We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent meal and service”

Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts
Ranked #1 of 17 Restaurants in Shelburne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Cuisines: Canadian, International, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to Charlotte Lane Cafe & Gift Shop.Best Small Restaurant in Nova Scotia Award from RANS 2013, Best Restaurant Chef Inspired Casual Dining by Taste of NS 2011, Best Restaurant outside of HRM by Chronical Herald. Follow the fabulous aromas down our quaint little lane in the historic district of Shelburne, Nova Scotia, step inside our heritage building and enjoy the warm hospitality and fine dining. Our restaurant offers innovative dishes and fine wines presented with attentive service in a cheerful setting. Since opening in 1995 we have attracted loyal and appreciative clients from near and far, and we invite you to join this happy circle.
Hantsport, Canada
2 reviews
“Excellent meal and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We ate at Charlotte's Lane last evening and we were warned without a reservation, we likely would not get in. We tried anyway and although they were very busy, the hostess fit us in. It was delish!! would definitely go there again! A great meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pamala R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    30
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good Meal But Not Excellent”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

The food was good for the most part. Nice flavour to the chowder. Wasn't too heavy or too light.

I had the Pork Tenderloin Zurich Style as a main. Pork was tender and cooked well but found it, as I did the chowder, a little over seasoned (salt). That may just be me as I'm sensitive to salt. But good flavour overall as was the creamy demi-glace sauce. However, the rosti potato on my plate was a little too greasy for my liking.

The Peanut Butter Cream Pie was a disappointment. Sorry, folks, maybe I've spoiled myself in making them over the years. I think the main turn off was the pre-chopped peanuts sprinkled on top. I assume that's what was used. I never care for them as they develop a stale muted taste. There wasn't a wow factor to it as well. Using milk and dark chocolate along with freshly chopped roasted peanuts or honey roasted peanuts may make it sing!

Too be fair, I was with a dinner party and everyone else was extremely pleased with their meal. And the other dishes looked great. So it may have been just mine or having a culinary arts degree and having worked in the industry I've become a little too picky.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Excellent service and meal in a beautiful town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Ate at Charlotte Lane on the suggestion of folks at the Cooper's Inn and the meal and service was excellent. I hope to be able to enjoy this wonderful spot again in the future!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank newportchappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
154 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A gem with superb food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had dinner at Charlotte Lane Café, The food was excellent: fresh seafood for my Pasta Marina. Plenty of lobster, shrimps, mussels and scallops. I did not even need to touch the pasta. Everyone enjoyed his, her dish. The desserts were also well presented and very tasty. Big portions too. To crown the experience, the service was excellent, eager to please and attentive despite a full dining room.
If you are in Shelburne, it is worth trying this place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank demo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“What a Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The menu offered a good selection of not standard food. The meals are one of a kind, well prepared and a wonderful dining experience. Your hosts are fantastic people, very welcoming and friendly.

A little more expensive than a regular restaurant but well worth the money.

Did I mention the craft beers available?

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lubnatsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts also viewed

Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
Shelburne, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Charlotte Lane Cafe & Crafts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing