We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An elegant Victorian B&B on a quiet street” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bread And Roses Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bread And Roses Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Sullivan, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“An elegant Victorian B&B on a quiet street”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2013

This is an elegant Victorian B&B on a quiet street in Annapolis Royal. Our room was spacious with a comfortable feather bed, easy chairs, writing desk, plenty of light to read by, and a large en suite bathroom. It was the perfect base for our exploration of this interesting town. We could easily walk to the Historic Gardens, wonderful restaurants, the excellent German Bakery, library, Fort Anne, and a nice walk along the river. Our hosts, Jim and Gaya, helped us feel right at home and provided delicious breakfasts including bowls of fresh fruit, cereals, yogurt, juice and a hot breakfast as well each morning. We stayed two nights, and are already planning to return. We certainly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for a quiet, well furnished, architecturally interesting B&B with friendly hosts. Eleanor and Clint, Downeast Maine

Room Tip: Our room (Room 4) was excellent in every way
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebjohnson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    19
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
118
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dartmouth, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

In the past some Bed and breakfasts were quaint but not fully modernized. Bread and Roses is a Victorian beauty with all the expected charm and decor, but the rooms are fully modern. We had a two room suite with a queen size bed, which was new and comfortable. Each room had a flat screen TV with a full offering of channels. The connecting door enabled me to read at night without disturbing my partner. Breakfast was excellent, and I was served coffee and a scone before breakfast. The hosts were pleasant to talk with and well informed. Annapolis Royal in the spring is relatively warm for Nova Scotia, and the magnolias in the gardens bloom early. There are several restaurants and pubs in the town, also.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallace Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

We stayed at this B & B for one night. It is within walking distance to restaurants, shops and places of interest. Our room was exceptionally clean, very comfortable bed, quiet and had beautiful antique furniture. The hosts were very helpful as to where to eat, places of interest and giving us tips about the local area. The food was great and Jim and Gaya went out of their way to make us feel at home. All in all it was a great experience and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tønsberg
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2013

We had a great stay at a very nice place. Good location, peaceful as well. Beautiful house with 3 floors. Both great and spacious rooms. Clean. Great breakfast with good company. I would really advice people stopping here on their drive by.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Per-Edvin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Our family stayed at this beautifully mantained Victorian B & B for two nights at the end of August. The hosts, Peter & Gaya, were extremely helpful and welcoming. In fact Gaya went above and beyond the call of duty in driving out to the ferry to return some trainers I had left behind without me even asking - a very kind and thoughtful thing to do.

The Inn is beautifully furnished with Victorian antiques, is within an easy walk of the very pleasant small town and the breakfasts were delicious. Playing with lovely Bella the dog was a bonus. Full marks, highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoseInCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This inn is a beautifully furnished and well maintained historic home within walking distance of the attractions in Annapolis Royal, NS. Innkeepers Jim and Gaya made us feel very much at home. Our room was a comfortable, gorgeous one with a 4-poster canopied queen size bed, a bay window, and a private bath. Breakfast both mornings included fresh fruit and homemade scones as well as a generous hot meal. The inn was located near Fort Anne, the Historic Gardens, and the main street of the village. The suggestions for evening meals our host gave us were good ones; our only regret was not having the energy left to try the evening graveyard tour at Fort Anne which our hosts also recommended. The only downside would be for guests who cannot navigate steps; historic homes were built with steps and not elevators.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Westminster, BC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

My husband and I traveled the Maritime provinces for 3 weeks and stayed at a variety of B&B's and Inns all over. This was by far our favorite place. We stayed in room #1 which has a king bed worthy of royalty. I just wanted to stay in the bed and not go out anywhere! The house is gorgeous, the gardens are relaxing and beautiful, and Jim and Gaya are charming hosts. Gaya made warm cookies for the guests for an afternoon snack that were to die for. The common rooms are a lovely place to sit and chat with other travellers, and we enjoyed visiting in the evening with other guests. We slept better than we ever have in that dreamy bed, and then got up to a wonderful breakfast with other relaxed and happy guests. Even the dog, Bella is adorable. We had so much fun, I will remember this day and night forever. If you ever travel through this beautiful town, you MUST stay here. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wholeheartedgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis Royal
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
13.6 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
0.3 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
5.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
#6 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bread And Roses Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bread And Roses Inn

Property: Bread And Roses Inn
Address: 82 Victoria Street, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bread And Roses Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bread And Roses Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bread And Roses Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing