We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and New, With a View Too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Old and New, With a View Too”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Bailey House was a highlight of our Nova Scotia week. It's an historic building with the innkeeper's artistic splashes throughout, including the beautiful grounds. Our room in the front was comfortable to sit and sleep in. And the breakfast was exceptional. If the road ahead wasn't beckoning, we could have easily settled in for more nights in this idyllic place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucejudyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    204
    38
    13
    11
    7
See reviews for
33
164
18
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Can't really think of any improvements to make on this place. Great location, good breakfast, helpful inn keeper, excellent room and bath . The whole package. The whole package. The whole package. The whole package. The whole package. The whole package. The whole package. The whole package.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ward and Maryle... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

stay: early Sept: comment by 2 seniors having 1 week in Nova Scotia:

The town and home are very historic
I did find the parlor gloomy and the roomspace somewhat cramped, but décor had been carefully considered

The hostess puts food in front of you so it is a real surprise and there is only 1 time for breakfast
but that was OK by us - the table looks lovely
A chance to have coffee at other times of the day would have been nice - we stayed in other B&Bs where personal requests were met but we felt too intimidated to ask....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Massachusetts, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

If you feel like being pampered in the lovely town of Annapolis Royal, this is the place to stay. Suzan, the innkeeper, has used her amazing sense of style to make this a memorable experience. She has thought of every detail to make your visit comfortable -- and the breakfast is incredible. The rooms are all gorgeous, but choose one on the front overlooking the harbor if possible (although the huge garden in the back is beautiful too). Bailey House is very romantic and more appropriate for couples than families. Consider it for a special anniversary celebration!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgie
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is what a B&B should be !
We slept in the coach house with our two teenagers. Susan was not present at the time we arrived but she prepared everything and it was excellent. We were very surprised when we opened the door of the coach house: lots of space and amazing decoration in every room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hans R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenfield, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We loved the Bailey House, and Annapolis Royal is a special historic place. Suzan is very welcoming, and she has done an amazing job of making a wonderful, historic old inn her own. The gardens and the lawn across the street on the river are beautiful. Suzan's decorating skills and hospitality are unequalled. She does a great job of leading you to the local sites and surrounding areas, depending on the amount of time you have. She suggested the Graveyard Tour at Fort Anne -- it is not to be missed if you are there on the right night! Suzan's breakfast was truly gourmet (she is an excellent cook), and she sent us off to the early ferry with a reeaally nice breakfast to go! (We were in the John Easson room one night, and the Carriage House the next night. Both very fine!)

Room Tip: If you have a family of four or a girls' group for a weekend, book the Carriage House!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CZTHOMPSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aachen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

What a treat! We stayed with two adults and two teenagers in the coach house (recently built) and enjoyed two great nights there. Suzan is the most amazing proprietor! There is a lot of detail and taste to all decorations, linen, covers, towels, ... and the breakfast! OMG - what a way to start the day. Freshly baked cake, scones, biscuits and eggs. Fruit, yoghurt, self made jam and so much more.
We also had a delicious lunch package made which she offers for only 10 CAD p.p.; along with lots of ideas and tips to make the best out of your stay.
We are for sure coming again!

Room Tip: I did not see the rooms inside the main building, but they must be just as nice. We stayed with 2 ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrik P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Annapolis Royal hotels
1.0 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
108 reviews
0.5 mi away
Queen Anne Inn
Queen Anne Inn
#3 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
520 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hillsdale House Inn
Hillsdale House Inn
#2 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
A Seafaring Maiden Bed and Breakfast
0.3 mi away
Bread And Roses Inn
Bread And Roses Inn
#4 of 19 in Annapolis Royal
187 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
Grand Oak Manor Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 7 in Granville Ferry
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailey House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailey House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Bailey House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 150 St. George Street | PO Box 368, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailey House Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in a uniquely Canadian experience ... in this c1770 Georgian heritage home. This is the only guest house in historic Annapolis Royal on the water. Enjoy 29 foot tides while lounging in the waterside gardens. Or, nestle into the back English gardens. Large, lush rooms all with newer en-suite, private washrooms, high thread count linens and feather beds. Or enquire about the new high end private Coach House with two bedrooms, lux washroom and sitting room. Breakfast is an experience at the BHBB with farm fresh eggs, local produce, fair trade coffee, fresh in-house baked goods and locally made preserves. Come, relax, enjoy, treat yourself at the Bailey House Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bailey House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailey House Bed And Breakfast Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing