We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillsdale House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

I stayed only one night in the Hillsdale House Inn, but it was lovely. The room was a smaller one, as I was travelling solo, but it featured all the amenities I needed - and the bed was exceptionally comfortable. The hosts were friendly, welcoming and generous. The house and the grounds were spectacular. Breakfast was exceptional as well - fresh, hommemade and delicious! I would strongly recommend this Inn to any travellers in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank E_McCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    42
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
294
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southwest Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at Hillsdale House in August and stayed in Room 5 on the top floor. The room was beautiful, air conditioned and had a large bathroom with a claw footed bath tub. We loved it. The inn itself is welcoming, immaculate, and lovely; breakfast was top notch with lots of choice, well cooked food and homemade muffins and jams. I would recommend staying here to anyone - it is close to the historic gardens and just a short walk to Fort Anne. For anyone with mobility issues a room on a lower floor would be recommended.

Annapolis Royal itself is also a lovely place. Don't miss the gardens or the graveyard tour.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCanadianHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Everything about Hillsdale House Inn was excellent, with one minor exception. We had a beautiful room, with a spacious, well-equipped en suite bath. The breakfast was delicious and very plentiful. The advice and assistance we got from Val and Paul was top notch. The one exception is that the air conditioner in our room was very noisy.

Despite that small glitch, I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanibelsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We have stayed at 4 Annapolis Royal inns and this is our favourite. The grounds and gardens are outstanding. The room was very comfortable and right for us and breakfast was lovely. We loved sitting out on the veranda for a cocktail. Convenient to restaurants and Historic Gardens. We will book again!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shar967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
170 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

The 3rd hotel on my walking tour of Nova Scotia was Hillsdale House Inn in Annapolis Royal. Hillsdale House Inn offers 13 guest rooms - 10 in the main 3-story house and 3 in the attached 2-story carriage house. Their very informative web site describes each room individually with both text and photos so I won't try to repeat it all here.

I was only here for 1 night, thank goodness, as my carriage house room (#14) had no air conditioning and I had a miserable night even with 2 fans in the room. Oddly, the other second floor Carriage House room (#15) which was adjacent to mine did have AC. I really wanted to like this place as the owners and staff are so nice but the no AC killed it for me.

My bedroom was carpeted, but felt cluttered with too much furniture in it (seems to be a recurring Victorian thing).

The bathroom had a linoleum floor. The standard size tub was the plastic variety with a plastic shower surround and a straight shower curtain rod. The shower curtain was too long by about 6 to 9 inches and, as a result, lays wet in the bottom of the tub. Predictably, it had red mildew all along its bottom edge. The hand towels were on a wall rack but the bath towels were on a wooden floor stand - cute but unnecessarily eats floor space.

I wish I had more time to explore Annapolis Royal than my short stay here allowed but I am glad I only had 1 night in the hot room. Most reviewers love this place but for me it was only average at best and I give it a 3.

Room Tip: If you are staying during warm weather make sure your room has AC that works as some room have no AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinWhitewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
We want to thank this guest for taking the time to provide feedback on his visit to our property last week. We are also disappointed to learn that he was not particularly please with his accommodations for the reasons stated in his review. As pointed out the room that he was staying in was not air conditioned and while the room has windows that open for fresh air and oscillating fans are provided, we have had a unusually hot and humid summer and this obviously was not adequate. This summer we have added air conditioning units to all of rooms with this one exception. Unfortunately we have had to order a special type of A/C unit for this room, as a window unit will not fit.

Our property is a 153 year old Victorian Inn and as such we have tried to balance maintaining the character of the property while also providing modern conveniences. This is actually the first time that we have received a comment about there being too much furniture in this room.

The bath and shower in the room is a contemporary surround type unit. We do appreciate the comment about the shower rod and will soon replace it with one of the curved style rods.

The shower curtain was certainly an oversight, and has been replaced.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2012

This inn is an extraordinary heritage mansion - one of the most outstanding in Annapolis. Its grounds, gardens and flowerbeds are stunning! And the town of Annapolis we found to be the most genuine and historically authentic loyalist town in Nova Scotia. Plan to spend at least 3 days imbibing the historical sights in and around Annapolis. A must for any history buffs! The Inn is a short walk from all the sights - you will be transported back into the 19th century!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guiillaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

My stay at Hillsdale House exceeded my expectations. Beautiful room, great breakfast and very friendly and helpful owners and staff. I highly recommend it and the town of Annapolis Royal. Great restaurants, pub and interesting shopping.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis Royal hotels
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
510 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Garrison House Inn
The Garrison House Inn
#7 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale House Inn

Property: Hillsdale House Inn
Address: 519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillsdale House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our distinctive inn is located in historic Annapolis Royal minutes from one of the oldest European settlements in the New World, Port Royal. Built as an Inn in 1859 the Hillsdale House has catered to many famous persons, including George V of England in 1884. The Inn has a long standing tradition of providing gracious accommodations set in idyllic surroundings. Our 13 guest rooms are all individually decorated with antiques and all have private en-suite baths. The property offers an estate setting on 12 acres of land with mature trees, manicured lawns, and fine gardens. Hillsdale House Inn is just a short walk to a number of shops, restaurants and attractions, such as the Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens, Fort Anne National Historic Site and the O'Dell Museum. We are also just a short drive to the Habitation at Port Royal, a national historic site, and the shores of the Bay of Fundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillsdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale House Hotel Annapolis Royal
Hillsdale House Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing