We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hillsdale House Inn
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Annapolis Royal Inn(Annapolis Royal)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
US$100
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hedley House(Smith's Cove)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Basinview Motel(Smith's Cove)
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (561)
Filter reviews
561 results
Traveller rating
508
44
9
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
508
44
9
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsval and paulnova scotiab bhomemade muffinshistoric gardensbreakfast was deliciouswithin walking distancebeautiful propertyfort annetwo nightsclaw foot tubfeel at homemade us feelcomfortable roomstayed one nightwhale watchingfour poster bed
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 561 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was travelling with my 83 year old mother in late May, a little before the tourist season really gets going, and we had a night at the Hillsdale House Inn. Our booking was smooth online, and we found the house with no problem. The building is so beautiful - a gracious old inn from a much earlier time. Our room had twin beds, and a private bathroom, and was furnished with antiques. The hosts were very friendly, and provided a delicious breakfast, with homemade muffins, bacon and eggs, toast, and really good coffee. They also provided great advice on what to see and do while there. Annapolis Royal is a lovely place to visit in Nova Scotia, and I recommend taking the time to spend a night there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, as are the common areas.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenoceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Thanks for your wonderful comments. We very much enjoyed meeting and chatting with you and your mother. We are also happy that we were able to provide you with useful information about our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We have stayed at the Hillsdale House Inn twice and would recommend it to anyone visiting the Annapolis Royal area. The Inn is centrally located in town situated on lovely grounds. Rooms are clean and comfortable and as seen on their website, Victorian in style. The full, hot breakfast is very good and the hosts are lovely, very personable and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horizon60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your impressions of our property with others. If there is anything we can do you improve upon your experience do not hesitate to let us know.

We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Spent one night and absolutely loved the Inn. Beautiful, wonderful staff, great breakfast. Would recommend this Inn to couples looking for a romantic get away. Toured the town and visited the market. A very relaxing time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Kim, it is great to know that you enjoyed your time with us, and in our romantic little town. We hope you will have the opportunity to return soon.

Paul & Val

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I spent two nights in early May, 2014, at Hillsdale House, with seven of my rug-hooking friends. What a hospitable and delicious time we had! I can't remember when I had better sleeps, or woke to better breakfasts, all in surroundings that manage to be simultaneously elegant and warmly relaxing. Early morning walks in the Historic Gardens and in the town, gazing out the breakfast room windows at deer browsing, checking news on-line with the free WiFi, admiring the fascinating antiques and art -- add to all that the warmth and hospitality of Val and Paul, the owners -- well, it was simply perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Janet, thank you for your kind comments, and for taking the time to share with others. We always look forward to having your group with us. It appears that we have as much fun having you with us as you do being here and in Annapolis Royal.

Until next time.

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

What more can a person want, but the feeling of total relaxation in the comfort of a beautiful Inn, with the most amazing host and hostess. The rooms are delightful , clean and comfortable. The grounds with the deer grazing with their young ones are an added bonus. Vals breakfasts are mouth watering to say the least. We will be back next Sept and cannot wait to enjoy our home away from home. Laurie and Garth

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews