We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well Spent 6 Hours”
Review of Cabot Trail

Cabot Trail
Book In Advance
More Info
US$2,169.00*
and up
11-Day Excursion: Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island: Music and Culture of...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: One of the most magnificent loop drives in North America treats visitors to the spectacular scenery of the Cape Breton Highlands.
Petaluma, California
Level Contributor
635 reviews
244 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Well Spent 6 Hours”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We drove the route in about 6 hours, making stops along the way at places the lady at the information pointed out. Although the weather forecast called for 90% chance of rain the day was bright and clear. The road is in tough shape in many spots so take your time. I was disappointed that much of the road is through the woods and not along the coast. The Cabot Trail is less spectacular that Highway 1 north of San Francisco, or the stretch through Big Sur. We enjoyed the fishing villages - Neil's Harbor in particular - more than the ocean vistas. Here one of the lobster fisherman let me hold an 16# lunker for a picture. Keep your eyes alert for wildlife - we saw three fox and four bald eagles, but no moose. We have been fortunate to experience many of the world's great drives, and I really had high expectations for this one. In the end, it was better than average but only slightly.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank pfefmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    903
    203
    61
    12
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great Canadian road trip”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Beautiful mountains, seascape, and wildlife. Drove the trail counter clockwise from Whycocomagh, stopping overnight in Cheticamp. Many small towns to eat, shop, or sight see. Great photo ops., many rivaling Big Sur.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dougamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cabot Shores - Cape Breton, Nova Scotia”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a great time at Cabot Shores. Paul and his staff were very accommodating to keep us, as a group of 10, all together so we could enjoy our time. The chalets were very clean, well equipped and spacious! I've only had lobster a few times in my life and decided to have it as one of my dinners here at the lodge. It was the best I ever had. They even cracked it to make it easier for us. It was a great place to unwind from our Bluenose Marathon run and was close to other attractions. The Cabot trail was minutes away!
"Thank you very much!"

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smithfield, North Carolina
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We crossed the cable ferry at St. Anne's and headed toward Ingonish. Wanted to see the Keltic Lodge. The lodge was awesome and the drive up and back was beautiful. Good road but some potholes in one stretch. We came in on a cruise and rented a car and had plenty of time to enjoy the scenic drive.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Rags12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Scenic Drive with Many Hiking Opportunities”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The Cabot Trail on Cape Breton Island is a great scenic drive with many opportunities for short, medium and longer hikes. I made the drive on a gorgeous day in mid-May, which is before the start of the main tourist season, which meant that many of the shops, restaurants, etc. were not yet open for the season. The advantage was minimal traffic and a pleasant driving experience.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cabot Trail also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 

Been to Cabot Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing