We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a short over-night stay”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Antigonish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Antigonish Chateau Inns
Ranked #9 of 11 Antigonish B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 August 2014

First of all, the place is named Keppoch Inn these days. When you know this, it's much easier to locate the place along Old Highway in Antigonish, NS as the big signs say Keppoch Inn rather than Antigonish Chateau Inns. According to the owner they changed their name in December 2013 and he was aware that for some reason booking.com keeps giving the old name, which had us confused for a bit. The address is correct.

But, when we did find the right place, we were positively surprised. The place was nice: clean and seemed recently renovated. The owner was nice and welcoming. He let us choose from two different rooms by giving us keys to both and encouraging us to go have a look before we choose the room we'd like to stay in.

The inn was not located in the heart of Antigonish, which seemed very picturesque, but the location along the highway was great for us as we were just passing through on our way to Cape Breton. We could park our car for free in front of our room. The free wifi worked very good!

We have to admit, that after the confusion and nervousness about the Antigonish Chateau Inn not being there where it was supposed to be, we were really relieved to find such a cosy yet simple hotel room for us to spend the night in.

No compliments of any kind. One just need to note, that the place is called Keppoch Inn (formerly Antigonish Chateau Inns).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sillamiina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Never felt so unwelcome at a motel before. Manager was extremely rude and assumed we would trash the place. He parked his truck in front of our vehicle in the morning to make sure he could do a room check before we left. Never going back....

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Bucketchuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Tonya Lee Pelley 5 hours ago On Saturday, January 25th 2014, at 10:00pm myself and three of my friends (all African Nova Sotians) wanted to check into a hotel in Antigonish NS. We first went to the Homeward Inns of Canada located on James St. My friend went in to check to see if any rooms were available; she was in the lobby for about 15-20 mins then came back to tell us that the hotel rooms are booked up so the lady that was working there got us a room at a different hotel The Chateau Inn, ran by the same person a few meters up the road. The lady got in her truck and told us to follow her up so she could get us a key and situated. She gave us room number 109 and we paid and got all paper work done and keys handed to us. At around 11:30pm a knock came on the hotel door, we were kind of surprised because we weren't expecting anyone. One of my friends answered the door and a stranger busted through the door and yelled "OUT!!!!!" we did not know who this man was because we had not seen him before. This took us by complete surprise, we then asked him " who was he" and "why did he want us to go"? and "what did we do wrong"? He would not speak to us just kept running back to his office. As we were gathering up our belongings and trying to wrap our head around what just happen, he comes back outside on a telephone asking for 4 cop cars to come remove "these gangsters". We heard him say this and told him we did not cause any trouble and had no plans on doing so. He said "I want you people gone" we asked him was it because we were black? as to we ran out of reasons why else he would want us gone. He said "its my hotel and I don't want your kind here". We stayed around for the police to come because we thought that if we fled the scene it would look like we did something wrong. The 2 policemen came a few minuets later one spoke to the owner and the other spoke to us, we told him our side of the story and I assume the owner told the other cop his version of events. The police were totally on our side thankfully, they examined the room to find no damage at all, one cop even stated "there is not even a butt wrinkle in the sheets" and also they said there were no reports of loud or disturbance. The police said that because he does own the hotel that he does have the right to say who can come and go within it, and yes we understand that but it still hurts that the only reason we weren't allowed in the hotel was because we were African Nova Scotians, it feels like we are still living in the 1950s? And to top all that off, the hotel owner never gave us our money back, and charged us 150$ in "damages".

Stayed: January 2014
42  Thank Barrie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antigonish hotels
5.4 mi away
Coastal Inn Antigonish
Coastal Inn Antigonish
#3 of 6 in Antigonish
222 reviews
3.7 mi away
Oasis Motel and Campground
Oasis Motel and Campground
#4 of 6 in Antigonish
62 reviews
1.7 mi away
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
Antigonish Evergreen Inn
#1 of 6 in Antigonish
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Homeward Inns of Canada
Homeward Inns of Canada
#6 of 6 in Antigonish
141 reviews
1.9 mi away
Claymore Inn
Claymore Inn
#5 of 6 in Antigonish
89 reviews
1.9 mi away
Maritime Inn Antigonish
Maritime Inn Antigonish
#2 of 6 in Antigonish
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigonish Chateau Inns? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigonish Chateau Inns

Address: 112 Post Road, Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 1K5, Canada
Region: Canada > Nova Scotia > Antigonish
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Antigonish
Price Range: £61 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Antigonish Chateau Inns Nova Scotia, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing