We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annapolis Valley Relaxation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hillsdale House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 December 2013

I've stayed in many B&B s in Nova Scotia and in the Annapolis Valley in particular , and I have to say the Hillside House is well worth a visit the next time you're travelling into one of the most beautiful areas in our province . The owners will treat you royally and go above and beyond to make you feel at home and the friendly atmosphere will draw you back again and again !

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (554)
There are newer reviews for Hillsdale House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Hillsdale House Inn, is by far the very best B and B I have ever stayed at. I do a lot of traveling for work and am often in Annapolis Royal - I wouldn't stay anywhere else. The personal attention to detail, the food, decor and cozy rooms are second to none!

The owners make it a point of making every guest feel as though they are the only ones there....truly special attention.

When not working, my husband and I like to come to Annapolis Royal and spend time...of course, staying at the beautiful Hillsdale House Inn.

Room Tip: I have stayed in 4 of the rooms...each one lovely and unique. Great sleep in all of them!
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenlm2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We stayed one night in the charming blue and white room 2 on the second floor at the front of this elegant Victorian house. Would love to go back and try some of the other rooms, many of which looked very nice. Annapolis Royal is small, and it was easy and pleasant to walk around Fort Anne (closed for the season, though) and the shopping district. Good dinner at a restaurant just down the street, and a great breakfast in a spacious dining room at the Inn. We toured Port Royal in the afternoon and were amazed by the story and the site. A suggestion: a simple coffee and hot tea bar in the central hallway would be a good addition.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

The bedrooms are beautifully decorated and the house and gardens are very nicely done. A great change from the chain hotels.
We enjoyed walking around the gardens.
Menus for the local restaurants in the common rooms are a nice touch. Annapolis Royal is quite small so it's easy to walk to a restaurant rather than needing to drive.
The breakfast is excellent -- cooked to order -- and the muffins and coffee were much appreciated.
It would be nice to have coffee available during the day -- we felt the need for one after we arrived!
Altogether a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Val and Paul are terrific hosts. The house and gardens are absolutely beautiful! Breakfast was terrific with awesome GLUTEN FREE options - Thank you! The common areas are warm and inviting, especially the back porch!!

Room Tip: I peeked into many of the rooms - all beautiful!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan210662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay again at Hillsdale House and this time we attended the Fall Harvest dinner. Everything was top notch and as usual Val and Paul we the perfect host and hostess. We always try and stay in a different room on our visits and have pretty much enjoyed the majority of them at this point.Breakfast is one of the best, if not the best, we have had at a B & B. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdmontonSunbunnies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were directed to this wonderful B & B by the mistake of our GPS and were very thankful that we were. As soon as we entered the premises we were greeting by a very friendly and accommodating Val (found out she was from Saskatchewan as well). We wanted to stay for 2 nights but she only had a room for 1. With our luck again, she moved us the second night to a bigger suite at the same price. Everything at this Inn made me want to run one! The dining room was very cozy and the servers so polite. Val and Paul made you feel at home. You could actually could go into their kitchen and grab a muffin or have a chat. Val gave us everything we needed to know about the sites and restaurants of Annapolis Royal. We attended the Graveyard Tour and would highly recommend it. We especially liked the story about the rivalry between the Hillsdale House and the one across the street (the sister’s). I would most definitely stay here again. Job well done Val and Paul :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis Royal
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
113 reviews
13.8 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.1 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
0.6 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
281 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale House Inn

Address: 519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range: £68 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillsdale House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our distinctive inn is located in historic Annapolis Royal minutes from one of the oldest European settlements in the New World, Port Royal. Built as an Inn in 1859 the Hillsdale House has catered to many famous persons, including George V of England in 1884. The Inn has a long standing tradition of providing gracious accommodations set in idyllic surroundings. Our 13 guest rooms are all individually decorated with antiques and all have private en-suite baths. The property offers an estate setting on 12 acres of land with mature trees, manicured lawns, and fine gardens. Hillsdale House Inn is just a short walk to a number of shops, restaurants and attractions, such as the Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens, Fort Anne National Historic Site and the O'Dell Museum. We are also just a short drive to the Habitation at Port Royal, a national historic site, and the shores of the Bay of Fundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillsdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale House Hotel Annapolis Royal
Hillsdale House Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing