We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not ready for prime time”
Review of Dragonfly Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dragonfly Inn
Ranked #16 of 19 Annapolis Royal B&B and Inns
Clifton VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not ready for prime time”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in June 2012, and were just recollecting our vacation and recalled how disappointing the Dragonfly Inn was. It was slightly pre-peak season, and they certainly were not ready. The gutters were full and overflowing, and we had to walk through a mess to get in our room. The light above the bed emitted sparks when turned on, and the host promised to fix it, but did not. The parking was chaotic, with pets and children and toys everywhere. The visitors center was almost within sight, but the hosts did not know their operating hours. Our feeling was the this young couple had a priority of raising their family, and their guests were strictly secondary. Fine, but I would choose another place to stay.

Room Tip: Try the old house, if available. It might be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill20124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    10
    6
    11
    3
See reviews for
13
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I was at the dragonfly inn a week ago with my family. We absolutely LOVED the place. Our only regret was the fact that we could not stay longer... We were there 2 nights, everything was perfect! Very clean, beautiful place, owners were nice, friendly, and such great people. Not to mention the best homemade muffins I had in my life! I absolutely recommend this place... Will go back for sure!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roxxy_000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maniwaki, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Stayed there for two nights. Excellent place to stay, close to all the sites. The owners were wonderful, very polite and very professional. I can honestly say that the service is above par. The people that have left bad comments must really be picky, cause the room was clean, nice and comfortable. I also noticed that a lot of the top rated bed and breakfasts on this site are now closed. Seems this one is getting the short end of the stick, cause it is an excellent place to stay. The breakfast area is cute and Jenna's muffins are to die for. Wesley and Jenna are a young couple who are fun and outgoing. I highly recommend this place, you won't be disappointed. Do not read the bad comments. Thanks for the great accommodation at Anapolis Royal.

Room Tip: Pool is a huge hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Derek A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lantz, NS
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Be careful booking at this Inn based on their website...the pictures are outdated....look for a grey building not the picturesque one you see in the image above. We booked it based on the website, showed up, climbed the stairs which looked about to fall down and upon looked the room over and found it less than desirable. I told the owner that we would not be able to stay there because it had been misrepresented on the internet and he said ok fine.....no mention that I would still be charged even if I did not stay. I would have bit my tongue, stayed the night and never returned had I been TOLD that I would still be charged the full amount for the room. Not a good choice....spend a little more or even a little less as we did and rent a cottage.....disappointed

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

While there was nothing wrong with our stay in this budget motel, please take note fellow Trip Advisor users... the pictures on this page, the motel's web page and Booking.com are seriously outdated. They make the motel look fabulous.... it is not. It is not even the same color as in the pictures! We drove past as we were looking for a lovely brick colored inn.

I do not know where most of the rooms in those pictures are located (perhaps the Bed & Breakfast that you can't book into) but they do NOT represent the room we stayed in.
Oh, there is a hot tub on a deck, that picture is right.

If you're not too picky about mold, and ladybugs everywhere (20-30 easily) the rooms are clean.

Over all.... pay a bit more, stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank FranandWill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We stayed at the DragonFly Inn over the labour day weekend, rooms were very clean and the service was wonderful. We didn't realize there was a hot tub in the beautiful backyard so we didn't pack bathing suits - but we will next time we stay! Breakfast had some home made treats - the blueberry muffins were delicious, Would recommend this quaint motel in a heartbeat, we plan to return next year :)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CindysHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The room was clean and comfortable (keeping in mind the price you pay)
Breakfast is nothing to write home about but it's free, or rather included.

We were a little taken aback by the (probably 5 year old) in full tantrum on the front lawn as we unloaded our car but chalked it up to him being tired etc. ... but we could hear him long after the owner dragged him inside and made us feel uneasy / unwelcome.
The following morning was no better ... this time it was a smaller child screaming and running by our window dressed only in a diaper at 8:15 in the morning.... it might be just me (and we do have small children so I know this happens) but perhaps a nanny or someone to look after these children would be helpful. It might also help what seems to be a very stressed owner.

All in all... apart from the screaming children the room was fine, the food was fine and it's close to all there is to see in Annapolis.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are probably quieter....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SanW2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis Royal hotels
0.8 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
104 reviews
0.2 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
536 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
King George Inn
King George Inn
#15 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragonfly Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragonfly Inn

Property: Dragonfly Inn
Address: 124 Victoria Street | PO Box 715, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dragonfly Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Dragonfly Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dragonfly Inn Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing