We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillsdale House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2012

Fantastic value for money at this beautiful, historic B & B. Ideally located & set in beautiful grounds. The B & B itself is a beautiful building separated into numerous sitting areas with fascinating antiques/ornaments throughout & everywhere is spotlessly clean. Bedrooms were excellent, so clean and spacious - bed in room 4 was massive & so comfortable! Breakfast was an experience (very formal) but was delicious. There is some quest noise (stair cases) due to the age of the house, but this adds to the ambiance of the place. Hosts very hospitable. Would definitely recommend this B & B.

Room Tip: Room 4 was large with super king-size bed (v comfortable)
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (555)
There are newer reviews for Hillsdale House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 244 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2012

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay here, the building was amazing and the room was excellent. Lots of sitting rooms to enjoy and everything was very clean and just so interesting. The breakfast was great and everyone was very friendly and helpful. We will certainly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Hillsdale House is probably one of the nicest places I have ever stayed in. Clean, beutifully furnished and wonderful hosts. We will be back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We had a wonderful stay at the Hillsdale House. We were traveling with 8 people and found that the public areas were a wonderful place to be together, comfortable and large enough for us to gather. The bedrooms were great when the togetherness was too much too. I can't say enough about how helpful and gracious Val and Paul were. It felt like they were a part of the family too. The location, a short walk from Fort Anne and area restaurants, was really convenient.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank Lynbyrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Enjoyed another fantastic weekend in Annapolis Royal at our favorite B&B- Hillsdale House Inn, only 2 hours from Halifax!
Hosts Val & Paul are so welcoming,you feel right at home.Rooms are gorgeous; they serve the best breakfasts complete with homemade preserves, fresh baked breads & muffins.They often have unique event packages.(Our package included bottle of NS wine,concert tickets)
We enjoyed cycling around the area & to Port Royal Habitation.Had a lovely meal @ Cafe Compose, then listened to a very entertaining concert by Dave Carroll @ Kings Theater Sat.evening.The Historic Gardens are always lovely to see too.
We stayed in room #1,in the bed where George V,Prince of Wales slept in 1884.How cool is that!

John & Cheryl Doucette

Room Tip: The rooms are all beautifully decorated with antiques and each have a character all their own. We e...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beadtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2012

The Hillsdale House is wonderful. I am happy to say that our family's home in Annapolis is too small to accommodate us so we stay at the Hillsdale House every chance we get. It's such a perfect getaway. Paul and Val are wonderful hosts. The breakfast is great too. If I ever get married I will do it here...it's the perfect getaway from life's hectic pace.

Room Tip: They are all great!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandra d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

What a great escape from the busy lives we all lead! We had the pleasure once again to spend a night playing and singing music,visiting with friends and enjoying this beautiful Inn.
A lovely experience and a great time had by all!
The hospitality and service was second to none with a wonderful breakfast and as always
We will be talking about this weekend for a long time to come!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis Royal
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
113 reviews
13.8 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.1 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale House Inn

Address: 519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range: £67 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillsdale House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our distinctive inn is located in historic Annapolis Royal minutes from one of the oldest European settlements in the New World, Port Royal. Built as an Inn in 1859 the Hillsdale House has catered to many famous persons, including George V of England in 1884. The Inn has a long standing tradition of providing gracious accommodations set in idyllic surroundings. Our 13 guest rooms are all individually decorated with antiques and all have private en-suite baths. The property offers an estate setting on 12 acres of land with mature trees, manicured lawns, and fine gardens. Hillsdale House Inn is just a short walk to a number of shops, restaurants and attractions, such as the Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens, Fort Anne National Historic Site and the O'Dell Museum. We are also just a short drive to the Habitation at Port Royal, a national historic site, and the shores of the Bay of Fundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillsdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale House Hotel Annapolis Royal
Hillsdale House Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing