We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop before ferry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillsdale House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stop before ferry”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent the night at Hillsdale before getting on the Nova Star from Yarmouth. We had a great night in this beautiful inn. The amazingly relaxing setting right in Annapolis Royal was a perfect pit stop after exploring this part of Nova Scotia. The gardens out back were beautiful, the room was very well appointed and the owners were right there making sure we would want for nothing. Oh and - I'm told they're famous - for good reason - the waffles in the morning, topped with fresh local strawberries and whipped cream, were amazing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellingdanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Thanks so much for the great comments and the recommendation to plan a stay with us when connecting with the ferry. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    42
    9
    0
    0
See reviews for
75
294
33
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The house was spotless and absolutely beautiful with very nice areas for the guests to use. The host was very helpful with dinner suggestions. Paul even boiled water for us to have tea when we returned wet from our evening Graveyard Candlelight tour at the Fort in the rain. Breakfast was delicious! The staff were very helpful and friendly.

We were given a room on the third floor which meant a lot of stairs to climb. The room was very hot & stuffy and when we opened the window & left for dinner the room was overrun with mosquitoes as there was no screen on it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontheroadagain006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience with us. We are happy to see that for the most part your experience was a positive one.

We are however very sorry and surprised about the situation you described with the mosquitoes in your room, as all of the windows that are intended to be opened have screens on them. Because of the window air conditioners in these rooms screens cannot be installed in those windows where the units are installed and they are intended to remain closed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I were fortunate enough to spend four nights there this past week. The hosts and staff are like family now! The inn is large, comfortable, inviting. The breakfasts are home made and hearty - my son loved the homemade bread, and I loved the homemade blueberry jam. The beds are like home, the rooms are clean and bright. On our family trip to Nova Scotia, our stay at the Hillsdale has been a AAA+++!

Obviously we would recommend this inn to all!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is always special for us get to know guests more personally when they stay with us for several days. It is a memorable experience for us as well and we look forward to staying in touch and hopefully seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We took the ferry from Saint John to Digby. Our first night stay was in Annapolis Royal. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay . The breakfast was elegantly presented. We were walking-distance to the Historic Gardens,which is a must to see !

Room Tip: Windows could be opened. Surroundings were quiet. Our room #3 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank graceNewBrunswick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
It is great to hear that your time with us and in our town was enjoyed. Thanks for taking the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The service provided by Val & Paul was positively delightful! Being our anniversary gift to ourselves, they greeted us with a glass of wine and even made arrangements so we could chill our own bottle of bubbly to enjoy later on. The room was spacious and quiet, overlooking their side and back gardens. We were thrilled to be told that we were sleeping in the same bed that it is believed King George slept in during his visit to Annapolis Royal - what more could you want than a brush with royalty on your anniversary! Breakfast is fantastic! Be sure to ask for Val's famous homemade brown bread and jam!

Room Tip: I'd argue that they don't have any bad rooms, but for interests sake, you can ask for the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AddieMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. It was our pleasure to be a part of your anniversary celebration and we hope that you will include Hillsdale House Inn again in the years to come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

I stayed here for one night in late May having made an online booking. When I arrived it became apparent that my knees would find the stairs challenging, and the host generously offered a ground floor room as an alternative. The room decor was lovely and comfortable. I enjoyed having the freedom to walk throughout the house and the grounds and learn about it's history and it's place in Annapolis Royal. The breakfast and service the next morning was equally a pleasure.
It was a very relaxing and enjoyable stay and I would definitely stay stay here again..

Room Tip: I chose this room as it was more accessible being on the ground floor. However because it was adjace...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay with us. We are glad that we were able to accommodate you with a ground floor room, and that your overall experience both at our Inn and in the Town was enjoyed. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was travelling with my 83 year old mother in late May, a little before the tourist season really gets going, and we had a night at the Hillsdale House Inn. Our booking was smooth online, and we found the house with no problem. The building is so beautiful - a gracious old inn from a much earlier time. Our room had twin beds, and a private bathroom, and was furnished with antiques. The hosts were very friendly, and provided a delicious breakfast, with homemade muffins, bacon and eggs, toast, and really good coffee. They also provided great advice on what to see and do while there. Annapolis Royal is a lovely place to visit in Nova Scotia, and I recommend taking the time to spend a night there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, as are the common areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenoceangirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for your wonderful comments. We very much enjoyed meeting and chatting with you and your mother. We are also happy that we were able to provide you with useful information about our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis Royal hotels
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
510 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
182 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
269 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Garrison House Inn
The Garrison House Inn
#7 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale House Inn

Property: Hillsdale House Inn
Address: 519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillsdale House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our distinctive inn is located in historic Annapolis Royal minutes from one of the oldest European settlements in the New World, Port Royal. Built as an Inn in 1859 the Hillsdale House has catered to many famous persons, including George V of England in 1884. The Inn has a long standing tradition of providing gracious accommodations set in idyllic surroundings. Our 13 guest rooms are all individually decorated with antiques and all have private en-suite baths. The property offers an estate setting on 12 acres of land with mature trees, manicured lawns, and fine gardens. Hillsdale House Inn is just a short walk to a number of shops, restaurants and attractions, such as the Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens, Fort Anne National Historic Site and the O'Dell Museum. We are also just a short drive to the Habitation at Port Royal, a national historic site, and the shores of the Bay of Fundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillsdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale House Hotel Annapolis Royal
Hillsdale House Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing