We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous place but needs more wines by the glass and better bed”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Blomidon Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blomidon Inn
Ranked #4 of 10 Wolfville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Fall River, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous place but needs more wines by the glass and better bed”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

My Husband and I were given an overnight stay package in a suite, with the Captain's Dinner. We did this in August. The building is very rich in colour and decorations. We stayed in the Perreau Suite. It had a gorgeous modern bathroom. Make sure you bring moisturizer since they don't offer it with the bath items. It was on ground level so when changing make sure curtains are closed. Bedroom had many smudges on bedframe and around full length mirror. Window in bedroom had no screen and had to use kleenex box to prop open. Bed was very old, uncomfortable, only a double and creaky. As this is an old building, creaks are also heard from people walking upstairs. The sitting room is very nice for two people to relax. There was a large corner closet, with room for a fridge but there was no fridge, nor water in the room. The staff was friendly in calling a cab to Gaspereau Vineyards for us, keeping our wine purchases in a fridge overnight, changing our dinner reservation to something earlier and swapping out some options from the Captain's dinner to regular menu items. The wine list only has FOUR house/glass options, two whites and two reds, two of which are Nova Scotian. This is disappointing for finer dinging and considering they are surrounded by excellent NS wineries and could promote this to visitors from away. They do however, have hundreds of bottles available. I had the mussels and the pork tenderloin for supper, shared the lime cheescake and arctic crepe for dessert. The mussels were excellent. The pork tenderloin had a lot going on - mushrooms, carrots, zucchini, tomatoes, potato, leaves of sage, an edible flower and compote. It was all delicious. The desserts were fabulous also and a ‘sliver’ could serve two people. Server was super friendly but wondered why he hasn’t learned to hold glasses lower and to not touch the rim when serving. After dinner we took a walk around the lush grounds. It's perfect for an after dinner walk - we even saw frogs and where they grew some of the herbs and veggies. There is a complimentary cold breakfast with some service. It had toast, muffins, cereal, fruit, yogurt (had sucralose, not for me), English muffins, juice and water. Note the coffee is the 'Just Us' organic/fair trade brand, made down the road and is a special "Blomidon Inn" blend. Delicious! Although you are in walking distance to town, the Inn is not directly considered IN the town. We would probably stay here again, but take a different room.

Room Tip: Watch ground-floor suites, may impede privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    61
    14
    8
    2
See reviews for
18
143
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Had a great weekend at the Blomidon Inn. Did the dining package with our stay. The air conditioner was noisy in the room (they pointed it out to us) we booked so we got upgraded no charge to a larger and nicer spot with a private deck and Jacuzzi tub, The gardens are well kept, staff and owner very friendly. Food in the restaurant I didn't care for the first night, but they redeemed themselves the second night (the first night I should have made different choices and my glass of wine was warm (lukewarm to temperature). The waiter the next night, wish I could recall his name, but he's been there a long while (older gentleman) was so friendly and helpful that he really made the second nights meal choices the best. The stay was topped off with a lovely set of Spiegelau wine glasses. Will do this again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnafromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We just got back from a romantic, relaxing weekend at "The Blomidon Inn." The staff were very helpful and charming. The room was quaint and Victorian in style. We did appreciate the air conditioning since it was warm & muggy. The meals were excellent & we enjoyed afternoon tea on the veranda. We'll definitely go back :)

Room Tip: We asked for a room on the main floor to avoid the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

On a last minute whim, we booked the Blomidon Suite at the Blomidon Inn on August 2nd. We enjoyed a lovely lunch at Lucketts Winery that afternoon, a must do if you are in the Valley. The staff at the Blomidon were most accommodating and very professional. This is a gorgeous manor home right in the heart of Woflville, NS within walking distance of a quaint downtown community. We visited Pete's to purchase a lovely selection of fruit of cheese and returned to our suite to enjoy with a bottle of wine we purchased at Lucketts. We enjoyed a beautiful 3 course dinner at the Blomidon Inn that evening. The portions were huge and the quality of the food was good. The server was very lovely and accommodating. I have to say this was a most affordable get away and VERY relaxing. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask to see your room prior to accepting. Since this is grand manor home, some rooms are smaller than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ssteeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Friends highly recommended this inn, and they have yet to steer us wrong. Everything was exactly as we had hoped, from the lovely old inn itself to the impressively helpful and friendly staff. When you stay here (and you should) prepare to walk around the grounds and take pictures of the lush gardens. It gave me way too many ideas for my own yard. We enjoyed a delicious dinner with friends at the Inn that deserves a review in itself. Perfect service and wonderfully prepared food. As it is located in the downtown area, everything is just a walk away from the Inn. Two thumbs up to Michael and his amazing staff - we will be back!

Room Tip: See if a suite on the main level is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnneA665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This was our second time to the Blomidon Inn, but the first to stay for the night. You know the food is good when you remember the meal from the last time your were in Wolfville 18 years earlier. We stumbled on it that time, we made sure we came back this time. The food was as good as we remembered. and the rooms have that manor house charm. They are on the small side, but our room was very functional and had all that we needed.

Planning to stay there again. Hope it won't be another 18 years.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Well we are back again nothing has changed the staff our friendly and helpful the food is amazing.If you like seafood you will love it here just had the lobster roll so much lobster it was amazing the seafood chowder was delicious .My husband says it is one of the best places to eat a steak .We shared a strawberry crepe loved it.I really love how informative the staff are there is so much history here .I hope you read this and the Blomidon Inn becomes part of your holiday plans it is also a great place for buisness

Room Tip: we stayed in one of the apartments but the main house has fabulous rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kittykat505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wolfville hotels
2.8 mi away
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
Old Orchard Inn & Spa
#2 of 2 in Wolfville
296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Victoria's Historic Inn
Victoria's Historic Inn
#5 of 10 in Wolfville
292 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tattingstone Inn
Tattingstone Inn
#2 of 10 in Wolfville
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Micro Boutique Living Wolfville
0.5 mi away
In Wolfville Bed and Breakfast
1.7 mi away
Gaspereau Valley Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blomidon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blomidon Inn

Property: Blomidon Inn
Address: 195 Main St, Wolfville, Nova Scotia B4P 1C3, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Wolfville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Wolfville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blomidon Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blomidon Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blomidon Hotel Wolfville
Blomidon Inn Wolfville, Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing