We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Punished For Having too Many Children”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Upper Clements Cottages
Alberta, null, Democratic Republic of the Congo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Punished For Having too Many Children”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Was very excited to book in at these cottages, with their location being right next to Upper Clements Park. Upon arrival we booked in and took our kids over to our cottage to get settled in for our 2 day vacation.When we pre booked it was for 2 adults and 4 children. When we set sail for our trip we brought 2 more children with us knowing we couldn't leave a 4 and 7 year old behind.Knowing we were going to a cottage we didn't see the big deal. BUT a big deal it was for Margaret the owner. As we are outside with the children Margaret comes stomping over and says ''Are those all your kids" we replied yes.She quickly said ''we don't allow more than 4 kids and since you already paid I can't kick you out now''.We were speechless, the kids were already enjoying the bunnies and we had a 5 hour drive from PEI to get there.She made us feel very unwelcomed for our entire stay. We paid for our cottage 200.00 a night, she didn't give it to us!!!!!We never ask for an extra towel, blanket,pillow or anything. We left the cottage the same way we entered it.Completly clean and tidy.As we left the kids said can we come back next year but it was obvious they don't want to see us again and we don't want to ever see them again.KINDNESS goes a long way..So Margaret maybe you should find a personality for people who takes extra children..Kids are what vacation is all about especially where your located..2 extra kids didn't harm your cottages and we didn't ask for anything extra.We will give you lots of free advertisement on PEI.We will be back to the park but at the MOUNTAIN GAP.....ALREADY BOOKED IN AND THEY ARE KID FRIENDLY..4+ kids. HAVE A NICE DAY MARGARET!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Konner C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UCCottages, Owner at Upper Clements Cottages, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
As a family oriented business, we certainly pride ourselves on being 'children friendly'. Our cottages are equipped for 6 people (beds, linens, dishes, etc.) We do not take reservations for 8 people in a cottage and are happy to refer people to other establishments that can accommodate that number of people in a single unit. In the past we have made exceptions in the case of a family having 2 adults and 5 children - but this is disclosed to us at time of booking. In our email confirmations to each guest we clearly state our policy, 'Please note that this reservation is for the number of people listed above. If there is a change in the number of people (adults or children), please advise us prior to arrival. Also note that we have a maximum of 6 people per cottage.' We were not made aware of any change in the number of people for this guests's reservation and it was just noticed outside when we politely asked if all the grandchildren (6) were theirs, and pointed out our policy of maximum 6 per cottage. We also asked if they required extra linens for the extra people. We certainly did not mean to come across as rude; however, we do have a policy and have the expectation that people will respect that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    4
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wolfville, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was my 4th time staying here. Super kid friendly. Cottages are more like a home and not a single detail missing. I would live there is I could :) Who doesn't want to stay right next to an amusement park...love love love this place

Room Tip: We always chose cabin #7...nice large area for children to play )
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brentana98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

These cabins are a great way to 'home base' your visit, as the location is central to LOTS in the Annapolis area. With a quick trip to a local market, you can settle in for your stay and enjoy day trips out and about, or if you prefer, hang in and grill, visit the bunnies, have a swim, etc. The cabins are super convenient and the owners are some of the most friendly folks you'll ever meet. For a great view of the river/dykes, be sure to take a short hike down to the waterfront!

Room Tip: Free wifi reaches all the cabins so you're good to go in that respect. Have stayed in three diff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YoshisOnSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UCCottages, Owner at Upper Clements Cottages, responded to this review, 11 November 2012
So glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you folks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

On our recent family holiday we had the great luck of choosing this place to stay. What a treat. It was clean, very well stocked and the owners were amazing. It is in such a great location. We had a family of 5 found the cabins to be exceptional with lots of room for all of us. If you have children they will love all the bunnies and other animals running around. If you need some place in this area to stay you can't go wrong with Upper Clements Cottage.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RodMaldaner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UCCottages, Owner at Upper Clements Cottages, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words, Rod. We're so glad that you and your lovely family enjoyed their stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
348 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

The cottages here are one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in. The decor is above average and not your standard "hotel/motel generic" type. The grounds are perfect and we love the bunnies and pygmy goats. The owners are attentive and work hard to make this the wonderful place it is!

Room Tip: All the cottages are great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Landrys05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UCCottages, Owner at Upper Clements Cottages, responded to this review, 2 August 2012
We're so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

This place is great overall-great location, very clean cabins, property is a lot of fun. My only negative comment is with the rooms-look great but sadly the beds (and pull out) is exceptionally uncomfortable :( 5 people-very little sleep.

Overall, good place though!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FrequenttravellerCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2012

I was invited to share in the fun of my best friends Bachelorette party this past weekend at Upper Clements Cottages. I was also informed that it would be wheelchair friendly. In the beginning, I had my doubts. Whomever said "seeing is believing" was telling the truth. Upon arrival to the cottages I was given a tour of my lodgings. I was totally speechless. I saw the fact that there was pocket doors and i was sold. I then saw the "epic" bathroom with wheel in shower. It just kept getting better from there. The sink was low enough and there was a section of the counter cut away so i could wheel under and access the sink. Long story short. It was beyond my expectations and cant wait to return. The bunnies were just the icing on the cake. LOL Thanks for an amazing experience. Kelly.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KellySpinz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Upper Clements Cottages, responded to this review, 15 July 2012
Kelly, it was very nice to meet you and we're so pleased that our accessible cottage worked so well for you! Glad you enjoyed our bunnies too - you can't help but enjoy them, right? We look forward to seeing you again sometime!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Annapolis Royal
2.6 mi away
Annapolis Royal Inn
Annapolis Royal Inn
#1 of 1 in Annapolis Royal
104 reviews
10.6 mi away
Admiral Digby Inn and Cottages
4.8 mi away
Crown Cove Cottages
Crown Cove Cottages
#2 of 4 in Granville Ferry
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Mountain Top Cottages & Campground
Mountain Top Cottages & Campgrou...
#1 of 4 in Granville Ferry
32 reviews
11.0 mi away
Digby Pines Golf Resort & Spa
8.3 mi away
Still Point Lodge & Cottages
Still Point Lodge & Cottages
#3 of 9 in Annapolis Royal
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Clements Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Clements Cottages

Property: Upper Clements Cottages
Address: 3059 Highway 1, Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia B0S 1A0, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Annapolis Royal
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Annapolis Royal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Upper Clements Cottages 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale 2 bedroom fully equipped cottages overlooking the beautiful Annapolis River. Come and enjoy the various attractions of the Valley. Whether it is for a family vacation, outdoor activities or a romantic get away, our year round facilities will satisfy your needs. Join in! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Upper Clements Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Upper Clements Cottages Hotel Annapolis Royal
Upper Clements Cottages Annapolis Royal, Nova Scotia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing