelburne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Shelburne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacKenzie's has been family-owned for decades and offers the best of Nova Scotia's intimate cottages, affordable motel and luxury suites in a park-like, brook-side setting in a great location in the centre of town... something for every taste and budget! Free breakfast and wireless internet is included in all rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Mackenzie's Motel and Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mackenzies Hotel Shelburne
Mackenzie's Motel And Cottages Shelburne, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing