We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Garrison House Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We stayed here with 5 adults and 4 children, and the staff were wonderful in addressing our needs. They had the rooms all prepared for us and since two of the kids were young this was great. Rooms were very clean, and the breakfast included the next morning was a choice of a hot or cold served breakfast and not a run of the mill continental breakfast. Amazing value for our money, unfortunately we were not able to try the evening dining room although we have heard it is amazing! We will definitely stay there again .

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivasankar_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (76)
There are newer reviews for The Garrison House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

We arrived in Annapolis with no planed reservations. Though most B&Bs had availability we decided to stay at Garrison based on it's location on George Street and the recommendation of some locals that we met. The place was perfect for the money!! The owner, Patrick, was very friendly and accommodating. After previewing two rooms, we decided on the top floor in a room that reminded us of our bedroom back home. We couldn't believe how quiet it was, even for a room facing the street. We would have absolutely no reservations in staying there again!! The breakfast was delicious too!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We have stayed at the Garrison House three times in four years, and it remains our first choice. Our return this year even saw some lovely improvements, and the staff, food and atmosphere were as perfect as ever. My husband was thrilled to see the new big flatscreen TV in our room! I was just happy to be back in a place as simple and elegant as I have come to know and appreciate. Thanks again! See you next year, we hope....

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olivehouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2009

The property was neglected. When we arrived at 2:30 there was a note on the door telling us owner would be back at 3:30. This did not happen at any other B & B we stayed at. Our room was large and reallly nice, but the furniture was threadbare and it was not so clean. The next day housekeeping had just made the bed and the bathroom was exactly as we left it after breakfast, bathmat on the floor, dirty glasses,..It was really a shame and affected the way we felt about the town. food was average.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zuzuPennsylvania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

OK overall, but you could get better value for your money elsewhere - I agree with one of the previous comments that the attention to detail that you expect from a B&B just isn't there. The rooms are clean but lack the extra amenities that make a stay enjoyable, eg: a hairdryer. Breakfast is not included in the room price. Since they have a restaurant downstairs I expected the breakfast to be of good quality, but it was basic and overpriced for what you got. There were only 3 items on the menu: eggs with bacon, granola with fruit and yogurt, and muffin and toast. If I were to visit the town again I would try one o f the other B&Bs.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank 24jk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2007

We stayed at the Garrison House for 2 nights in September 2007. Our room was large, comfortable and quiet, but it didn’t have the attention to detail of some of the other places we stayed at on our trip to the Maritimes. The Garrison House has a wonderful restaurant. Breakfast was not included with the room, but was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandiegobill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2006

The fact that this "inn" has no 1-800 number should be the first clue that service is not paramount. Neither do they provide in-room phones, any information in the room (such as breakfast schedule, check-out time, or even where the fire exit is). Avoid Room # 7 unless you want a bohemian experience as there are no window coverings. The shower did not work, and while they called a plumber to fix it , I had to wait until 9:30 p.m. for his visit to my room. Then in the morning, they ran out of hot water. No one mentioned in advance that there would be an additional charge for breakfast. No morning paper is available, either. For all of this, I received no price break. Guests deserve better than this.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Halifaxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis Royal hotels
0.7 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
535 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
554 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
281 reviews
0.6 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garrison House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garrison House Inn

Address: 350 St. George Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range: £86 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Garrison House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Garrison House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garrison House Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing