We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal here yet!!”
Review of Blomidon Inn

Blomidon Inn
Ranked #2 of 36 Restaurants in Wolfville
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: This is an old captains mansion which has fantastic food and beutiful gardens
Halifax, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best meal here yet!!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We have stayed here about 5 times now, and it is always a great experience. The latest meal was above and beyond. From the appetizers (salad for me and mussels for my wife) to the mains (pork medallions with peppercorn sauce and salmon in lobster sauce). The desserts were chocolate cake with strawberries for me while my wife tried the new lime cheesecake (a roaring success!!) Everything was cooked perfectly and the service was excellent. The wine cellar here is fantastic also. Beautiful smaller dining room for us this time (as opposed to the larger main room) made the meal perfect and romantic. We will return!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bernie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    34
    7
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oviedo, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Perfectly Charming”
Reviewed 10 October 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a place to eat and found this place as we were driving through town. What a treat. The house is very well decorated. The menu had a nice selection. We sampled several soups and sandwiches. Everything was wonderful. They make their own bread and smoke their own bacon.

Helpful?
1 Thank wadleyfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unbelievable”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had the good fortune of dining at the Blomidon Inn recently and were completely impressed by the staff, Mike and Allen, who were incredibly friendly and attentive (even for the Maritimes, well known for those attributes!) The service was great but the revelation was the Filet cooked to perfection by Chef Sean. Inevitably, I order beef and am disappointed in having it arrive overcooked. Not so here, it was absolutely as ordered and delicious! My better half tried the scallops and was equally enthusiastic. (One hint, Sean - not everyone likes onions, so it may be an idea not to prepare food in advance with onion (or powder) in all of the seasonings or sauces. Bottom line - if you are visiting Wolfville, stay and eat at the Blomidon. You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank onnsdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, Ns
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“overpriced”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

The waitstaff cannot be faulted, and the atmosphere was a lovely old home. But it really IS about the food. The chowder was just a creamy chowder with no seafood flavor - not really surprising since they used 'bay scallops' and a bit of fish - couldn't find any other seafood in it at all. And the mains were meager and just plain poor. the planked salmon was less than 2 oz of dry, tasteless fish and for the 'starch', I got 1/2 of a small dried out potato. Was the seafood pasta a left-overs? The red-pepper cream sauce had been absorbed by the pasta, leaving the whole dish dry and tasteless AND about 1/3 of the mussel shells ringing the dish, had been stuffed with pasta instead of mussels. (Talk about a cost-effective way to present!) We left still hungry. Didn't even want to try the desserts, all the rest was such a disappointment. This was an expensive mistake.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DorothyGreenwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport, NS
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A disappointment”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

I've long passed by the Blomidon Inn and felt a bit intimidated. It's old, revered and supposedly posh. However, a friend and I recently breached the threshold, and were underwhelmed. The restaurant staff were young and willing, the patio lovely, but face it, it's about the food. The menu was pedestrian, and the food qualilty itself worthy of any roadside cafe. We paid our bill after soup, and continued on further afield (Le Caveau)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgwalkerinNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blomidon Inn also viewed

Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
Wolfville, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Grand Pre, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Blomidon Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing