We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come as strangers, leave as friends.”
Review of Tranquil Times B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tranquil Times B&B
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Adele and Bob (and new addition puppy Kelsey) are gracious and giving hosts. Full of information about the area, great tips for places to see & eat and a friendly, delicious breakfast. Best part of the stay--the suggestion of a lobster dinner. We picked up the lobster and Bob & Adele did the rest. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: The Lakeview room has a wonderful view...of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank TracyInoue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We only stayed here for one night, but wish we'd had three. What a lovely place! I can only add to what others have said about the location (wonderful, right by a lake for canoeing - make sure your GPS knows where to go though!), the accommodation (wonderful beds, bathrooms, decor, guest facilities, pool, garden) and most importantly the welcome. Bob told us that Adele's philosophy is to treat everyone like family and he was not wrong at all. Do yourself a favour. Stay here, and stay a while. We wish that we had done so.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nitten_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We drove up a long dirt driveway and found a beautiful house at the end next to a picturesque lake. We were given a warm welcome from the owners Bob & Adele and shown to our beautiful traditionally furnished room and lovely bathroom. Breakfast with Bob, Adele and the other hotel patrons was a social affair with lots of laughter and banter over coffee and juice with Adele’s home-made pancakes, fresh blueberry sauce and strawberry jam. After staying in lots of chain hotels, we really enjoyed our stay in the lovely and cosy B&B.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Lovely B&B in the woods. Drive down a rustic lane to find splendour on a small pond. Hosts made us feel like family & were very helpful with tips for the area. Homemade chocolate cake and a bonfire with hotdogs were a nice touch before bed. Well worth the visit. We hope to see these people again... Oh, & the breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: Really get away for a rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Off the beaten path (down a dirt road)... was kind of tough on our skinny tire road bikes. In fact, I took the panniers out for my son on the next day. Bob and Adele were out meeting their new grandchild... and had arranged for a friend to watch the place (and us). I had asked if we could have a little cereal or something for dinner... there's nothing near them and we were on bicycles. Helen, their friend, had roast beef, roasted potatoes and turnips, and carrots, and green beans and homemade gravy waiting for us. OMG. Breakfast the next day was great. Basted eggs are my new standard. We were well taken care of.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsky227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

our hosts Bob & Adele Thompson were very hospitable and friendly. My husband took me up there for my birthday weekend. We stay 2 glorious nights. Where Adele also made a wonderful chocolate cake. Their home was very clean and cheerful. Breakfast was wonderful, with 2nds if need be. Adele is a great baker and cook. Breathtaking views of Sandy Lake. The colours were changing so we had a vibrant fire red maple tree to look at every morning. lookin forward to seeing them again in the near future.

Mary Conroy
Azores, Portugal

Room Tip: All rooms were pretty equal. All have a private bath. We stayed in the Garden Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kevinconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Tranquil Times

Off to a housewarming
At Sandy Bottom Lake
We needed somewhere to stay
And found just the place

A one night stay
At Tranquil Times B&B
With a view of the lake
Lots of nature to see

We were treated like family
Adele & Bob invited us in
They were excited to meet the Aunts
Of Rosie's fiancé Karsten

We could cook in the kitchen
There was a pool for a swim
The sign in the kitchen
Arrive as strangers, leave as friends

Our room was Lakeview
With a balcony & bath ensuite
Even a small fridge
To store drinks and food to eat

With wi-fi & satellite tv
Canoe & paddle boat for the lake
Hot homemade or continental breakfast
A very welcoming place

We were given advice on the area
Where to shop or to eat
Like "Changing Tides" in Bear River
Where the clams are a good feast

As our evening drew on
Bob started a bonfire
To enjoy sitting by the lake
Before we would retire

They provided hot dogs & marshmallows
Homemade cookies & even buns
Watching the moon come up
After the setting sun

Adele's homemade popcorn
Was delicious to eat
We shared with their chocolate lab Koko
Who enjoys the treat

We chatted & laughed
Oh, our stories were many
We enjoyed the company of guests
Who were from Germany

Orders were taken for breakfast
And our hosts retired
We chatted some more
Before we left the bonfire

The beds are comfortable
The lake was so still
A fitting name for the B&B
With the name Tranquil

Guest treatment is amazing
The price is right
We would definitely come again
To spend the night

Breakfast on our balcony
Omelet, fruit, coffee, OJ & toast
We even had company
Joined for breakfast by our host

Thank you Adele & Bob
And Koko too
May life be kind
For all that you do

Room Tip: If you want a bath that is not just down the hall then choose the Lakeview Room as it has one ensuit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roxanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis Royal
10.2 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
116 reviews
11.3 mi away
Still Point Lodge & Cottages
Still Point Lodge & Cottages
#3 of 9 in Annapolis Royal
14 reviews
15.2 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Croft House Bed & Breakfast
Croft House Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 7 in Granville Ferry
30 reviews
9.4 mi away
Upper Clements Cottages
Upper Clements Cottages
#2 of 9 in Annapolis Royal
53 reviews
10.7 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tranquil Times B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquil Times B&B

Address: 193 Browns Lane | West Springhill Annapolis County, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Annapolis Royal
Price Range: £52 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If it's peace and tranquility you long for, look no further. Tranquil Times is situated on the shoreline of Sandy Bottom Lake in Annapolis County. Swim in the pool, bounce on the trampoline or paddle the serene waters of the lake in one of our canoes. Evening bonfires are a hit, everyone loves a hot dog or marshmallows cooked on an open fire. The stars, the stars! Breakfast fit for royalty. You won't want to leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Tranquil Times B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquil Times B&B Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing