We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just okay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coastal Inn Antigonish

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just okay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Room was good size with microwave and coffee pot but in need of an update. Some towels were like rags. For some reason did not feel safe here but staff was very nice. Would not stay here again. Very close to the highway

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank walker62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with other travelers.
We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay.
We apologize about the facecloths. We have 2 facecloths in each room as well as 2-3 rags. We are not sure is you mixed up the rags with our facecloths. We usually have a sign in the rooms with the rags stating that they are rags and what you can use them for. Thank you for your comment we will check our rooms and make sure that these signs are not missing.
It is with our sincere apology that you felt unsafe while staying at our motel. We are aware that having drive-up units is not as secure as a high rise key entry hotel but we do our best to ensure the safety of all our guests. We have never experienced any issues that would cause our guests to feel unsafe. We would greatly appreciate your return and we will reserve you a room closer to the office to ensure your safe feeling. The owners live onsite and are always there to help.
To help us and future guests we would appreciate you emailing us antigonish@coastalinns.com and explaining what part of your stay made you feel unsafe. That way there may be something we can improve to ensure yourself and future guests never have this feeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    72
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
48
81
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
White Rock, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

omg.... loud bathroom fan, can't turn the light on without the fan. Facecloths should be used for wiping toilets - ragged. I am a solo traveler and for the first time in 20 years, I felt unsafe in this
motel - not an Inn.
Raindrop

Room Tip: Do NOT sleep here, not worth $90 cad
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raindrop2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19680927jane, Front Office Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with other travelers.
We are sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay.
We apologize about the fan and we want you to know that it is on the schedule to change this winter so that the fan and light are on separate switches.
We also apologize about the facecloths. We have 2 facecloths in each room as well as 2-3 rags. We are not sure is you mixed up the rags with our facecloths. We usually have a sign in the rooms with the rags stating that they are rags and what you can use them for. Thank you for your comment we will check our rooms and make sure that these signs are not missing.
It is with our sincere apology that you felt unsafe while staying at our motel. We are aware that having drive-up units is not as secure as a high rise key entry hotel but we do our best to ensure the safety of all our guests. We have never experienced any issues that would cause our guests to feel unsafe. We would greatly appreciate your return and we will reserve you a room closer to the office to ensure your safe feeling. The owners live onsite and are always there to help.
To help us and future guests we would appreciate you emailing us antigonish@coastalinns.com and explaining what part of your stay made you feel unsafe. That way there may be something we can improve to ensure yourself and future guests never have this feeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

On the way to Cabot trail. Right on highway. VERY clean with all amenities we needed. Fridge, microwave. Bathroom very nice and roomy. Windows for cross vent. Large grassy area in the back to exercise our dog. And parking for our trailer. Friendly staff. Flat screen with cable. Wifi. Comfortable bed. And low cost! Oh and great restaurant right across the road. Thanks guys

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank snog89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, 28 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are pleased you liked our clean rooms and large back yard. Everyone works hard to be sure our guests have a comfortable stay with us and we do pride ourselves on providing comfortable beds and extra clean rooms and bathrooms. We hope to see you or your friends again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

If your just stopping by and need a place to sleep and don't want to pay alot.....this work . It is very dated.....but clean. Service is friendly. The breakfast is certainly not much and has to be made in very tight quarters (really can only service one person at a time) and taken back to the room.....not an ideal situation...as it is on top of the front desk and pple are trying to chk out etc..Would be better off making one of the rooms into a place you could go to make coffee and toast etc. (if you wanted to) and even have a seat...might be something they would want to look at.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 54Chevy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for writing a review for us. Based on guests comments when our motel is full, we will definitely be looking at a new set up for breakfast. We originally started breakfast for our winter workers and it progressed from there. We hope you will return when we have re configured our space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Not much to look at from the outside...but a bit of a surprise upon entering. There's a separate living area with couch, coffee table, tv, cabinet for clothing etc. plus a queen size bed. Some steps up and a large king size bed and bedroom - very roomy, comfortable and clean. Furniture is old and aged. Good bathroom, shower etc. Compared to pricing we've experienced for motels in New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island and Nova Scotia, this was on the lower side. Breakfast was crowded in the office and very limited to coffee, tea and various kinds of bread to toast. All in all, I would return. Another plus is that there is a good restaurant right across the street - Mother Webb's - with good food and great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FoodLover29926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review for us. We appreciate our guests taking the time to let us know how we are doing. We are aware that our breakfast set up is less than idea but we have tried to work with what we have based on guests requests for a light breakfast. Our current space is under advisement and we hope to upgrade in the near future. We are pleased that overall your stay was a positive one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
'the world
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We needed a good rest, before arriving to the Cape Breton. This little chain hotel was on the main highway on a stretch of road that passed through the outskirts of the town of Antigonish. The motel is in need of updating, but the beds were good and the bath facilities adequate. The little sitting area made for a nice separation from the sleeping area. The room was noisy, however, with lots of foot traffic late into the night. The continental breakfast was nothing more than cereal, toast, coffee and juice that had to be taken back to the room in order to be consumed. There are no eating facilities in the hotel. The little town of Antigonish was worth the stop. We had a terrific dinner in town in a local pub "The Townhouse."

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pictograms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to do a review for us. We are so sorry your rest was interrupted by people passing by your room. We would have liked to have had the opportunity to move you to a room that would be quieter for you. It is only in the last 2 years that we added a continental breakfast to our amenities based on our guests request. We are aware our space for breakfast is limited, but a re configuration is being taken under advisement. Thank you again for your comments. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caledonia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

The room was quite large, and the service was good, the sleep was comfortable. continental breakfast offered, but you picked it up in the office and took back to the room, decided against that, and had an effect on our opinion of the place, how much other food has been consumed in the room, not the correct place for that, better they do not offer the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
19680927jane, Manager at Coastal Inn Antigonish, responded to this review, 14 August 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Most of our guests enjoy the convenience of an early, light breakfast in the morning. We would like to reassure you that we take pride in offering our guests rooms that are extremely clean and well ventilated. Thank you again and we hope you will come visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Antigonish
5.7 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
5.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
4.2 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
3.8 mi away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.9 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
17.2 mi away
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
Red Roof Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 1 in McArras Brook
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastal Inn Antigonish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastal Inn Antigonish

Property: Coastal Inn Antigonish
Address: 4789 NS-4, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 2L4, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Antigonish
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Coastal Inn Antigonish 2.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasts 35 charming, 2 level units that can be air conditioned and include a full bathroom, cable TV, and a phone. Also in every room you can find a fridge, microwave, and coffee station for your convenience. Many different room types available to fit you needs, including options with a King Size bed. Every morning a continental "Coastal Inn Plus" breakfast is offered and for food during the later hours in the day, a fully licensed Steakhouse can be found directly across the road. Also located in the area are 2 gas stations, a convenience store and another restaurant in short walking distance. Also we are located less than a 10 minute drive from downtown Antigonish, St. Francis Xavier University, an 18-hole golf course, Live Summer Theater. You can find us located just off the main Highway 104, less than a minute away, at Exit 35. The perfect resting spot halfway between Halifax and Cape Breton's Cabot Trail. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Coastal Inn Antigonish reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastal Inn Antigonish Hotel Antigonish
Coastal Hotel Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing