We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lodgings, Great Hosts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hillsdale House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our room was large and comfortable. But we arrived the night before Hurricane Arthur, so had only experienced one night out of four with electricity and a hot shower. Nevertheless, our hosts were game for the challenge and were still able to offer us tasty breakfasts, by candlelight no less! The hosts, Paul and Val, had to work extra-hard, cooking on the barbie and washing up by hand. They were hugely apologetic for something beyond their control and arranged to have us stay at another B&B with power for our fourth night. We visited the Annapolis Royal Fort (there's so much history in this small place!) and by the time we were to leave for the other B&B, the power came back on. . . so we returned to Hillside House, walked through the front door and shouted to Paul, "We're baaaaaack!"

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rsklama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Thanks so much for your generous feedback. Without a doubt the loss of power presented a few challenges, but that is where you count on your experience to kick in to be able to adapt to the situation. Being without the usual modern conveniences gave us the opportunity to get to know guests like yourselves who braved the situation even better. We are glad you felt sufficiently taken care of, and that you plan to return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (560)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

150 - 156 of 560 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently left the beautiful town of Annapolis Royal. An absolutely quaint town and the Hillsdale is a perfect spot to stay. Almost next door to the Historic Gardens...a must! And then a short walk to Fort Anne...another must...and to shops and restaurants. The owners gave us great suggestions for eating and to the Delaps Cove trail for hiking...which is another must. The grounds around the inn are lush and inviting especially if you have a little girl who likes cats (they recently adopted Arthur) and grandparents who like to sit in gardens and read. The breakfast is made to order and is plentiful. If you are there on a Saturday in the summer visit the market! We loved our stay and felt very welcomed in this town and inn.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank campdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for the wonderful feedback. We enjoyed having your family with us, and in particular how much your daughter enjoyed playing with Arthur. We are fortunate to have great gardens and spaces for everyone to relax or play while staying with us. We hope you can return sometime in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We visited in June and thought the Hillsdale House Inn was outstanding. Very nice rooms, friendly hosts and a lovely breakfast. The garden is a nice place to relax after some sightseeing. A perfect place to stay within an easy walk for restaurants and the local pub.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Morgs1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for taking the time to share your comments. We are very fortunate that our property provides a park-like setting within our small town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

There were 5 of us visiting in June 2014 , staying for one night. We were greeted by friendly Paul and showed us to our rooms. Very clean, large and new bathrooms. Beds were small singles and there was enough room for double beds in our room so I hope they change their beds. Breakfast was delicious and service was very good. The location of the inn is also close to the Fort so great location.

There were lots of little private areas for one to sit and read.

We had a lovely time.

Room Tip: Staying in the older wing is better than the new wing. Too many little step to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zeroeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks for the review. Just as a point of clarification, although the rooms in the attached Carriage House section were more recently created, that part of the building is in fact the original Carriage House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent the night at Hillsdale before getting on the Nova Star from Yarmouth. We had a great night in this beautiful inn. The amazingly relaxing setting right in Annapolis Royal was a perfect pit stop after exploring this part of Nova Scotia. The gardens out back were beautiful, the room was very well appointed and the owners were right there making sure we would want for nothing. Oh and - I'm told they're famous - for good reason - the waffles in the morning, topped with fresh local strawberries and whipped cream, were amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travellingdanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Thanks so much for the great comments and the recommendation to plan a stay with us when connecting with the ferry. We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The house was spotless and absolutely beautiful with very nice areas for the guests to use. The host was very helpful with dinner suggestions. Paul even boiled water for us to have tea when we returned wet from our evening Graveyard Candlelight tour at the Fort in the rain. Breakfast was delicious! The staff were very helpful and friendly.

We were given a room on the third floor which meant a lot of stairs to climb. The room was very hot & stuffy and when we opened the window & left for dinner the room was overrun with mosquitoes as there was no screen on it.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ontheroadagain006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for sharing your comments about your experience with us. We are happy to see that for the most part your experience was a positive one.

We are however very sorry and surprised about the situation you described with the mosquitoes in your room, as all of the windows that are intended to be opened have screens on them. Because of the window air conditioners in these rooms screens cannot be installed in those windows where the units are installed and they are intended to remain closed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

My family and I were fortunate enough to spend four nights there this past week. The hosts and staff are like family now! The inn is large, comfortable, inviting. The breakfasts are home made and hearty - my son loved the homemade bread, and I loved the homemade blueberry jam. The beds are like home, the rooms are clean and bright. On our family trip to Nova Scotia, our stay at the Hillsdale has been a AAA+++!

Obviously we would recommend this inn to all!

Stayed: June 2014
Thank Shawn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hillsdale1859, Owner at Hillsdale House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Thank you for your wonderful comments. It is always special for us get to know guests more personally when they stay with us for several days. It is a memorable experience for us as well and we look forward to staying in touch and hopefully seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis Royal hotels
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
116 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
546 reviews
0.9 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
202 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
288 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Granville Ferry
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillsdale House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillsdale House Inn

Address: 519 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range: £61 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hillsdale House Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our distinctive inn is located in historic Annapolis Royal minutes from one of the oldest European settlements in the New World, Port Royal. Built as an Inn in 1859 the Hillsdale House has catered to many famous persons, including George V of England in 1884. The Inn has a long standing tradition of providing gracious accommodations set in idyllic surroundings. Our 13 guest rooms are all individually decorated with antiques and all have private en-suite baths. The property offers an estate setting on 12 acres of land with mature trees, manicured lawns, and fine gardens. Hillsdale House Inn is just a short walk to a number of shops, restaurants and attractions, such as the Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens, Fort Anne National Historic Site and the O'Dell Museum. We are also just a short drive to the Habitation at Port Royal, a national historic site, and the shores of the Bay of Fundy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hillsdale House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hillsdale House Hotel Annapolis Royal
Hillsdale House Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing