We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning”

Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: ESCAPE from the hectic pace of everyday life with a visit to Annapolis Royal’s beautiful Historic Gardens!In a beautiful setting overlooking a tidal river valley, the 17 acre Historic Gardens is a premiere Nova Scotia attraction showcasing gardening methods, designs and materials representing more than four hundred years of local history. Highlights include a Rose collection of more than 270 cultivars, an Acadian House representing pre-deportation 1671 time period, and much more…
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children
Leonardtown, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Even though I am partial to these gardens (My husband proposed to me under one of the covered trelises) I have to say even towards the end of fall it is still a site to see! worth the trip, plus a cute gift shop!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Maurabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    356
    115
    23
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis Royal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful gardens I had my wedding pictures done there”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Great place for weddings and prom pictures. The gardens are absolutely spectacular and reasonable price for admission

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PamCourtney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Callander, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Garden”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

Beautifully designed gardens, ponds and art installations. Nice views and a boardwalk over the water. Very relaxing.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis Royal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Unexpected diversity and creativity”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Each section of the garden represents a different century in the town's history. It is gorgeous - an unexpected little oasis in the middle of town. There was a special "Ghost Town" night this year for the Halloween season where you were "guided" by scary characters through the gardens to see witches, dead singers performing, and such. Really fun! Highly recommended, during "Ghost Town" celebrations or any time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JGON87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, Kent
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My Canadian relatives thought we'd find this garden fairly ordinary, giving the number and quality of gardens in England, but they couldn't have been more wrong. It's a delightful place, with imaginative planting and design, interesting methods of cultivation and truly impressive maintenance. Well worth a visit. I could have spent even more hours there than I did!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Footloose_Cait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens also viewed

Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
Annapolis Royal, Southwest Nova Scotia
 

Been to Annapolis Royal Historic Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing