We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive opportunity”
Review of Gaelic College

Gaelic College
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Situated in the heart of Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia, Canada, the Gaelic College of Celtic Arts and Crafts was founded in 1938 as a school devoted to the study and preservation of the Gaelic language, arts and culture. Students of all ages and abilities from around the world take courses at our Cape Breton campus and online. Our world-class instructors offer programs in Scottish traditional disciplines including Gaelic language and song, music, dance & crafts.
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Impressive opportunity”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We found this little bit of immersion into Gaelic (Scottish) culture on Cape Breton Island a surprise and great memory. Though a pay as you go, we appreciate why and wish them well in keeping the traditions, language, and culture of the Scottish immigrants alive and well. Especially if one has Scottish roots, this is a great place to plunge back into the heritage. If you want an authentic Kilt, this is a place to get it. But the authenticity will not come cheap. Still, they do say a good kilt is worth 5 strokes toward a better golf game. What price glory?

You can spend a hour or two visiting and participating in demonstrations and you can come back in the evening from 10 to 2 and participate in some serious foot-stomping entertainment. You want authentic pipes and fiddles, this is the place to go - or to find out where to go on Cape Breton most any night in the summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie B, Public Relations Manager at Gaelic College, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
We're thrilled that you stopped by and left us such a nice note. Come back soon again eh?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    22
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
433 reviews
235 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
“Wonderful performances and shop”
Reviewed 21 June 2013

We went here many years and have always loved the performances and even when there wasn't one we would go to the shop and listen to folks practicing. If you enjoy Gaelic arts this is the place. Fee for performances.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank jroihl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie B, Public Relations Manager at Gaelic College, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you jroihl! Great to hear you've become a regular here over the years. See you soon again I hope!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Nova Scotia, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great place for events”
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We have been to several weddings and events here. It is quite a hike from Sydney, but a great experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie B, Public Relations Manager at Gaelic College, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks very much for your review! So glad you enjoyed your time here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
228 reviews
86 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“A great place to experience CB culture”
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stop at the College whenever we're on the Island just to soak up a bit of culture. There are always great events going on, interesting and informative, and the shop is excellent.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank MandoDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnaCMac, Public Relations Manager at Gaelic College, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
We're so glad you've been to visit us at the Gaelic College! Hope you'll be back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“For those interested in things Scottish”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Lots of information about Scottish heritage, notably the hall of the clans, lots of atmosphere and interesting " stuff".

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Betty1530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margie B, Public Relations Manager at Gaelic College, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thanks for the note! Hope you come back and get in on our great demonstrations next time! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Gaelic College also viewed

Cape Breton Island, Nova Scotia
 
Iona, Cape Breton Island
Cheticamp, Cape Breton Island
 

Been to Gaelic College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing